Jump to content


Photo

Rpg - The Renoise Phrase Generator


  • Please log in to reply
224 replies to this topic

#201 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:36

I have released a fix version 0.76 (thanks Lenny), available at the usual place.

This version works with Renoise 2.8+
If you are working with older Renoise version, there is a variable to config in the INI.
  • Djeroek and MurderatØr like this


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#202 crazya02

crazya02

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Game dev, Game playing, Music dev, Music playing

Posted 16 February 2013 - 22:28

Maybe this could be made into a Tool? It would make integration easier, with cross-platform capabilities to boot.

sig.gif

Processor: AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G   3.70 GHz  RAM: 16.0 GB  OS: Windows 7 Professional


#203 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 16 February 2013 - 23:13

Maybe this could be made into a Tool? It would make integration easier, with cross-platform capabilities to boot.


There are quite a few tools around that have some or a lot of the capabilities that RPG offers...
http://www.renoise.c...encer-lauflicht
http://www.renoise.c...randomize-notes
http://www.renoise.c...ools/progressor
http://www.renoise.com/tools/renoam
http://www.renoise.c...pic-arpeggiator
  • radian and crazya02 like this
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#204 Kyle

Kyle

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 14:57

Excellent! Thanks, Icarus! :)

Edited by Kyle, 17 February 2013 - 14:58.


#205 crazya02

crazya02

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Game dev, Game playing, Music dev, Music playing

Posted 17 February 2013 - 18:55

There are quite a few tools around that have some or a lot of the capabilities that RPG offers...
http://www.renoise.c...encer-lauflicht
http://www.renoise.c...randomize-notes
http://www.renoise.c...ools/progressor
http://www.renoise.com/tools/renoam
http://www.renoise.c...pic-arpeggiator


Yay! Pretend I deleted my previous post.

sig.gif

Processor: AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G   3.70 GHz  RAM: 16.0 GB  OS: Windows 7 Professional


#206 MurderatØr

MurderatØr

    Big Masta Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Let's not MENTION ZE WAR! You MUST like Renoise, Ve hev vayz of making you comply. o/

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:19

I really like this Renoise Phrase Generator tool, l've been listening to the second sequence l ever generated with it, over and over again for over 12 hours now (ok l did sleep at some point in the middle of that). Your sleep deprivation has paid off and is much appreciated Icarus!



Here are some suggestions / questions:

* Why isn't this in the Renoise tool repository?

* Perhaps allow more octaves (user defined quantity)? Can be done without increasing display size, just add two little boxes to type in the octave range to display e.g. "[2] to [3]".

* Allow microtuning, with a few microtune scale presets too. Must be able to save any user-defined microtune scales.

* Option to overlay [customised or randomised] amplitude / FX envelopes over [the sequence to be generated / an existing sequence].

* Option for tool to alter [existing sections of a track / tracks / patterns / sections of a pattern] to a user-defined extent of deviation from the original. This would apply to [either / both] the note sequence and the amplitude / FX envelopes.



I really don't think l could ask for any more than that!

Edited by HeadphoneCue, 18 February 2013 - 06:27.

My impact on the industry (one day): https://youtu.be/pTifdoKXoxM?t=1

#207 LaChRiZ

LaChRiZ

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Too many

Posted 02 May 2014 - 11:12

RPG doesn't work with Renoise 3.0? :unsure:
After clicking »Generate« Renoise gets focus, but nothing happen.

Will there be an update? :)

#208 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 May 2014 - 11:41

RPG doesn't work with Renoise 3.0? :unsure:/>
After clicking »Generate« Renoise gets focus, but nothing happen.

Will there be an update? :)/>


Yes, there may be an update, if it turns out to be easy enough :)
I need to download Renoise 3, see its clipboard format and adjust the pasting feature.
  • LaChRiZ likes this


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#209 LaChRiZ

LaChRiZ

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Too many

Posted 10 May 2014 - 12:05

Yes, there may be an update, if it turns out to be easy enough :)

Thank you, I'm happy to hear that. I can hardly wait! B)

Edited by LaChRiZ, 10 May 2014 - 12:06.


#210 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2014 - 13:37

Ok - so bad news.

There are two things that seems to have changed in the new Renoise:

1. The clipboard XML used to have a TrackColumns node, which is now renamed to Columns
This of course is an easy fix

2. Renoise no longer accepts external keystrokes played by AutoHotkey
Even these simple AutoHotkey commands below do nothing in Renoise (was just trying all of AutoHotkeys different ways of sending keystrokes)

SendInput {Home}
Send zxcvb
SendInput zxcv
SendPlay zxcv

Not sure what changed in Renoise that cause this, or if it can be avoided.
So for now, no dice...


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#211 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:24

Ok - scratch that.

I think I have a working version (only tested with the demo of Renoise 3, as I am no longer eligible for an upgrade)

If someone can test this before I publish the full package, it would be great.

Here is the link to the EXE and INI file
https://dl.dropboxus...G 0.80 Test.zip
( Just place the EXE and INI in your current RPG folder, overriding the older ones )

And for some peace of mind, here is the VirusTotal clean bill of health:
https://www.virustot...sis/1399728165/
  • Djeroek likes this


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#212 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1070 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2014 - 17:44

Ok - scratch that.

I think I have a working version (only tested with the demo of Renoise 3, as I am no longer eligible for an upgrade)

If someone can test this before I publish the full package, it would be great.

Here is the link to the EXE and INI file
https://dl.dropboxus...G 0.80 Test.zip
( Just place the EXE and INI in your current RPG folder, overriding the older ones )

And for some peace of mind, here is the VirusTotal clean bill of health:
https://www.virustot...sis/1399728165/


When I try to launch it, I get "Cannot find skin file skins\Mahogany Metal.ini" and it won't open.

edit: nevermind I guess I have to get the original rpg too and put it in the folder

edit2: Ok, works great! Thanks.

Edited by Carbonthief, 10 May 2014 - 17:46.


#213 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2014 - 17:50

When I try to launch it, I get "Cannot find skin file skins\Mahogany Metal.ini" and it won't open.

edit: nevermind I guess I have to get the original rpg too and put it in the folder
edit2: Ok, works great! Thanks.

Yeah, the ZIP only includes the executable and configuration file, you need to put it over your original RPG folder.
Good to hear that its working. I will wait another day or two to see if anyone else tests this, so unless I hear of problems, I will place it on the site. Will post here when I do.

Thanks for testing.


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#214 LaChRiZ

LaChRiZ

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Too many

Posted 10 May 2014 - 18:46

It works, great. thanks. :)
If you need a little more help, I have some programming skills. ;)

#215 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2014 - 11:46

Released version 0.80 with support for Renoise 3. Available at the usual place

If you are using a previous version of Renoise, there is a parameter in the configuration file called "RenoiseGeneration" - modify it as needed (instructions inside).
  • radian, phuture and LaChRiZ like this


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#216 phuture

phuture

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2014 - 22:44

sweet! thanks once again. still one my fav tools. :]

#217 fuzzcreatorhasenpfeffer

fuzzcreatorhasenpfeffer

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC

Posted 13 June 2014 - 06:44

sweet! thanks once again. still one my fav tools. :]

Apologies if this seems a dumb question, but since this tool works _inside_ Renoise, is there a way to install this on a Mac (OS X)? Perhaps the code has been recompiled somewhere already by someone? (I didn't read through all 9 forum pages to see if that's the case) TIA, tl
cpu Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.26GHz mem 8 Gb DDR3 1067Mhz os Mac 10.6.8 storage Vertex4 128Gb SSD, LG N4B1 6Tb NAS(x2) audio Apogee Ensemble fw v1.9.24 drv v2.6.2fc2 interface Emagic AMT8 MIDI controllers Korg nanoKontrol2(x3), padKontrol; Novation Launchpad S; Fatar SL-161 keyboard

#218 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 June 2014 - 06:53

Apologies if this seems a dumb question, but since this tool works _inside_ Renoise, is there a way to install this on a Mac (OS X)? Perhaps the code has been recompiled somewhere already by someone? (I didn't read through all 9 forum pages to see if that's the case) TIA, tl


Actually, RPG does not work inside Renoise - it is an external tool, that happens to send "Paste" events to Renoise.
So unfortunately, no Mac version. Only Windows, sorry... :)/>


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#219 DusX

DusX

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 December 2014 - 23:43

OK, I am probably doing something wrong, so sorry in advance if its a total newb thing.

I can't get RPG to past to Renoise 3

I have both open, I select a RPG preset, ensure a track is selected (same as the data/tracks setting) and edit mode is on.

I hit generate and I can see the  Renoise cursor change for a second, but no data entered.

(seems like the issue before 3.0 support was added.)
I couldn't find any install instructions on the site, is it possible RPG doesn't work with Renoise 64 bit?
or is there something else happening here?

I can generate and manually paste the notes into a track.


Edited by DusX, 20 December 2014 - 02:29.


#220 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1070 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 December 2014 - 03:27

From my experiences with it, it's extremely finicky and buggy.  Sometimes it just completely ignores what settings/scale I set and generates something, that's, just something in a completely different key etc.



#221 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 22 December 2014 - 15:27

@Icarus

 

Is there a way to use this in Renoise 2.72? Or an old version...

 

Many thanks for this, anyways - Great werx  :ph34r:



#222 Icarus

Icarus

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 December 2014 - 15:40

@Icarus

 

Is there a way to use this in Renoise 2.72? Or an old version...

 

Many thanks for this, anyways - Great werx  :ph34r:

 

 

Yes. It should work on all Renoise versions (unless there was some major change in the way 3.x handles the clipboard since the initial 3.x release).

 

See the RPG.ini file - towards the end there is a setting called "RenoiseGeneration". 

By default, it is set to "3" for Renoise >= 3.0 - set it to "1" or "2", see which works with 2.72.

 

Just make sure RPG is closed when you change the INI file.


  • El°HYM likes this


RPG - The Renoise Phrase Generator
FlicFlac - Tiny FLAC/WAV/MP3/OGG/APE Converter
sector-seven.net


#223 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 22 December 2014 - 19:28

Yes. It should work on all Renoise versions (unless there was some major change in the way 3.x handles the clipboard since the initial 3.x release).

 

See the RPG.ini file - towards the end there is a setting called "RenoiseGeneration". 

By default, it is set to "3" for Renoise >= 3.0 - set it to "1" or "2", see which works with 2.72.

 

Just make sure RPG is closed when you change the INI file.

 

Ok, got it; werx with Gen set to "1"  :walkman:



#224 hazeltine

hazeltine

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 December 2014 - 01:05

I have this working on OS X Yosemite under Wine. The patterns don't get auto-pasted into Renoise, but they do get copied. I then just have to go to the track I want and hit paste. Its not as instant but does work! 



#225 Nova deViator

Nova deViator

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2015 - 05:43

sounds like amazing work!

Too bad it is not cross-platform.

Why is this not a tool?