Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0): Grid Pie


  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#26 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 05 October 2011 - 02:08

Just had a eureka moment and released version 0.5 on the Tools page:

http://tools.renoise.../tools/grid-pie

This version animates the position in the Pattern Matrix. I think this small change makes a huge difference. Check it out. What do you girls/guys think?

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#27 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 05 October 2011 - 04:07

PS: If anyone is testing Grid Pie 0.5 with a controller. Can you tell me if changing line 191 from this:

From this:

   rns.tracks[x].mute_state = renoise.Track.MUTE_STATE_OFF
    OneShotIdleNotifier(100, function()
      rns.patterns[gridpie_idx].tracks[x]:clear()
      rns.tracks[x].mute_state = renoise.Track.MUTE_STATE_ACTIVE
    end)

To this:

    rns.tracks[x].mute_state = renoise.Track.MUTE_STATE_OFF
    rns.patterns[gridpie_idx].tracks[x]:clear()
    OneShotIdleNotifier(100, function() rns.tracks[x].mute_state = renoise.Track.MUTE_STATE_ACTIVE end)

Makes a difference when muting? E.g. better/worse or none?

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#28 dby

dby

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2011 - 18:48

This looks great! Can't wait until I get home in two weeks to try it out on my Monome. Does it support LED feedback?

#29 entropia

entropia

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 15:15

I've tried it yesterday with my LPD8 and this tool is so awesome!

It's really great for finding new options while composing.. instant remix!
Canenero on myspace


Max/msp sketchbook blog



http://soundcloud.com/canenero/nessu

#30 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 October 2011 - 00:54

I just uploaded a new version (0.6) to the Tools page that tries to remember the original state of the Pattern Matrix, and will unmute the slots when you close Grid Pie.

http://tools.renoise.../tools/grid-pie

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#31 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 October 2011 - 01:12

PS: One of you unlucky souls downloaded a buggy version of Grid Pie. I put it back in quarantine, fixed it, but then when I went to re-upload the patched version Grid Pie was out of quarantine. Damn, that's super fast service! :) Re-download the tool if this unlucky soul is you.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#32 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 11 October 2011 - 14:17

Version 0.7 released to the Tools page. I got polyrhythms working in Grid Pie. You can now make odd time signature stuff on-the-fly.

To enable, open "com.renoise.GridPie.xrnx/main.lua" in the Script Editor and change line ~6 from :

[lua]
local DISABLE_POLYRHYTHMS = true
[/lua]

To:

local DISABLE_POLYRHYTHMS = false


My problem is I don't want to enable it by default because it's too slow to be any fun. I was wondering if any of you wanted to take a look at this and help me speed it up?

Right now, I'm thinking `copy_and_expand()` should be written in C++ and added to the API; like `tracks[]:copy_from()` is - But, maybe I'm just doing something wrong and you girls/guys can tell me?

An example bad case is combining a 64 line pattern with a 112 pattern from: [indamixx]_jonas_the_plugexpert_-_Savons.xrns (available in our song downloads section) This will create a 448 line pattern and copy+expand everything as optimized as possible, but it's still too slow.

For the record, I have already tried ProcessSlicer and it didn't do the job. It made things worse. Don't let that stop you from trying with it though.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#33 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 October 2011 - 16:08

Since copying a whole pattern track is faster than copying line by line... Instead of making one large pattern, maybe you could create several GRID_PIE patterns and apply Taktik's Pattern Rotate functions on one of the tracks.

1 1
2 2
3 3

1 4
2 1
3 2

1 3
2 4
3 1

1 2
2 3
3 4

a) Paste smallest track
b) Expand GRID_PIE pattern to largest track
c) Paste largest track
d) Rotate largest track
e) Shrink GRID_PIE pattern to smallest track
f) Repeat

#34 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6763 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 11 October 2011 - 16:31

*head asplodes*
  • phuture likes this

#35 dr4g0n76

dr4g0n76

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 17:58

Connor: First, I warm round of applause to you. I think you did a great job.

Since I'd like to integrate the same function (s. here what I got when asking the renoise developers: http://www.renoise.c...post__p__250085)

So I had thought about a lot things that I now know would also make sense. which is:

- Move a "toggled line ( i will call that 'sequence' now" up/down/left/right
- Rewind Track (maybe also whole pattern? though this can already be done by using arrow up/arrow down)
- Sample Track and play reverse sample while muting
- Remember clicked sequences

And so on.

What do you think about that?
If not clear I'll add some pics.

There is only one thing to know:

Does LUA offer to integrate more than one gui at once?
Because I don't want to change the interface of gridpie.
But I'd like to add this.

Connor_BW what's your opinion?

#36 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 12 October 2011 - 18:04

Hey, thanks!

If not clear I'll add some pics.


Pictures would be great.

Does LUA offer to integrate more than one gui at once?
Because I don't want to change the interface of gridpie.
But I'd like to add this.


Yes, this is possible AFAIK.

I haven't tried it myself yet but I have seen scripts with more than one window. (The Duplex settings dialogue, for example.)

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#37 phuture

phuture

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 October 2011 - 01:04

*head asplodes*


made me drooling a bit also! :smashed:

#38 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 15 October 2011 - 19:24

My problem is I don't want to enable it by default because it's too slow to be any fun. I was wondering if any of you wanted to take a look at this and help me speed it up?


This should do the trick:
Attached File  GripPieExpandSpeedup.zip   1.14KB   71 downloads
(a patch against the current xrnx svn version - r1068)

Gets rid of doubled "pattern.tracks" and "track.lines" calls and use line(i) and track(i) instead of lines and tracks.
"lines" and "tracks" calls are pretty heavy, cause they do convert all lines of a pattern to Lua first, then only one use of them (the one at "i"). line() only converts a single line to Lua; the one you are interested in.

#39 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 15 October 2011 - 22:20

Gets rid of doubled "pattern.tracks" and "track.lines" calls and use line(i) and track(i) instead of lines and tracks.
"lines" and "tracks" calls are pretty heavy, cause they do convert all lines of a pattern to Lua first, then one use of them (the one at "i"). line()only converts a single line to Lua; the one you are interested in.


Definitely faster! Thanks! I had to change it a bit. Committed to SVN.

Some questions

  • You removed OneShotIdleNotifier under "Also expanding track" but not for "Expanding track", a typo?
  • I had to put back `to_line` for the automation points. Was this working for you without it? A typo?

I'm still not sure if this is fast enough to enable by default. With complex automations it's still hurting a bit.

Adventurous people who want to test this, `svn up`or:

  • Open "com.renoise.GridPie.xrnx/main.lua" in the Script Editor
  • Cut and paste from this revision.
  • Reload Tools

Feedback? Is this fast enough for you?

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#40 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 16 October 2011 - 13:48

Yay, the polyrhytmics make this really interesting. Great work, Conner

Feedback? Is this fast enough for you?

I'd say yes. Keep your patterns as short/compact as possible (lower the LPB value) and you should have no problems.

Great fun to recombine patterns of 4, 6 and 9 lines, for example.

Another approach could be to output pattern data incrementally over time, instead of being calculated all at once?

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#41 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 October 2011 - 14:59

Thanks danoise,

I think the automation procedure could be sped up, but I have brain freeze / distracting baby on lap this morning and I'm stuck. E.g.

Expandable Code


Should look something like:

Expandable Code


I'm not sure if this actually speeds things up. Seems to shave off a few milliseconds, but this could just be other factors like my CPU doing other stuff at the time? Any insight on the internals here Taktik?

Before:
Expanding track 5 from 112 to 448 lines
Time to expand track 5 was: 1.8209999999999

After:
Expanding track 5 from 112 to 448 lines
Time to expand track 5 was: 1.6030000000001

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#42 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 October 2011 - 16:47

I did a few more tests and everything is "good enough for me."

Version 0.8 has been released to the Tools page. Polyrhythms and odd time signatures are now enabled by default.

http://tools.renoise.../tools/grid-pie

Patches to speed things up even more are, of course, welcome.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#43 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 16 October 2011 - 17:13

Definitely faster! Thanks! I had to change it a bit. Committed to SVN.


Oh, sorry. Have no tested thoroughly, not even read the whole thing. Result look good to me though.


I think the automation procedure could be sped up, but I have brain freeze / distracting baby on lap this morning and I'm stuck. E.g.

I'm not sure if this actually speeds things up. Seems to shave off a few milliseconds, but this could just be other factors like my CPU doing other stuff at the time? Any insight on the internals here Taktik?


Main bottleneck is adding the points here, so there's not really much left to optimize.
Nevertheless have done/fixed what can be fixed. Again only quickly tested, so please only use this as inspiration:
Expandable Code


#44 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 October 2011 - 17:39

Alright! Thanks Takitk.

Version 0.81 in SVN and released to the Tools page.

http://tools.renoise.../tools/grid-pie

Cheers.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#45 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 October 2011 - 21:54

Me again, last one for a while now. I promise.

Version 0.82 released to the Tools page. Show "poly count combo!" in Renoise's status bar.

http://tools.renoise.../tools/grid-pie

Thanks again everyone!
  • D.A.T. likes this

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#46 dr4g0n76

dr4g0n76

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 11:18

Here I hope you get a glimpse of my intention.

This is one of the originals:

OriginalSequence.png

Button to clear whole "Sequence":

Cleared.jpg


Right now inserted but playing starts when next measurement / bar is reached (like ableton live standard behaviour I guess)
Maybe done by right(middle mouse button?) click:

PlayNextBar.jpg

Move the whole "Sequence" one line down (compared to next pic):

MoveDown.jpg

Move the whole "Sequence" one line up (compared to previous pic):

MoveUp.jpg

Same as before, but Move it Right:

MoveRight.jpg

Move it left:
MoveLeft.png

Choose from a "saved" sequence:

Hey, thanks!



Pictures would be great.



Yes, this is possible AFAIK.

I haven't tried it myself yet but I have seen scripts with more than one window. (The Duplex settings dialogue, for example.)

Attached Images

  • MoveLeft.jpg

Edited by dr4g0n76, 19 October 2011 - 11:44.


#47 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:42

Hi dr4g0n76,

What controller are you using? For example, when you say "button to clear the sequence" what button are you talking about?

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#48 dr4g0n76

dr4g0n76

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 14:38

@ Connor_BW:

I'm using a Korg M3 / Radias combination (Radiasboard inside M3)

And what I like to do is to map those yet lacking functions to the m3.
And if you like to I'd integrate them myself and post the code here. No big deal, I guess.

I just fiddled around with ableton live and some dj-ing tools and had an Idea that would you did could be
a real great live-mixing dj-ing tool for renoise. That's what I see at the horizon, you know?

;-)

Really great stuff what you did here.

Hope it's clearer now?!

Edited by dr4g0n76, 19 October 2011 - 14:39.


#49 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 19 October 2011 - 14:56

And if you like to I'd integrate them myself and post the code here. No big deal, I guess.


Hey, that would be great!

I made this as a 24 hour hack, then polished up the concept in my spare time and am happy where it is now. I'm not sure where to take Grid Pie. I'd like to keep it simple but I would love to see other people submit patches, too.

I guess this is what you meant by "second gui"? Like, a separate dialogue for new optional buttons? I don't think the coding is really hard to do. It's just that I don't own any grid controller except the LPD8 and I don't really enjoy coding stuff I don't use. It would be a lot more fun for me to integrate patches (code). I appreciate feature suggestions, but you can understand that it gets boring fast to field feature requests that don't benefit me personally, right? :)

Cheers.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#50 dr4g0n76

dr4g0n76

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 16:26

Hey, that would be great!

I made this as a 24 hour hack, then polished up the concept in my spare time and am happy where it is now. I'm not sure where to take Grid Pie. I'd like to keep it simple but I would love to see other people submit patches, too.

I guess this is what you meant by "second gui"? Like, a separate dialogue for new optional buttons? I don't think the coding is really hard to do. It's just that I don't own any grid controller except the LPD8 and I don't really enjoy coding stuff I don't use. It would be a lot more fun for me to integrate patches (code). I appreciate feature suggestions, but you can understand that it gets boring fast to field feature requests that don't benefit me personally, right? :)

Cheers.


Ok, so let me search for some features more,

do the patches and discuss "how and if" integrate them.

I will have a look at

- ableton live
- traktor control (hardware of native instruments)
- novation launchpad (in fact gridpie remembered me of that at the very first sight)
- native instruments machine
- kaoss pad

and some own features.

I think that's it.

Base on this I'll create a feature integration list.

Deal? (reaching out hand. :rolleyes:)