Jump to content


Photo

[buggy VST] NI Massive VST Crashes when opening Gui


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 24 October 2007 - 06:55

As the title says whenever I open the gui for Native Instrument's Massive, renoise crashes.
I see the gui for a split second then immediately everything closes down. it plays presets before i open the gui.

It worked fine in RC1 and before but I didn't see any mentions in the RC2 changelog relating to vsti so this is a bit strange.

I'm using a dual core cpu and tried changing to 1 cpu but still no difference.
Anything else I can try?

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#2 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 24 October 2007 - 08:35

posting here your crashlog should be useful.

- go to:
Win2k/XP:
c:\documents and settings\yourusername\application data\renoise\vx.x

MacOS?:
~/Library/Logs/ (~ = your home folder)

- delete crashlog.txt file

- replicate the crash

- paste here the crashlog.txt file
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#3 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 24 October 2007 - 10:52

Works fine in RC1 and RC2 here. Have you already tried to reinstall Massive?

#4 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 24 October 2007 - 16:34

Didn't reinstall Massive, but I seemed to solve the problem by deleting the folder %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\Native Instruments\Massive which stored the single file "NIMassiveDataBase"
after that I launched Renoise again, then clicked ext editor and the GUI started up fine.

also there never was a crashlog.txt file, just log.txt as usual.

i noticed after it was 'crashing' there was still a process Renoise.exe running in the background, and I couldn't kill it with taskmgr/procexp. It just stayed and after a few minutes seemed to eventually die.

not very handy with debugging but here's how it looked in sysinternals process explorer.. probably useless.
Posted Image

Edited by patto, 24 October 2007 - 16:37.

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#5 ogge a

ogge a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 24 October 2007 - 17:05

I had this kind of trouble with Massive when I was running WinXP (this was prior to Renoise 1.9, 1.8 I think).

It happened suddenly and it's probably completely random that you happened to run into this when you upgraded Renoise (I also had the problems with the stand-alone version of Massive).

I always figured that it had to do with it not being a legitimate copy of Massive. In the end I just got rid of it. :l

#6 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 25 October 2007 - 04:47

Yeah, so it's a problem with the plug itself but then there's the other issue where the process still exists in the background.

Anything else I should try there?

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#7 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 25 October 2007 - 09:04

Yeah, so it's a problem with the plug itself but then there's the other issue where the process still exists in the background.

Anything else I should try there?


Please attach the log.txt. This way we can see if Renoise hangs or some of the drivers.

You might try to use DirectSound instead of ASIO to see if that fixes the problem. Or try using no MIDI devices...

EDIT: Wait: you only get that hanging Renoise.exe process only after the Massive crash, right? Thats your ASIO driver then which doesn't want to shut down when its not properly release. Nothing to worry about / nothing we can fix... The crash is the root of the problem.

#8 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 25 October 2007 - 11:06

Ok, I tried using directsound instead of ASIO4ALL but it still happened so that wasn't the cause.
Turns out it was the driver for my M-Audio MIDI controller...
after setting that input to none in midi preferences it no longer hanged in the background after the crash.
case closed

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X