Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Folders For The Vst Plugins Directory In Renoise.


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#26 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 December 2006 - 18:32

psyj - you are exactly right.

Currently in windows, my vst directory's have been subjected to a complete cleaning and organization by "COMPANY/NAME OF PRODUCT". For example.

reFX

reFX/PlastiZ/plastiZ.dll
reFX/Vanguard/Vanguard.dll
reFX/Nexus/Nexus.dll

How renoise should pre organize is by company. Sound forge 7.0+ has a "organize plugins" feature that setup your list by company name then vst. this would streamline things and allow people to make there own adjustments according to there needs. (ie: vsts by type, favorites etc). Completely flexible to what suites you.

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#27 Dr Skunk

Dr Skunk

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts

Posted 16 December 2006 - 17:21

+1 for this feature :D

#28 zuran

zuran

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden

Posted 26 December 2006 - 02:18

+1 here too =)

#29 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7159 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 26 December 2006 - 03:57

This kind of workflow discussion always makes me laugh up a bit of vomit from the pit of my stomach.

It's a bit ironic that the more people talk about workflow, the less they are working.

The search feature is all I need, everything else is a waste of time & ressources. Kind of trying to solve the problem of how to give yourself a blowjob when you could just get someone else to give you one. Both involve work, but one is a waste of time.

A lot of people obviously want this feature, but with the search I won't be bothered to use it. More time tracking, less time noodling with the interface for me.

:smiley:

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#30 Pysj

Pysj

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway

Posted 26 December 2006 - 04:45

Well.. that was kinda the idea... :rolleyes:
I few people do the job once, for you.. then its there, done forever.
It's not a big deal to search if you know the .dll name of every plugin you got.
But for me it would be quite useful to sometimes try out a new effect by choosing one in a presorted category folder for instance.

Oh.. and the searching would benefit greatly from this as well.
-pysj

#31 nykk deetronic

nykk deetronic

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade
  • Interests:audio, video, gfx, visual FX & animations...

Posted 26 December 2006 - 11:36

Well.. that was kinda the idea... :rolleyes:
I few people do the job once, for you.. then its there, done forever.
It's not a big deal to search if you know the .dll name of every plugin you got.
But for me it would be quite useful to sometimes try out a new effect by choosing one in a presorted category folder for instance.

Oh.. and the searching would benefit greatly from this as well.


I started few days ago creating a Word document with 2 rows of tables. In right table I put VST printscreen [I got with Alt+Printscreen] and in right table I put its textual description.

This should visually help me to chose what I want quickly if forget vst name. When I finish my "work", I`ll let you download and add your plugins. But the problem would be - how to sort these VSTs in Word? Maybe there is better solution but I can`t find better one. Any ideas?

#32 vadarfone

vadarfone

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1411 posts

Posted 26 December 2006 - 13:57

This kind of workflow discussion always makes me laugh up a bit of vomit from the pit of my stomach.

It's a bit ironic that the more people talk about workflow, the less they are working.

The search feature is all I need, everything else is a waste of time & ressources. Kind of trying to solve the problem of how to give yourself a blowjob when you could just get someone else to give you one. Both involve work, but one is a waste of time.

A lot of people obviously want this feature, but with the search I won't be bothered to use it. More time tracking, less time noodling with the interface for me.

:smiley:


Well, yeah cheers for that. It isnt ironic to ask for improvements to workflow is it.. Thats how things improve and move on.

Anyway, not everyone is the hardcore Silents/Crionics/Kefrens/RSI tracking god you are, so maybe this would be a decent addition. Nowt wrong with progress.
Setup: Lenovo IdeaCentre K320 3019QJ 8GB RAM, etc.

Linux Mint as main OS, Ubuntu, 7, XP, Arch all in VirtualBox.

Loving Linux.

#33 Scott Lee

Scott Lee

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 December 2006 - 21:01

It's a bit ironic that the more people talk about workflow, the less they are working.


Hardly. I've written music and been involved with 29 video games (THQ, Volition, Interplay, etc), written for recording artist out of Capital Records, MIG, Sony, Microsoft, CBS Studios etc. Had countless spots with TV commercial productions and have been doing this for over 25 years (yes did the demo group thing in the amiga days too). MY work flow rides on the fact that I work for a "LIVING" doing music and sound design, not looking for common options you'll find in professional sequencers. I love trackers, always have.. its well where I started (beside writing SIDS on the C64) so any improvement for renoise is beneficial to all of us.

The search feature is all I need, everything else is a waste of time & ressources. Kind of trying to solve the problem of how to give yourself a blowjob when you could just get someone else to give you one. Both involve work, but one is a waste of time.


The wonderful thing about progress in software development is that if you prefer to use the search feature, you have the option to do so. You cannot though align your needs upon everyone and expect it to work for there needs. Modifiable VST directories is a COMMON feature found in most professional sequencers.

Adding the ability to +add a folder in your VST listing is nothing on your resources. In fact, its 0 when you are writing.

A lot of people obviously want this feature, but with the search I won't be bothered to use it. More time tracking, less time noodling with the interface for me.


Think you answered you own question here. Majority wins?

Moral of the story here is "if you don't want to use it, DON'T. ;)"

Scott Lee
Audio Director / Sound Designer / Song Composer (ASCAP)

https://www.youtube....or?feature=mhee

 


#34 Belkin

Belkin

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location:Ukraine, Lviv
  • Interests:Music

Posted 26 March 2007 - 17:49

my idea is about grouping only
in dsp window add two button for grouping Simple and Advanced

In simple mode vsts will be group as now in renoise in advanced mode will be grouped as you want by default will only one node Other and all vsts in this
After this user can create other node and sub nodes and move vsts to this note for this
s i understand for this will be need change in xml tree group only
Example
Compressors
__Free
___list of
__Good
___list of
Distortions
__list of
Reverbs
__Renoise
___list of
__Free
Other
__List off

and i think group vst instrument was unnecessary becouse it was in other list

I need only group effects
Thanks
and +1

Edited by Belkin, 26 March 2007 - 17:48.

Life is too short to listen to slow music
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image

#35 BYTE-Smasher

BYTE-Smasher

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3843 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 20:50

again with the "unnecessary" .... instrument grouping might not be a feature you would use, but that doesn't mean that others might not find it useful. I definitely would find it useful to have both my effects and instruments groupable because I don't often remember which VSTs do what and to start messing around with each VST I have installed would take away from my creative flow. In fact, it often completely messes up my song when I end up adding a VST instrument that I'm not sure of, and start messing with it because my mind starts off in a different direction completely... often a direction that would be better off in another track.

The fact is, if I could group my instruments and effects, I could just look for ones in the "glitchy" category when I wanted glitch, or ones in my "industrial lead" category when I wanted to be a rivithead.

In fact, the logical progression to all this is the ability to save presets/patches from certain instruments in a separate (grouped) interface so that with one click the VST instrument will load with your meticulously programmed preset of doom. I know this would speed up my workflow a LOT considering that when I want to use a specific soundfont (for example) I have to load sfz, open the interface for it, browse to the directory where I stored the soundfont, click open, click ok, tweak settings, and close.... that's 7 steps... and it really affects how I compose when I'm constantly being interrupted by things like that.

SURE Renoise has a great interface as is, but that doesn't mean that it couldn't be better. Hell, even a list containing grouped samples linked from various places on my system would be a welcome addition. Do I want Renoise to turn into fruity loops? No, but I can definitely see where an improved sound/effect selection interface would help a LOT of people.

Edited by BYTE-Smasher, 07 April 2007 - 16:14.

BYTE-Smasher is a lofi orgasm in high fidelity
BYTE-Smasher is jacks disheveled sense of groove
BYTE-Smasher is chaos turned structured, then back to chaos
This signature is now diamonds
Posted Image
I'm on a horse.

#36 BYTE-Smasher

BYTE-Smasher

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3843 posts

Posted 07 April 2007 - 16:15

I take it noone likes my idea with the grouped preset panel? :P
BYTE-Smasher is a lofi orgasm in high fidelity
BYTE-Smasher is jacks disheveled sense of groove
BYTE-Smasher is chaos turned structured, then back to chaos
This signature is now diamonds
Posted Image
I'm on a horse.

#37 Bladetone

Bladetone

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 April 2007 - 08:37

i miss this feature too

#38 Belkin

Belkin

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location:Ukraine, Lviv
  • Interests:Music

Posted 24 April 2007 - 11:05

I don't often remember which VSTs do what

i put example only/ You can group as you want

_Native
___Pro53
___Absynth

etc :guitar:

i mean that dont move at disk becouse for this programmers must do two issues
1. Move on disk
2. Save to xml or parse your disk drive and save tree to xml
Life is too short to listen to slow music
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image

#39 ptrance

ptrance

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 550 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Rüsselsheim aka Alder isch bresch Dir Gesischt-Stadt - Germany
  • Interests:in trying to get a life. Brb.

Posted 24 April 2007 - 17:02

Moral of the story here is "if you don't want to use it, DON'T. ;)"


Word.
However -> +1 for the Folder sorted by Companies/Creator idea! This is definatly something I need to.

#40 mat-weasel

mat-weasel

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 364 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 20:13

only the possibility of creating a "favourite" effects...

>>right clic on the vst and "add to favourites"

:)

#41 frl

frl

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts

Posted 27 April 2007 - 14:41

I think that the way fruityloops does it would work well for everyone. you get to choose your favorite handful of synths and dsp's, and if you want to mess around with some fresh stuff, it's there as well - only you have to dig a little deeper in the menus.

#42 nula

nula

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:kladno, czech republic

Posted 12 November 2007 - 12:25

I love trackers, always have.. its well where I started (beside writing SIDS on the C64) so any improvement for renoise is beneficial to all of us.


so you are that Dezacrator, i wondered if you are... and yeah, i was suggesting feature like that years ago, who can find right plugin among hundreds of others in that tiny window? not me, endless scrolling for the right plugin is waste of time...

#43 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 November 2007 - 13:56

I would also appriciate such a feature with either virtual renoise folders for VSTs and VSTi or using the actual file system, as I often select my instruments and effects from say a 'Reverb' folder or 'Compressors' folder etc. That's the way I have my VSTs and VSTis layed out. I can't always remember the name of the effect and instrument that I want to use, so the search feature is not very useful to me.
I often find myself having to browse externally in windows explorer for the plugin I want to use, and then find it in Renoise. It can get annoying.

But that's just me :P !!!!!!!! xxx

#44 Psalm 97

Psalm 97

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 12 November 2007 - 15:38

Not just you my friend. So say ye one, so say we all. Some file structure in Renoise plugins would make my day, if not my year.

#45 mongo

mongo

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 12 November 2007 - 18:12

folder options would also help me a lot. I have 1000's of vsts without any system.. :blink:

I renamed some of my vst so if i type c.( c+.) in the search, all my most used compressors will show,(o.) = overdrive, (r.)= reverb. Its not all dll's that will work when renamed but most of mine will..

#46 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 12 November 2007 - 20:27

there should be a random choice button in the vst(i) selection windows ;-)

#47 looza

looza

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2093 posts

Posted 12 November 2007 - 23:48

as much as I hate the "most used entries"-way the windows startmenu is organized (until you turn it off), I would like such a way inside renoise or a way to add some plugs into some kind of favourates-list.
Now on Facebook! | loozabeats.net | roquette-science.net
We can have friends now? AWESOME!

So I am back. Thank comiq, xerxes and keith303 for that.

#48 Dr Skunk

Dr Skunk

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts

Posted 13 November 2007 - 01:48

there should be a random choice button in the vst(i) selection windows ;-)


Haha, excellent!

It would be sweet if it somehow picked vsts that are least used.

#49 Rpnz

Rpnz

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 547 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2018 - 21:57

This would be a great addition for the new Renoise Update :D
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#50 kolacell

kolacell

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 207 posts

Posted 26 February 2018 - 10:58

Is there a possibility to extract the names of the vst´s maybe from a renoise config file (or other solution)? i need a textfile with the names to make better categories and do (kvr-) research...