Jump to content


Photo

Renoise 1.2 is available now


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
26 replies to this topic

#1 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 17 December 2002 - 02:22

thanks again to all for the great support. the list below speaks for itself.

In short: the most stable and performance improved version of
Renoise that was ever made :)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> General <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Improved ASIO performance

+ Improved VST / VSTi performance

+ Improved performance of native effects

+ Improved GUI performance

+ Less memory usage

+ Unlimited number of Send Tracks (controlled by the new Send Track Device)
for grouping effects

+ Master Track (add effects that will apply on all tracks) for internal
mastering

+ All keyboard shortcuts are user definable now via an internal
editor (configs/keyboard) or manually by editing the "Keyboardmapping.xml" file

+ New Keyboard shortcuts
+copy/paste/clear/flip/randomize current Note or Effect Column (LShift+LControl F4/F5/F3/F6/F7)
+inc/dec Step add,
+panic
+set octave 0 - 8
+diskop page scroll, home end

+ (registered version only) you can render now using resolution up to
32bit float / 96000 Hz. Tracks can be dumped to a individual WAV file
(for further processing in multi track editors) or into one File for
simple mastering

+ config / themes keyboard mapping are stored as
XML files. This helps us a lot with format compatibility
(from now on these files are upwards and downwards compatible)
and you can edit them in a simple text editor if you know what
you are doing :)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Import <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Loop points of *.WAV files are imported now

+ Added Impulse Tracker Modules import (*.it)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Pattern Editor <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Number of undo steps are now unlimited and are stored on the hard disk

+ Rec Note Delay option: record note-on and note-off tick precise

+ Every note row has now a Instrument, Volume and Panning Row
command 0x03 (set volume) sets the volume for all note rows at once.
The panning row works now exactly like the volume row: when no panning
is set the default panning is used (center)

+ Better Note/Effect Column handling
new keyboard shortcuts for copy/pasting single Columns,
the Panning- and Volume column can be shown/hidden in every Track

+ Continuously block paste
LControl + LShift + V will fill (paste) the block segment till the pattern end

+ When you delete a pattern effect number with the delete key,
the value is also deleted

+ Added (again) logarithmic interpolation in the pattern editor with LControl + L

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Sequencer <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ "Clone pattern" button : creates a new unique pattern from the current one

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> MIDI <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------
+ Fixed : random MIDI note offs in some weird situations

+ Fixed: Bank Select sends now a 14bit bank switch

+ MIDI Instruments have now a Base Note property
Default Velocity is obsolete now

+ MIDI program and bank changes are optional now, you can enable or disable them
separately

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> VST Instruments/Effects <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ VST instruments have now a Base Note property. Default Velocity is obsolete
now.

+ Added a VSTi Automate Device for automating VSTi's more easily

+ VST Effect which have more than 5 controls and an own editor
will show up with hidden sliders automatically. Click on the
small (up/down) arrow to show/hide them manually

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Sample Editor <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ When holding down LShift while dragging Loop Marker (Sample or Instrument Envelopes)
the loop range will be moved instead of the single marker

+ The playing position of all channels and tracks
of a sample is in now displayed as a vertical line in the sample Editor

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Instrument Box <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Added copy and paste into the instrument box.
All properties (also VST instruments and MIDI Instruments are copied),
"delete" copies the instrument first.

+ Samples and instruments can be renamed now by clicking
with the right mouse button on the name

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Track Automation / Instrument Envelopes <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Track Envelopes have now a 3rd Play Mode (Curve) which
does hermite interpolation instead of linear interpolation (Lines Mode)

+ The number of Track Envelopes (automation) per Track/Pattern
is now unlimited (was limited to 16 before)

+ When dragging an envelope point in the Instrument or
Track Envelopes Graph the new value and position is shown in the status bar

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Visualization <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Added peaks in the spectrum analyzer

+ You can control the number of plotted samples in the Stereo and Track Scopes
now (Width)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Disk Browser <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Delete in the diskop moves the files/folders now to
the recycle bin instead of erasing them completely

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Pattern Commands <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

+ Retrigger Command 0xE0: the first digit sets now the volume
of the retriggered sample

Value Effect on volume each retrig.
0 No change
1 -1
2 -2
3 -4
4 -8
5 -16
6 *2/3
7 *1/2
8 No change
9 +1
A +2
B +4
C +8
D +16
E *3/2
F *2

