Jump to content


Photo

C64 Vst For Mac?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 11 May 2010 - 14:29

Is there a C64 VST for Mac? I've been trying to find one, but only to find Windows-vsts. <_<

I know it's easy to make your own samples that has that chip-sound, but I've recently started to use VST's and would like one like this.

#2 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 11 May 2010 - 15:37

In the past I have used reFX quadraSID, which is quite friendly and very easy to use, although maybe not the most accurate sound according to some people:
http://refx.com/?lan...adraSID/summary

These days I prefer to use Plogue ChipSounds, which is superb and has 9 incredibly accurate sound chip engines, including SID (6580 and 8580):
http://www.plogue.com/?page_id=43


Both of these products are available for Windows and Mac.

Edited by dblue, 11 May 2010 - 15:39.


#3 s-n-s

s-n-s

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2010 - 17:05

i really love plogue chipsounds

right now i think its the best emu out there

Subbase - Danish Dark DnB


#4 Moss

Moss

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:LONDON

Posted 11 May 2010 - 22:23

Posted Image
Pretty sure you weren't looking for this...but this is a wicked lickle standalone thing for writing loop based chiptunes. And it's got C64 in the title.
Can't get the link to download right now...:(

#5 s-n-s

s-n-s

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 May 2010 - 09:49

Posted Image
Pretty sure you weren't looking for this...but this is a wicked lickle standalone thing for writing loop based chiptunes. And it's got C64 in the title.
Can't get the link to download right now...:(



i downloadet it from here

http://www.google.dk...=Google-søgning

Subbase - Danish Dark DnB


#6 Moss

Moss

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:LONDON

Posted 12 May 2010 - 10:35

i downloaded it from here

http://www.google.dk...=Google-søgning

Yeh mannn, it's good fun. I've written a couple of albums worth of tracks on that thing. If you feel renoise is making your brain melt, jump on this thing and get back to working within constraints.
swot it's all about

#7 Superlux

Superlux

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 10:57

In the past I have used reFX quadraSID, which is quite friendly and very easy to use, although maybe not the most accurate sound according to some people:
http://refx.com/?lan...adraSID/summary

These days I prefer to use Plogue ChipSounds, which is superb and has 9 incredibly accurate sound chip engines, including SID (6580 and 8580):
http://www.plogue.com/?page_id=43


Both of these products are available for Windows and Mac.


I've been having trouble with the timing of QuadraSID in Logic. According to the support team, this is just the way the plug-in behaves..
How is the timing of the Plouge one? (short quantized notes with fast attack)

#8 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 12 May 2010 - 11:49

I've been having trouble with the timing of QuadraSID in Logic. According to the support team, this is just the way the plug-in behaves..
How is the timing of the Plouge one? (short quantized notes with fast attack)

Perhaps you could upload an mp3 example that demonstrates the problem with QuadraSID? By 'timing' do you mean that certain notes are triggering out of sync or drifting around slightly, or are you referring to the envelopes not triggering correctly so that some notes sound wrong? I don't use Logic myself, but I've never really had a serious issue like that when using QuadraSID in Renoise. If you make sure to insert note-off's at the proper points and prevent notes from overlapping, then I think it should be fine. ChipSounds seems fine as well, and I actually prefer to use this one now because it offers more possibilities (though it can be tricky to work with at times). Upload an example sound anyway, just to make sure we're on the same page.

#9 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:12

Thanks for all the tips, ya'll!

However, I can't get either QuadraSID nor the Plogue to work. :( They just won't show up in Renoise. Will give it another try later on and see if I did something wrong...

#10 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 16 May 2010 - 12:09

They just won't show up in Renoise.

Have you successfully managed to get any other plugins working in Renoise? If so, have you used any instruments/synths yet, or have you only used effect plugins? Keep in mind that plugin effects are listed in the Track DSPs section, while plugin instruments/synths are listed in the Instrument Settings section.

Have a read through the manual and see if there's anything you've missed there.

Preferences > Plugins/Misc:
http://tutorials.ren...#Plugins.2FMisc

Instrument Settings > Plugin Instrument (VST/AU) Properties:
http://tutorials.ren...rument_Settings

#11 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 16 May 2010 - 18:02

delete this post someone, I was gonna reply but ive just realised i dont know what im talking about, but i dont know how to delete my own posts. What am i like? Shouldnt have had that smoke:-)

Edited by slippycurb, 16 May 2010 - 18:07.

"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#12 s-n-s

s-n-s

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 May 2010 - 18:17

delete this post someone, I was gonna reply but ive just realised i dont know what im talking about, but i dont know how to delete my own posts. What am i like? Shouldnt have had that smoke:-)



stop doing drugs please mmmkay :rolleyes:

plogue chipsounds is the uber c64 vst thats out there,and the only vst you would ever need for this

Subbase - Danish Dark DnB


#13 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 20 May 2010 - 20:49

Have you successfully managed to get any other plugins working in Renoise? If so, have you used any instruments/synths yet, or have you only used effect plugins? Keep in mind that plugin effects are listed in the Track DSPs section, while plugin instruments/synths are listed in the Instrument Settings section.

Have a read through the manual and see if there's anything you've missed there.

Preferences > Plugins/Misc:
http://tutorials.ren...#Plugins.2FMisc

Instrument Settings > Plugin Instrument (VST/AU) Properties:
http://tutorials.ren...rument_Settings


Aaaaaaahh!!! Now that explains a thousand things!! I guess I should read the manual a bit more extensively.

Thanks! :D

#14 nxpnsv

nxpnsv

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Location:Stockholm
  • Interests:Renoise ;D

Posted 03 June 2010 - 17:56

Posted Image
Pretty sure you weren't looking for this...but this is a wicked lickle standalone thing for writing loop based chiptunes. And it's got C64 in the title.
Can't get the link to download right now...:(


http://www.hitsquad....Cbasicore64Mac/

edit: Tried it now. It is a grovebox app with drums, 2 synths and a bass. It does not feel very chip but is a fun distraction for a while.

Edited by nxpnsv, 03 June 2010 - 20:34.