Recording Live Instruments Into Renoise?

I’ve searched as I’m sure this has been asked, but I found no answers. Can I record live instruments like my guitar with Renoise? I’m a newb, so please make any explanations dummy-proof :D

Sure! Go to the ‘sample-editor’, press ‘rec’, select the input your guitar is in, ‘start’ and go rock on! :guitar:

I have a few more questions since this is much different than the other program I used. I was used to playing a whole song in one take on guitar, maybe 4 minutes straight to one track. That track would be panned 100% to the right. Then I’d play another guitar track panned 100% to the left, but it was recording while playing the song so I could sync up with the other guitar track.

Renoise seems to operate in a much different way with “patterns”, where as my old program just recorded until I told it to stop. Any ideas on how I can make this work in a similar fashion?

Also one other odd thing, but maybe not Renoise related. I have a new laptop that I just tried recording my guitar in to. It has no “line in”, so I bought a
, and the sound only comes through the left channel. I have the sample editor in Renoise set to L+R. This wouldn’t be a big deal, but when I go to pan my recorded track to the right side, there’s no sound.

Sorry for so many noob questions lol. Thanks a lot!

Renoise records to RAM. It’s like a very sophisticated sampler.

If you are recording 4 minutes of guitar, Renoise is not the best program for this. You will run out of room faster than in other apps that record to harddrive. Also, there is no recording timeline as you have already noticed. Renoise is better at recording small loops, then cutting/mashing/sequencing those.

That isn’t to say it can’t be done. Many Renoisers do exactly what you are describing. Have a look at the “Hunz - Soon Soon” demo track, for example.