Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.7 - 3.1): Set Track Width To Active Columns


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 January 2011 - 00:37

On Tools Page:

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

 

v1.34 includes Joule`s revision with major speed improvements

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

 

 

 

This tool checks either the `selected track` or `all tracks in song`  for notes in hidden columns or excess empty columns. The number of visible columns is then adjusted so all notes are shown and excess columns hidden.

 

Set track width fx.PNG

 

After running the tool only the three active columns will be visible here

SetTracklarge.png



Menu Locations:

- Pattern Menu : Set Track Width To Active Columns
- Tools Menu : Ledger`s Scripts : Set Track Width To Active Columns

Shortcut:

(2.6/2.7)
"Set Track Width To Active Columns"

(2.8)
"Set Current Track Width To Active Columns"
"Set All Track Widths To Active Columns"

 

forum mirror:

 

 

Renoise 3.1

Attached File  ledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns_V1.32.xrnx   6.97KB   118 downloads

 

renoise 3.0

Attached File  ledger.scripts.SetTrackToActiveColumns_V1.3.xrnx   7.43KB   156 downloads

 

 

changes:

 

Spoiler

 


Edited by Ledger, 04 May 2018 - 12:46.

  • dblue, 00.1 and crazya02 like this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2011 - 18:45

A few small tidying adjustments and now on tools page:

http://tools.renoise...-active-columns

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#3 Thomas

Thomas

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 19:12

Very nice
Thanks

#4 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2011 - 23:40

No probs, let me know if you find any issues.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2011 - 21:11

2.7 beta version added

http://www.renoise.c...post__p__223268
  • 00.1 likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 May 2011 - 11:33

2.7 version on tools page:

http://tools.renoise...-active-columns

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 17:42

2.8 version :

--Added new menu entry under the "tools" menu, under "Ledger`s scripts"

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1695 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted 03 January 2012 - 03:30

Nice tool. Why not support the effect columns as well?

Here is a speed-up btw

Spoiler

Edited by joule, 03 January 2012 - 03:32.


#9 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 03:53

Nice tool. Why not support the effect columns as well?


Haven`t done much with this one for a while other than version updates. Have it in mind to expand to fx and all tracks at once. Question of time/ priority though.

Thanks for the speed tip, will take a look.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#10 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 22 February 2012 - 20:44

I was looking for a tool like this one but couldn't find one. Then, I accidentally stumpled over this one. Nice tool. Wouldn't a name like "Remove/hide Unused Columns" be more approbiate?

Would also like to use the tool on all tracks (if it is possible to prevent the "Script not responding" dialogs from appearing).

Another idea: it would be great if the tool could remove not just the last unused columns in a track, but also unused columns in between used columns.

Other than that, it works great.
Thanks for sharing!

#11 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 17:22

@Drop Shadow

thanks again for suggestions, at the moment I am not getting much chance for scripting though I will have another burst no doubt soon. I don`t think I will change the name on this as it is already up on the tools site under the current name. The name was chosen as the tool will uncover columns that are hidden aswell as hiding the unused. Maybe a little less obvious title but hopefully not a prob now you have found the tool :)

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#12 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 31 May 2012 - 23:28

Hi again,
There seems to a problem with the tool. Try using it on the attached song. Run the tool in pattern 0.

The tool will report that there's no notes and shrink the track to one column although there's a note in pattern 1.

The funny thing is, if you run the tool from pattern 1, it will work.

Attached Files



#13 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 June 2012 - 20:52

Thanks for the report,

will take a look

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#14 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 June 2012 - 13:17

Hi again,
There seems to a problem with the tool. Try using it on the attached song. Run the tool in pattern 0.

The tool will report that there's no notes and shrink the track to one column although there's a note in pattern 1.

The funny thing is, if you run the tool from pattern 1, it will work.


Please take a look at version 1.10 for rns 2.8, this should be fixed:

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#15 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 02 June 2012 - 16:00

Works just fine. Thanks!

#16 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2012 - 14:34

Would also like to use the tool on all tracks (if it is possible to prevent the "Script not responding" dialogs from appearing).


Have just added this here using the process slicer class.

There is now a new menu entry/ shortcut for "Set All track Widths to Active Columns". Released here as a beta for now, bug reports welcome:



new beta 1.22 below

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#17 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 04 June 2012 - 16:29

Have just added this here using the process slicer class.

There is now a new menu entry/ shortcut for "Set All track Widths to Active Columns". Released here as a beta for now, bug reports welcome:


Very nice addition.
I would like to test this on some of my big and rather complex songs, but practically I can't due to the "Script not responding" issue.

#18 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2012 - 18:17

Very nice addition.
I would like to test this on some of my big and rather complex songs, but practically I can't due to the "Script not responding" issue.


Could you give me a ballpark figure of how large these songs are? (no. of patterns and average pattern length) The process_slicer is now implemented so should in theory deal with this issue. However if you songs are huge this may need some minor tweaking.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#19 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 04 June 2012 - 20:52

The process_slicer is now implemented so should in theory deal with this issue.

If this should mean that the tool should process the data faster now, it doesn't seem to be the case here. At least, nothing I can notice.

Could you give me a ballpark figure of how large these songs are?

The one I'm working on at the moment:
66 tracks
144 patterns
Average pattern length: 180.

Of course, all things being equal the tool's usability increases with the song size. So, I would very humbly argue that the tool ideally should be able to deal with "huge".

What do I mean, when I say it's practically impossible to test the "Set all tracks..." function?
I had to click "No" in the "Script not responding" dialog about 20 times before the first track was processed (and 65 still to go!).

Edited by Drop Shadow, 04 June 2012 - 20:57.


#20 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2012 - 21:27

If this should mean that the tool should process the data faster now, it doesn't seem to be the case here. At least, nothing I can notice.


No it is more to do with bypassing the pop-ups.

Thanks for figures I have tweaked aiming to cover most extreme 512 length patterns now.
Let me know if this works for you now. Hopefully we can get this optimised to eliminate the popups in all situations.

edit: see 1.23 in next post

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#21 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2012 - 22:55

Now added joules speed optimisations from earlier in the thread (thanks joule!) + small code clean-up:



Edit: Latest version now on tools page

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#22 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 04 June 2012 - 23:56

Great job, Ledger (and joules). I works about 4 times af fast now and there's no pop-ups.

Will test more thoroughly if it produces the desired results - but it seems like it does!

#23 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 June 2012 - 14:59

Now up on tools page 1.24 (incremented due to minor code clean-up )

http://www.renoise.c...-active-columns

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#24 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 15 June 2012 - 03:42

I've used this quite a lot now. It seems to work flawlesly.

#25 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 June 2012 - 16:09

I've used this quite a lot now. It seems to work flawlesly.


Good to hear thanks!

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites