Jump to content


Photo

Using Deprecated Renoise Dsp Devices


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 sauli

sauli

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 14 February 2010 - 22:13

UPDATE: there is now an easier method to load deprecated devices: just go to the disk browser, select "DSP Chain", go to Renoise library folder, then "Deprecated" subfolder and double-click on the desired device


Decided to do some research and try to find out all the deprecated devices that still work in Renoise, but cannot be activated from the DSP-list.

List of the ones I know of.

mpReverb
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="Reverb2Device">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Gate
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="GateDevice">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Filter1
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="Filter1Device">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Filter2
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="Filter2Device">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Distortion1
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="DistortionDevice">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

LofiMat1
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="LofiDevice">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Shaper
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="ShaperDevice">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

Stutter
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="StutterDevice">
    <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>


For some reason Shaper is missing two buttons it has at least in Renoise 1.27.
If people know other deprecated devices I'd love to try them :)

Edited by It-Alien, 18 March 2011 - 12:28.
updated info

  • Suva, kazakore, Moss and 2 others like this

#2 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 February 2010 - 22:22

Stutter ;)
  • keiss likes this

#3 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 February 2010 - 22:26

:dribble:

#4 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 February 2010 - 22:27

Nice one for editing with the C&P XML data! :D

I know there was an old thread that had them all in but fudge knows where it went and Stutter needs to be in there anyway.

#5 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 February 2010 - 22:40

This should be stickied in tips and tricks!

I know there was an old thread that had them all in but fudge knows where it went and Stutter needs to be in there anyway.


http://www.renoise.c...opic=17799&st=0
But it's missing a few, yeah :D

#6 Tarek-FM

Tarek-FM

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid

Posted 23 February 2010 - 02:07

Nice one! Where would I paste the files you posted if I wanted to try these out?

Edited by Tarek-FM, 23 February 2010 - 02:07.

Cutting Edge Drum and Bass.....check out my new 175bpm beast: Angelitronhttp://soundcloud.com/tarek-fm/angelitron


(Not so)NEW!! Driving, heavy and cinematic metal: Soundcloud Metal Page

#7 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 February 2010 - 02:13

Nice one! Where would I paste the files you posted if I wanted to try these out?


Right click and paste anywhere in the DSP chain area :D

Edited by Jenoki, 23 February 2010 - 02:13.


#8 JBL

JBL

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 23 February 2010 - 02:28

Does that mean I can open the song file inside the .xrns, paste this code somewhere and have these effects in the song the next time I open the .xnrs?

Nice.

#9 Tarek-FM

Tarek-FM

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid

Posted 23 February 2010 - 11:35

Right click and paste anywhere in the DSP chain area :D

Ha!! That simple!! Cheers man! :walkman:

Edit: Just tried it...it IS that simple....cooooooollllll :dribble:

Edited by Tarek-FM, 23 February 2010 - 11:37.

Cutting Edge Drum and Bass.....check out my new 175bpm beast: Angelitronhttp://soundcloud.com/tarek-fm/angelitron


(Not so)NEW!! Driving, heavy and cinematic metal: Soundcloud Metal Page

#10 Steelbender

Steelbender

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 March 2010 - 01:48

B)

i was wondering allready why they call the filter 'filter3'

#11 yourlocalloser

yourlocalloser

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 01:01

This is awesome. Stutter is great! Thanks.

I wonder if there are any others?

Woots McScoots.


#12 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 April 2010 - 01:07

This is awesome. Stutter is great! Thanks.

I wonder if there are any others?

Nope! Unless easter eggs :o

#13 Dalvidos

Dalvidos

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 24 January 2011 - 23:23

No way this is awesome lmao! I've always wondered why Filter is called filter 3 lol. Although there really isn't much difference between them lol, just interface changes

and yes! Stutter is brilliant lol!

Edited by Dalvidos, 24 January 2011 - 23:25.


#14 Dalvidos

Dalvidos

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 26 January 2011 - 08:44

Hit a little bit of a block lol. I love the sound Stutter produces. its in fact exactly what I was looking for. but it causes a slight delay (assuming wet is full and dry is nil)... is there a way to... I don't know reverse the delay so that notes are hit earlier/ or do I have to move all my notes up lmao?

I know I can resample... but I'd have to resample for each key to get the beat sync right... that's not something i want to do honestly...

#15 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:04

If you have 100% wet of course there is going to be a slight delay, the delay set before the first stutter. Why don't you want any of the original sound? Have you tried playing with Track Delays and seeing if that can give you enough to provide the sound you want?

#16 aum.eris@gmail.com

aum.eris@gmail.com

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangkok
  • Interests:Hip Hop, Dub, Rare Grooves, Library Music

Posted 14 September 2011 - 06:15

Formula
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="FormulaMetaDevice">
  <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

/edit: it's not depricated though... just hidden (´・ω・`)

Edited by taktik, 14 September 2011 - 10:04.


#17 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 September 2011 - 09:43

Formula

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<FilterDeviceClipboard doc_version="0">
  <DeviceSlot type="FormulaMetaDevice">
  <IsActive>true</IsActive>
  </DeviceSlot>
</FilterDeviceClipboard>

/edit: it's not depricated though... just hidden (´・ω・`)


"Failed to create new device from clipboard"

#18 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:05

"Failed to create new device from clipboard"


Try again. I've update the snippet above.

#19 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 September 2011 - 10:14

Try again. I've update the snippet above.


Works :)

#20 Nick Cent

Nick Cent

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Athens, GR

Posted 08 November 2013 - 01:35

What does this do?

#21 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 08 November 2013 - 22:27

What does this do?


Crashing Renoise if you are not careful :ph34r:/>
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#22 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 15 November 2014 - 19:01

Hm, what are "PdcTestDevice", "AllPassDevice" and expecially "FaustDevice" for? Ah, ok, I just don't want to know. I saw these names written on the wall next to a bus station yesterday.



#23 sauli

sauli

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 02 February 2015 - 09:06

Nice find. PdcTestDevice didn't work though. AllPassDevice was allpass filter and could actually be useful for people doing insane effect chains.



#24 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 03 February 2015 - 20:40

Try the allpass filter right in front of a distortion/waveshaper device, fiddle with the frequency and watch the scope at some pitch where you see the input wave "standing" - and listen. For traditional "analog" waveforms it can bring...well, try out yourself. Or put on a send track, feed it the left signal and let the right be unprocessed, and fiddle some more. Mixing with dry signal will give some phaser like hollow effect, but there's a non-hidden device already that can do better. This isn't so very insane, actually, just sad we won't know how exactly it'll shift phase.

 

But you could theoretically just use the "phaser" device with certain settings.



#25 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 03 February 2015 - 21:50

Cool, didn't know we had an AllPass filter.. although correct me if I'm wrong but they only have much use when making Phasers and Reverbs right? Still not sure why it was deprecated though