Timbaland Stole From Mod

“In 2000 the Finnish demoscene musician Janne Suni (also known as ‘Tempest’) won the Oldskool Music Competition at the Assembly demoparty with his four-channel Amiga .MOD entitled ‘Acid Jazzed Evening.’ A Commodore 64 musician called ‘grg’ remade the song on the C64 (using the infamous SID soundchip); it is this that was stolen. The producer’s name is Timbaland and he is one of the hottest names in American music these days. The track in question is called ‘Do it’ and it is featured on the Nelly Furtado album ‘Loose’ on the Geffen label. Getting nowhere with Geffen, the demoscene has now risen to the aid of Tempest, first by creating a stir at SomethingAwful (files downloadable from the forum), then at Digg.com, then on YouTube, with a video demonstrating the blatant ripoff. Being an online-posting musician myself — what rights do I have if this should ever happen to me, and what can be done to raise awareness about such things?”

Also look at this
Timbaland

Here is the Track from Nelly Furtados “Do It”

And here’s the original MOD from the Demoscene, Tempest Acid Jazzed Evening

Youtube movie clip showing how they relate to each other

sad :(

This is really spreading all over the web… good. Even though Timbaland is not going to get any official punishment, I think. Let’s face it, big companies, lots of money, lots of lawyers etc. But at this point it’s the unofficial side that matters. His reputation is on the line.

this is simply disgusting.

to me, timbaland was one of the more respectable producers in hip hop, at least in the old days.
all that’s down the toilet now.

it’s good seeing this amount of exposure and i hope this scumbag gets his just desserts.
VIVA LA SCENE

That’s really annoying. I think, Geffen Records / Timbaland would create a huge lawsuit, if anybody uses 1 msec of a Sample but Timbaland stole many parts of Janne’s Track. That is really disgusting.