Jump to content


Photo

New Tool: Auto Maximize Selected Device In Dsp Chain


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 December 2011 - 14:04

Ey Ledger, could you a similar tool for tracks or groups, so only the selected track or group is maximized and all the other tracks are collapsed?


Have you tried this button atall?

Sing track.PNG

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#27 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6792 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 11 December 2011 - 14:07

Have you tried this button atall?

Sing track.PNG


Oh no! :drummer:

#28 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 December 2011 - 18:02

Ey Ledger, could you a similar tool for tracks or groups, so only the selected track or group is maximized and all the other tracks are collapsed?


How would that be different to the function already built in to Renoise to only show current Track?

#29 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6792 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 December 2011 - 19:02

difference would be group.

#30 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 December 2011 - 19:28

difference would be group.


So any Track within a Group and the whole Group remains expanded, rather than just the one Track inside it (as currently happens)? I was actually thinking it might be worth having some discussion if the function of that button should possibly be changed slightly now we have Track Grouping ;)

Sub-Group or Parent-Group? And remember there are multiple possible nested levels.

(PS missed there were two pages when I made my reply and that button had at least been pointed out ;) )

#31 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 17:29

Get your 2.8 version here:

http://tools.renoise...ze-selected-dsp

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#32 gmm04e

gmm04e

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 17:46

thanks, essential tool

#33 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:20

Get your 2.8 version here:

http://tools.renoise...ze-selected-dsp


Is there any chance we could have a method where if the user does know to use ctrl-click on a track dsp (and thus highlighting it in yellow), that if there's an ext.editor for the plugin, it opens up?..
or would it be completely ridiculous?

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#34 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 03:54

Is there any chance we could have a method where if the user does know to use ctrl-click on a track dsp (and thus highlighting it in yellow), that if there's an ext.editor for the plugin, it opens up?..
or would it be completely ridiculous?


Probably not planned, but feel free to hack if you like!

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#35 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1837 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 03 January 2012 - 04:09

Ledger,

I propose a "Lock expanded" tick added to the trackdsp context menu. This will keep any DSP of choice from getting minimized.

(If you make the control by concatenating "Exp:" before the .display_name, it will not show in the track dsp (but in the mixer view unfortunately))

I could add it if you think it's a good idea but ain't up for it yourself.

Edited by joule, 03 January 2012 - 04:09.


#36 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 14:40

Ledger,

I propose a "Lock expanded" tick added to the trackdsp context menu. This will keep any DSP of choice from getting minimized.

(If you make the control by concatenating "Exp:" before the .display_name, it will not show in the track dsp (but in the mixer view unfortunately))

I could add it if you think it's a good idea but ain't up for it yourself.


Thanks for suggestion, I will take a look once I have finished updating my other tools. If you want to have a go in the meantime feel free :)

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#37 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1837 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 03 January 2012 - 17:24

Here is what I meant. Feel free to use it if you like.

I also added some small improvements:

1) Notifiers gets detached when auto-maximize is disabled - sanity.
2) Adding a new DSP by drag'n'drop will keep it minimized since it is not being selected.

Thought/suggestion:
Using the minimize/maximize icon as a toggle to set "Keep device maximized" could be very intuitive - or very confusing.

Edited by joule, 04 January 2012 - 18:14.


#38 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 16:55

Here is what I meant. Feel free to use it if you like.


Not something I would get much use out of myself to be honest but if others find it useful? could add it.

I also added some small improvements:

1) Notifiers gets detached when auto-maximize is disabled - sanity.
2) Adding a new DSP by drag'n'drop will keep it minimized since it is not being selected.

Thought/suggestion:
Using the minimize/maximize icon as a toggle to set "Keep device maximized" could be very intuitive - or very confusing.


1) I couldn`t see where you release the notifiers in the file you uploaded? though it makes perfect sense.
2) Again this is not present in the tool you uploaded?
  • gmm04e likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#39 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1837 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 04 January 2012 - 17:52

Not something I would get much use out of myself to be honest but if others find it useful? could add it.
1) I couldn`t see where you release the notifiers in the file you uploaded? though it makes perfect sense.
2) Again this is not present in the tool you uploaded?


1) They are released when unchecking "Auto maximize selected devices" in the start() function from the menu invoke.
2) It seems to work most of the time but not always. I'll check..

Here is the bug fix:

Attached Files


Edited by joule, 04 January 2012 - 18:18.


#40 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2012 - 21:08

Here is the bug fix:


Seems to work now.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#41 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 14:37

This tool is the shit, thanks. :)

could you put joule's little extra on the tools page? http://renoise.com/t...cted-dsp-device
bla

#42 kopias

kopias

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Łask, Poland

Posted 21 February 2014 - 02:05

Hi.

This is a must have for my small laptop screen!

Is there a chance to upgrade this tool for Renoise 3 to support Instrument Effects?

Ledger - Thx for this functionality


P.S. brainstorming : while holding shift dsp that are unhided dont get hide ( example: click on lfo and shift click filter that is controlled by this lfo to see them both )

Edited by kopias, 21 February 2014 - 02:13.


#43 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 February 2014 - 19:26

3.0 beta version in first post:

http://forum.renoise...post__p__206885


No different functionality added this time, noted suggestions thanks, though the second one is probably not possible due to API limitations.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#44 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 21 February 2014 - 19:31

3.0 beta version in first post:

http://forum.renoise...post__p__206885


No different functionality added this time, noted suggestions thanks, though the second one is probably not possible due to API limitations.


If you are working out your tools, can you also muddle up your SetActiveTrackwidth tool? (the download link on the tools page went 404 :P)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#45 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 February 2014 - 19:39

If you are working out your tools, can you also muddle up your SetActiveTrackwidth tool? (the download link on the tools page went 404 Posted Image)


Will do. I wish I could magic up the old tools page though Posted Image

I`m gonna be a bit more careful from now on keeping duplicates of all the screen shots and text on the forum, tools site and my own hard drive!

edit: done!

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#46 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 21 February 2014 - 20:49

edit: done!


That was quick! :yeah:/>
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#47 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 25 February 2014 - 11:20

Just adding my thanks for this little gem!
  • Ledger likes this

#48 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 October 2018 - 13:08

Updated to renoise 3.1

 

https://www.renoise....cted-dsp-device

 

v1.03

 

-Added alternative menu option `Collapse When Mixer Device Chosen`. Devices will automatically maximise when selected, but other devices will not collapse until you choose the mixer device (first permanent device in the fx chain)

-Code tidy


Edited by Ledger, 08 October 2018 - 18:48.

  • ghostwerk likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#49 Same Freaky Sound

Same Freaky Sound

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 08 October 2018 - 13:28

Thanx so much, its save me lot of time!


  • Ledger likes this

Proudly tracking since 1.2

 

Audiu page: https://audiu.net/us...me-freaky-sound

Soundcloud page: https://soundcloud.c...me-freaky-sound


#50 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3646 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 October 2018 - 11:49

1.04 Quick Bug fix on the new mode, when there was no selection on a track it would throw an error:

 

https://www.renoise....cted-dsp-device


--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites