Jump to content


Compo Website


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 October 2009 - 20:49

http://www.renoise.c...tions/indamixx/

Notes

Due to limitations in this ancient forum version's SDK

- editing a song title will not change the forum topic's title automatically. Anyway, there are admins here who can correct that stuff.
- likewise, deleting a song will not delete the forum topic automatically

Known issues:

- the SoundCloud Flash MP3 player doesn't work in Chrome browser
- the special context menu doesn't open in Opera browser (Opera prevents overriding the normal context menu by design)

#2 00.1

00.1

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1346 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 October 2009 - 21:16

So it moved from the 15th to 25th of October..

Windows 10
Toshiba Satellite L875D
AMD A8-4500M APU with Radon™ HD Graphics 1.90 Ghz
6.00 GB RAM
64bit Operating System, x64-based processor


#3 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 12 October 2009 - 21:17

So it moved from the 15th to 25th of October..


Yes. It will be announced on CDM in upcoming days.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »


#4 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 October 2009 - 22:57

I just fixed a bug which made it impossible to vote.

You can already vote for the songs so far. Basically it's saying, "I like this track better than the other one". You can simply resubmit your vote if you change your mind or when new songs are added.

Voting also helps you to separate the songs you have already listened to from the rest.

#5 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 15 October 2009 - 10:06

using Firefox 3.5.3, each time I drop a song in the box below, the song page gets opened, and if I click on "back to the songs list", the vote has not been saved, so I cannot vote with this browser. It does work with Explorer
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#6 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 October 2009 - 10:22

using Firefox 3.5.3, each time I drop a song in the box below, the song page gets opened, and if I click on "back to the songs list", the vote has not been saved, so I cannot vote with this browser. It does work with Explorer


Curious, as it's the same browser I'm debugging and voting with.

Can you try dragging the area that doesn't contain the link? Because the click event on the link element opens the thread. The drag event is bound to the list element which is a parent to the link element.

I can probably tweak the script so it remembers your votes during the session even if you didn't save.

#7 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 15 October 2009 - 11:31

Can you try dragging the area that doesn't contain the link? Because the click event on the link element opens the thread


it must be that, then. I cannot try because I have already voted using Explorer, so I cannot drag any song anymore, sorry. But you can create a dummy forum user and try for yourself :P
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#8 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 October 2009 - 11:39

Fortunately you can reorder the songs in the vote box even after voting. :)

I'm still curious why said behavior happens for you. In Firefox I can click and drag the title without going to the comments.

#9 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 15 October 2009 - 11:42

yes, I have tried it, but doing so does not produce that bug.

actually, I have just noticed that I am forced to revote each time, because it does not seem to save my vote: each time I go to the compo site, the order of the songs in the vote box is the same and it does not match with my vote (I think it is supposed to match) :) this is also true for Explorer
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#10 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 October 2009 - 12:32

actually, I have just noticed that I am forced to revote each time, because it does not seem to save my vote: each time I go to the compo site, the order of the songs in the vote box is the same and it does not match with my vote (I think it is supposed to match) :) this is also true for Explorer


Yes, I've found that bug. It's a very stupid one too, but there's no safe and easy fix. The vote order is correctly saved to the db and retrieved from the db, but not correctly displayed on the page.

#11 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 15 October 2009 - 12:34

you could at least show how the user has voted last time in a simple table list. I love plain HTML by the way :)
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#12 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 15 October 2009 - 12:49

Yes, I've found that bug. It's a very stupid one too, but there's no safe and easy fix. The vote order is correctly saved to the db and retrieved from the db, but not correctly displayed on the page.



Is this a cache matter that can be fixed by a no-cache option or an internal sorting bug during the page generation process?
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#13 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 October 2009 - 13:13

Should be fixed now with a dirty patch.

The problem is that I didn't apply a consistent way of identifying songs: sometimes by song_id, other times by topic_id. Dunno how I let that happen in the first place, but I will clean it up eventually.

#14 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 00:55

Added the update code. I couldn't add an Update option in the context menu, because Flash 10 does not allow opening the browser dialog except manually. You have to use the Upload A Song button instead, you will be asked if you want to replace one of your songs.

I should probably add some sort of 'song updated!' tag, so people know they can re-download a new version.

Hope I didn't break anything by adding this ;) By the way, I haven't seen any new entries lately...

#15 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 16 October 2009 - 03:14

*week vacation here, no more excuse to not join in the party* :)

#16 CLombardo

CLombardo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Location:Fort Lauderdale Florida
  • Interests:Sound: Music, Foley, Sound Design, Psycho Acoustics, composition.<br /><br />Visuals: Digital Art, 3D Animation, Graphic Design, Visual Sound, Cymatics

Posted 16 October 2009 - 04:52

hey guys, this looks like the place I need to ask whatsup.
Im attempting to upload my compressed XRNS file to the compo site, and everytime I upload it says "Could Not register song into Database" "Upload Failed".
I really have no clue, also, im not sure what needs to be done with the creative commons license.
Any suggestions?

I really dig the competition and theres alot of great work on there thus far, Id love to contribute.
Any help would be great, thank you.
When in doubt make no sense, No sense is nonsense, and Nonsense is good.
-Genesis P. Orridge

#17 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 08:36

"Could Not register song into Database" "Upload Failed".


As I said, I hoped I didn't break anything. But I did. Should be fixed now, please reload the page and try again.

I really have no clue, also, im not sure what needs to be done with the creative commons license.


Put this link in your song, eg. in your song comments or instrument list.

http://creativecommo...nses/by-sa/3.0/

#18 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 16 October 2009 - 12:23

Is one allowed to upload a slightly 'mastered' .mp3 version of the .xrns or does it have to be an exact replica (straight render conversion)?

I'm thinking about some multiband compression & psycho acoustic stuff like stereo expanding & bass enhancement.

#19 Void Pointer

Void Pointer

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 618 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 October 2009 - 12:25

Is one allowed to upload a slightly 'mastered' .mp3 version of the .xrns or does it have to be an exact replica (straight render conversion)?

I'm thinking about some multiband compression & psycho acoustic stuff like stereo expanding & bass enhancement.


I think that's okay, as long as you mention in in the song description of the MP3. I believe the judgement will be placed on the xrns, not the MP3. The MP3 is simply there for convience :)

#20 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 12:28

The MP3 is simply there for convience :)


QFT.

But ofcourse we'll notice when you post a Michael Jackson MP3 instead of your own song.

#21 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 16 October 2009 - 12:38

Ok, thats clear :)

Another question that I could find out myself with trial and error :) , but can someone give an estimate on how large you can let a song grow in mb's (using .flac) before compressing it down with the ripper program to make it fit underneath the compo limit? I want to keep it around 5 mb.

256 kbps .ogg compression should be good enough quality without noticeable artefact's, right?

#22 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 October 2009 - 13:19

Ok, thats clear :)

Another question that I could find out myself with trial and error :) , but can someone give an estimate on how large you can let a song grow in mb's (using .flac) before compressing it down with the ripper program to make it fit underneath the compo limit? I want to keep it around 5 mb.

256 kbps .ogg compression should be good enough quality without noticeable artefact's, right?


Well, I think that's more than enough. Too much even. Vorbis sounds better than MP3 with the same size.

It depends on the music, but at one point I compressed Hunz's album with 64 kbps and there was little difference with the higher settings. I think we settled for 112 kbps just to be sure. The XRNS album compressed with XRNIRipper is only 27 MB. The MP3 release is 40 MB.

All in all I think a 1:10 ratio should be possible, effectively giving you 80 MB of FLACs worth. You'd best run your work in progress through XRNIRipper to check.

#23 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 16 October 2009 - 17:55

Thnx for the info Bantai!

#24 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 October 2009 - 16:20

Tweaked the draggable areas. You can't drag the songs by links anymore, you have to grab an empty area. This to prevent confusion.

link : song thread
empty area : drag song
+/- : expand / collapse

Posted Image

SoundCloud widget should now work in Chrome and Safari.

#25 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 17 October 2009 - 20:46

So cool!

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »