Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Folders For The Vst Plugins Directory In Renoise.


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 November 2006 - 07:45

Hi all,

My suggestion is the ability to add folders in the renoise vst directory and drag and drop vsts in them (much like the disk browser). This will allow users with allot of of vstis to orginize them and keep the list from being enormous like it currently stands.

This would really help us, please consider this for the final 1.8 renoise.


Thanks & best regards,

Edited by Dezacrator, 26 November 2006 - 07:48.

  • Psynapsex and Ionix like this

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#2 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 November 2006 - 19:35

I was thinking that all we would really need is a right click "add folder" button in the vst listing window. Then like our disk browser we could just have the "+" icons to expand the folder.

That would REALLY help keep the directory structure somewhat manageable.

Thanks!

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#3 sonus

sonus

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 27 November 2006 - 20:44

I also suggested this a long time ago. However, with the new search feature, I find a directory structure to be unneccesary.

Have you tried it?

#4 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 November 2006 - 22:56

I have. Its not so much having a search, but confining the vstis so I can a smaller viewpoint listing. Like having song notes, I like to keep my vst listing informative and clean for a professional feel. Any orginization is a much needed feature.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#5 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 28 November 2006 - 04:58

I think this could be a nice.
You could group effects/instruments by type, developer, smell, whatever.

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#6 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 November 2006 - 21:25

Excatly! Renoise is such a intuitive software experience, anything to improve workflow is a big deal for the users.

________________

+ReFX
+Favorite VSTis

+NI
-Absynth
-Battery

________________

You get the idea . ;)

Edited by Dezacrator, 28 November 2006 - 21:29.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#7 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 30 November 2006 - 12:03

yes! this has been suggested many times before, and imo would defenitely come in handy organising all the plugs. bump

#8 engine

engine

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:killing threads.

Posted 30 November 2006 - 15:15

yup! 1up

tnx

#9 sonus

sonus

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 30 November 2006 - 18:14

I would be fine with it if these folders are logical only and specific to renoise, not actual directories in the file system.

#10 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 November 2006 - 21:18

Correct - this should not influence your "vstplugins" folder and only modify what Renoise would see. That way plugins would not have location issues and host users can modify the folders carefree.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#11 gmm04e

gmm04e

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 December 2006 - 00:26

Correct - this should not influence your "vstplugins" folder and only modify what Renoise would see. That way plugins would not have location issues and host users can modify the folders carefree.

I disagree.I don't have location issues and I think that vst plugins structure view should refer to actual file system as in energy xt.

#12 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 01 December 2006 - 00:45

If it would represent the actual folderstructure I have right now in my vst plugins folder it would be a mess! 2518 folders :-$ Sometimes just one file in one folder.

Nah, it should be like the way you can organise plugins in wavelab. Simply make a folder in which you can drag the plugins you want in there (with nothing changing the actual folder structure) -> that way you can also have the same plugin into multiple folders.. like one in "developer-name folder" & one in your favorite delay plugins blah etc.

#13 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 December 2006 - 04:20

Yes,

Again renoise should ONLY influence the file structure within Renoise itself. This could just be simple directory tree code into a xml file pointing to the actual windows directories. The windows installation directories should always remain untouched. Otherwise, other host software that uses vsti's or the vst's themselves may get corrupted due to folder names and locations changing. I know quite a few vst's that you cannot change nor mess with the original installation paths.

Adding the ability to organize the listing within renoise would really clean up the messy listings we have now. The code for "TRACK DSP" already has + and - expanding system. It seems that the code to add custom names to both the vst and vsti structure would not be to difficult.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#14 ermi

ermi

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts

Posted 01 December 2006 - 11:06

I can see that it could be useful...

But I'd also prefer to have the VST folder and subfolders displayed as they are in the actual file system.
That way it would be the same as in some other apps that work like this. For example Energy XT or Cubase.

#15 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 01 December 2006 - 12:11

virtual folders is better...
maybe if you're really nice both will get added

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#16 Beatslaughter

Beatslaughter

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:Music, Blu-ray, PC Games

Posted 01 December 2006 - 13:40

When creating the virtual folders, Renoise could simply use the current folder structure from the harddisk as starting point, if one wants to modifiy it, It shouldn't affect the folders on the harddisk. A simply sync to hd checkbox could be implemented. So both sides are happy.

#17 gmm04e

gmm04e

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 December 2006 - 15:16

Sounds good, but i think for now it could refer to actual file system and proper vst manager Taktik could program maybe after some more useful things like new arranger, more advanced control stuff (feedback on controllers, mmc, ...), VSTi multitimbrality.

#18 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 December 2006 - 21:59

You see, everyone has different setups here and different configurations. Having a modifiable directory structure allows you to "have it your way". If you like how it is on your windows file system, the beauty is you have the ability to make it so within renoise.

I've been writing since soundtracker 1.0 on a amiga 1000 back in 1984 (hell, was doing SIDS on the c64.. but thats another story =) ), moved to the pc after working for volition / THQ / Interplay / Capital Records. I've gathered so many vst's, well since they first were introduced that anything to make it easier to locate, apply, and get the work flow going is a huge deal. I've written with all the professional sequencers and they allow you to configure your interface for what works for you. Its time for renoise to have that flexibility for us users.

Since within Track / DSP we already have the code to have vst plugins within a + & - locator, it seems it would be rather easy to implement this much needed feature.

Edited by Dezacrator, 01 December 2006 - 22:01.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#19 BYTE-Smasher

BYTE-Smasher

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3843 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 18:28

I think there should be 3 different views... the one we have now... the file folder view... and the user defined group view...

... and I DEFINITELY see a need to be able to group both VST effects and VSTi Instruments... I have so many of them that I always forget what each one does, and if I could group them together, this would save me tonnes of time. Also, the ability to give effects and instruments unique labels would be nice too :) I've got alot of effects that have really unintuitive names
BYTE-Smasher is a lofi orgasm in high fidelity
BYTE-Smasher is jacks disheveled sense of groove
BYTE-Smasher is chaos turned structured, then back to chaos
This signature is now diamonds
Posted Image
I'm on a horse.

#20 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 12 December 2006 - 14:44

word to the BYTE-Smasher man, being able to rename/label a vst(i) would be a great feature I'd also use.

#21 Dr. Drips

Dr. Drips

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, the Netherlands

Posted 13 December 2006 - 01:36

word to the BYTE-Smasher man, being able to rename/label a vst(i) would be a great feature I'd also use.


that's my whole issue with the search box.
If I search for a analogue lead synth, I don't want to type a name of synths I know that can produce this sound,
I want to be able to find new ones, other options in this category.

I myself have all vst,s categorized in windows maps.
1: I want to see them
2: I want to be able to choose a category within Renoise
"It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice"

CPU:Intel Core i5 3570K, OS:Windows 7 (64 bit), mem:16 GB, video:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 DCII 2GB
CPU:Intel Atom Z3740, OS:Windows 8.1 (32 bit), mem:2 GB

Soundcard: Focusrite Scarlett 2I2

#22 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 December 2006 - 19:22

Indeed. The search box doesn't cut it I'm afraid. We need the flexibility to customize our renoise studio to maximize work flow. The ability to create custom folders for our vst directory within renoise is what us end users need.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#23 vadarfone

vadarfone

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1411 posts

Posted 15 December 2006 - 02:41

Yeah it would be nice.

I sometimes get a bit sick of using search or (my usual route) scrolling through a long long list to find the plug i am after.. I dont user that many plugins to be honest, but even with the select few I do use the list is pretty long, what with all the mono / stereo variations etc etc. I cant imagine how long some of you vst bashers list are :S

So, I think a more streamlined approach is needed
Setup: Lenovo IdeaCentre K320 3019QJ 8GB RAM, etc.

Linux Mint as main OS, Ubuntu, 7, XP, Arch all in VirtualBox.

Loving Linux.

#24 Pysj

Pysj

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway

Posted 15 December 2006 - 06:13

As said before I would like most plugins to already be sorted for me :)
Someone with too much spare time could make a online 'registration' of plugins.
Then any user can contribute to sort plugins by default by adding a category and developer label.
Anyone can add or change this information whenever needed.

This information will then be merged into the next cachedVsts.xml.
So by default most popular plugins well be sorted already for you.

Like if you register Kontakt2:
name of plugin: Kontakt2.dll
name to be shown: bla bla
plugin id: blabla
vsti or vst: blabla
company: blabla
main category: sampler
sub categories: bla bla bla

etc etc..

Of course you would also be able to rename plugins and change/add folders in renoise.
But a presorted thing like this would just add that extra touch to it and save ppl a lot of work :)
-pysj

#25 vadarfone

vadarfone

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1411 posts

Posted 15 December 2006 - 09:53

good idea
Setup: Lenovo IdeaCentre K320 3019QJ 8GB RAM, etc.

Linux Mint as main OS, Ubuntu, 7, XP, Arch all in VirtualBox.

Loving Linux.