---------------------------------------------------------------------
- <>>>>>>> Bug fixes <<<<<<<>
---------------------------------------------------------------------

- Bug Fix: missing envelopes after saving a song with copied automation

- Bug Fix: CC, Pitch bend and Program Changes where send to
a MIDI Instrument when it was turned off

- Bug fix: Halion's key zones are restored now properly
when loading songs

- Bug fix: Shift, Left and Right keys are now swapped by default:
Left jumps to the previous page, right to the next one,
the key Home jumps to the first instrument,
the key end jumps to the last one
but remember that you can set this manually

- Bug Fix: fixed freezing when closing Massiva VSTi's
and crash when closing Virtual Sampler VSTi

- Bug Fix: fixed missing Envelope Bug after loading
a song.

- Bug Fix: EQ10 and EQ5 didn't changed their values
when automated

- Bug Fix: Loop Points and base notes of XI's are imported correctly now

- Bug Fix: tons of other minor and major stuff

- Bug Fix: crash on startup on Sony laptops


...

And as usual, everything we forgot and tons of minor things

#2 Garf

Garf

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 17 December 2002 - 02:32

Thank you God, please forgive me not attending church for such a long time, still you bring a wonderfull present like this :D

Merry christmas team Renoise, you did a very good job.

#3 Zed

Zed

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1168 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 December 2002 - 03:02

>+ Delete in the diskop moves the files/folders now to
>the recycle bin instead of erasing them completely

that's a minus to me :)

>+ Retrigger Command 0xE0: the first digit sets now the volume
>of the retriggered sample

still waiting for 04xy, where x - cut volume

>+ When holding down LShift while dragging Loop Marker (Sample or >Instrument Envelopes)
>the loop range will be moved instead of the single marker

i'd like also to see moving the loop_point to the most nearest value to opposite_loop_point_value when holding LControl, could be usefull for finetuning as well...

#4 tnt97

tnt97

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts

Posted 17 December 2002 - 09:27

Thank you guys! Really happy about that Rgc audio Z3ta+ works now! I whish you merry christmas. :)
cpu Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
os WinXP SP3
dsp UAD-2 + 2xUAD-1 + PowerCore mk2
audio RME HDSP 9632

#5 Guest_Rondomat_*

Guest_Rondomat_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 13:57

Hi,

is there any difference between RC1 and final release?

Rondomat

#6 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 17 December 2002 - 14:13

rondomat :
yes, bugfixes and the "clone pattern" button.

#7 Saboteur

Saboteur

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 17 December 2002 - 14:14

is there any difference between RC1 and final release?


I could spot one right off the top of my head: "Clone pattern button : creates a new unique pattern from the current one".

Besides, why would you not download the final release since you're apparently registered anyway? :P


I do have a question though. What is this "Recycle bin" that was mentioned? The Windows recycle bin? I've disabled it, so I take it my files will just get sent to the null device (the way I prefer it anyway)? Or is there a Renoise Recycle bin?
- saboteur
.. saboteur@kolumbus.fi
.. http://www.saboteurweb.com/

#8 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 17 December 2002 - 14:53

its windows recycle bin.

#9 Guest_wakax_*

Guest_wakax_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 15:33

oh uh !
i started using renoise right now :)
1.2 is amazing.
best tracker on every puter so far.
im curious whats next in developement !

waka x / makunouchi bento

#10 Guest_tao._*

Guest_tao._*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 20:48

ascii :(

#11 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 17 December 2002 - 22:00

sorry tao :( you have to remind me before we release next time.

#12 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 22:21

:)

#13 Guest_Monk_*

Guest_Monk_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 23:06

I have eagerly waited for the 1.2 release, as it was PROMISED (if I remember correctly) that it would allow the user to actually USE the VST-editors instead of all keypresses being caught by Renoise and used in it's own way.

What I mean is that - well, let me give you an example.

I have bought QuadraSID some time ago, but have never been able to properly use it, because before Renoise, there wasn't a decent tracker available, and now after Renoise, I cannot edit the env-loop-points at all because no matter how I try to hold CTRL while pressing the right mouse button, QuadraSID sees it as ONLY right mouse button, and thus doesn't let me define the right loop point but instead deletes the env point.

It's really difficult making C64 sounds without using any kind of envelope. A simple LFO just won't allow everything that an envelope does. The only choice has been so far that I select an instrument that already has many envelopes and then just edit that. But it would be so much better if I could just define it with the right ctrl+mouseclick.

I am not really complaining here, just wondering if this option is actually somehow implemented - to let the VST take control of ALL keys for as long as the editor is in use?

I haven't checked Renoise 1.2 very much yet, I only had to try to do this since I thought now my dreams have finally come true .. so I can't say much anything about it yet. It seems that you people who have sacrificed your time and energy for making this release a possibility have worked really hard though. Appreciated, always.

So thank you for another release, and sorry to sound so 'bitchy', I am really not, I am grateful in my heart. I try as hard as I can not to be disappointed because of this <:-,

Sincerely,

- Monk

#14 Guest_Monk_*

Guest_Monk_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2002 - 23:16

Oh, just as an addition - I DID use the new keymapping-feature to try to simply remove right CTRL from being used so that I could use it to define the env-loop-points in QuadraSID. But QuadraSID in Renoise still doesn't seem to take the CTRL signal at all. It is as if it never sees it because Renoise captures and keeps it :)

- Monk

#15 pulsar

pulsar

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 643 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:peeking and poking

Posted 18 December 2002 - 03:43

@monk.

sorry, really forgot about that. refx quadrasid sucks pretty much without any keyboard input. triangle II ie. too.

will take care before 1.21 about this.
// pulsar, renoise slave

#16 marc

marc

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts

Posted 18 December 2002 - 18:44

nice, thanks... now to bad that i won't have time until next year to play around wit it

#17 Guest_aDamn_*

Guest_aDamn_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 December 2002 - 21:46

Very good work, but what happened to... "Preview of new skin as proposed by Celsius"?
Its better than the older versions (especially because of XML), but i thought there would be more, after I saw the preview...
Is that planed for future versions or was it just a fake?
But I love that tracker and im more than satisfied with Renoise1.2.

Good work, hope the renoise-team will be that innovative next year too, merry X-mas and a happy new year...

#18 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 18 December 2002 - 22:16

much has been prepared under the hood for skinning, but it isnt yet finished as we would like to make it as flexible as possible (freeformed is the goal). therefore we decided not to delay the release of 1.2 because of this. at least its only a skin : the features of an app are still more important if you do more than justing watching at it :)

#19 marc

marc

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 posts

Posted 18 December 2002 - 22:20

freeform... sounds nice. does that also allow themes with a higher screenresolution?

#20 Guest_Monk_*

Guest_Monk_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 December 2002 - 08:52

@monk.

sorry, really forgot about that. refx quadrasid sucks pretty much without any keyboard input. triangle II ie. too.

will take care before 1.21 about this.


Oh.. thank you!

From what I have played around, the new version is really amazing!

It still has the ENERGY that I was talking about - thank you for implementing that again 8-)

(I was a bit worried that with future releases the energy-factor wouldn't be there anymore, but it is a relief to notice it is still there)

Hm, the annoying "You have used Renoise <x> hours, so now you will have to use math to press the correct-button"-thing shouldn't be there when I install a new version of the software <:-) not at least before I have used the NEW version for <x> hours.. heheh.. but it's ok, I understand. You guys have worked so hard that it's only right that you receive some compensation for your unbelievable efforts. I have really no problem with it. I am actually considering registration.. Hmm. Yes, maybe I really should..

Now I wish I had a job so I could afford it more easily <:-)

Thanks also for taking my 'bitching' so kindly, I am moved. My post was probably a bit unfair to you people.. after all, you are making a free, great program and here I am just bitching about it .. agh, I feel like such a moron. Please forget my whining and understand that I am among the many people who are truly grateful for your work and whose life you have actually saved by creating this piece of magnificent software.

Thank you all who have contributed to this.

Sincerely,

- Monk

#21 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 30 August 2008 - 20:36

Goody... let's wake up some folks :D
*bump*
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#22 happy_milkshake_man

happy_milkshake_man

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 720 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:05

haha damn!!!!! i actaulyl miss read that tonight, i blame the beer
.

#23 keith303

keith303

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:I like big butts and I can not lie

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:57

+ Added a VSTi Automate Device for automating VSTi's more easily

i wonder how it was done before?

#24 ashy!mpala

ashy!mpala

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran
  • Interests:Sequencing vertically

Posted 31 August 2008 - 08:54

:wacko:

Ashkān Asgary, aka ashy!mpala (which is ashyimpala)
soundcloud | TiS
 


#25 sauli

sauli

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 17 November 2010 - 00:38

There was default velocity and it was removed?!

Can we have it back :)