Jump to content


Photo

[Fixed B4] Inconsistancy In Open Editors Shortcuts.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 20:32

[i]Not sure if a bug report or semi- feature request[/i]:

I hadn`t noticed this before but the shortcuts for opening VST editors behave differently.

Open a VST instrument editor works as a toggle
Open a VST effect works as "open only"

IMO it would be better if they both worked as toggles.


On the same subject it when you open a non VST renoise instrument or sample the "Open instrument editor" shortcut doesn`t toggle again. Here I think it would be good if it toggled.


So basically could they all be toggles if possible for consistancy and useability?

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 Renonquet

Renonquet

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guernsey :)
  • Interests:Parrots

Posted 30 July 2010 - 22:02

I just tried it... they do both work as toggles.

???

#3 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 22:06

[quote name='Ortac' date='30 July 2010 - 09:02 PM' timestamp='1280523725' post='206998']
I just tried it... they do both work as toggles.

???
[/quote]

hmm strange! I just tried again and it still only works for closing VSTi windows and not VSTfx

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#4 Johann

Johann

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2774 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 July 2010 - 22:09

[quote name='Ortac' date='30 July 2010 - 11:02 PM' timestamp='1280523725' post='206998']
I just tried it... they do both work as toggles.

???
[/quote]
same here.

music / photos / renoise scripts


hay guises! action/reaction. I'm not into leaving or avoiding places, I ban 'em by making sure I get banned.. loadsa noise, little signal.. basically anything else makes more sense to spend energy on. thanks for the app, but from here on out we simply don't have any use for each other period. oh, and of course big shoutouts to bit-arts and kaneel and anyone else I forgot :D :D

#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 22:15

[quote name='Johann' date='30 July 2010 - 09:09 PM' timestamp='1280524188' post='207000']
same here.
[/quote]

Even stranger as I just tried in 2.51 and the VSTfx shortcut only works as open

i.e. the one you need to have the DSP lane focused to use?


maybe I need to trash my shortcut file.. I will try on another machine first

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 22:45

Ok this doesn`t work for me on either machine one [other one XP] this one win 7.

Also tried renoise 2.1 on this machine and the default 'Ctrl + return' shortcut when the a VST in th DSP lane is focused, will only open a VST editor and not close it. I am stumped if this is working for others.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 31 July 2010 - 01:36

[quote name='Ledger' date='30 July 2010 - 11:45 PM' timestamp='1280526306' post='207004']
Ok this doesn`t work for me on either machine one [other one XP] this one win 7.

Also tried renoise 2.1 on this machine and the default 'Ctrl + return' shortcut when the a VST in th DSP lane is focused, will only open a VST editor and not close it. I am stumped if this is working for others.
[/quote]

The others probably are clicking the button and clicking the button once opens it and clicking it again closes the VST.

The keyboard shortcut doesn't work because the VST plugin itself has to understand that ctrl+return should be for closing the dialog, which is not programmed by the developer of the plugin.
The plugin gets keyboard focus as soon as it pops forward and then keyboard control is no longer in the hands of Renoise.
If this is the case, then this is a nobug.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#8 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 July 2010 - 10:19

[quote name='vV' date='31 July 2010 - 12:36 AM' timestamp='1280536585' post='207018']
The keyboard shortcut doesn't work because the VST plugin itself has to understand that ctrl+return should be for closing the dialog, which is not programmed by the developer of the plugin.
The plugin gets keyboard focus as soon as it pops forward and then keyboard control is no longer in the hands of Renoise.
If this is the case, then this is a nobug.
[/quote]

Tried this with energyXT2 (some beta version) and it works for the instrument but not the effect. I would presume that the effect handles things similarly to the instrument in this case?

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#9 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 31 July 2010 - 13:14

[quote name='Ledger' date='31 July 2010 - 11:19 AM' timestamp='1280567942' post='207050']
Tried this with energyXT2 (some beta version) and it works for the instrument but not the effect. I would presume that the effect handles things similarly to the instrument in this case?
[/quote]

I see what you mean.... in this case "Enable keyboard" is disabled (I have mine toggled all the time since most of my VST plugins require keyboard interaction).
If you enable the keyboard, the shortcut to close the instrument won't work either anylonger.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#10 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3645 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 August 2010 - 19:27

[quote name='vV' date='31 July 2010 - 12:14 PM' timestamp='1280578491' post='207061']
I see what you mean.... in this case "Enable keyboard" is disabled (I have mine toggled all the time since most of my VST plugins require keyboard interaction).
If you enable the keyboard, the shortcut to close the instrument won't work either anylonger.
[/quote]

Yes this would be expected.


[fixed] thanks :)

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites