Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0, 3.1): Track Comments


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 12 February 2011 - 21:05

Hi there,

here is a little new tool I made.
It adds a feature to make comments to each track. All data will be saved in the global song comments.

Right click on a track --> Track --> Track Comments will open a popup window in which you can write your comments. When closing this window the data will be saved and written to the global song comments (at the correct position).

Please give me feedback on this one! If you have ideas, let me know. For instance, you might have a better idea for the syntax in the global song comments.

Also, if anyone knows how to have the multiline text field get focus automatically, please let me know.

Updates:
0.2: Works via track names (must be unique). Renaming and moving tracks should work. Sorting comments when saving song.
0.3: Works via indices again. Renaming, inserting, removing, swapping should all work now. Sorting comments when necessary.
0.4: Compatible with Renoise 2.7.
0.5: Compatible with Renoise 2.8.

Now available at the tools page:
http://www.renoise.c.../track-comments

Have fun!

Edited by fladd, 14 June 2013 - 00:55.

  • Ledger, Conner_Bw, 00.1 and 2 others like this

#2 f+d+k

f+d+k

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 716 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:On Land
  • Interests:고추장

Posted 12 February 2011 - 22:23

Great idea, I had this on my personal wishlist. Thanks!

Note: Track comment is cleared when moving the track. I don't know if this is possible to fix, just wanted to mention it. Still very useful tool IMHO.

#3 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 12 February 2011 - 23:47

great idea, just experimented with it a bit and it works nice.
feature request: if possible, use the actual name of the track. so for example, if my Track 1 is called 'KICKS', make it so in the song comments it says something like 'Track 1 (KICKS)'. same goes for the tool menu, when going to track > track comments, the title of the window could use the trackname as well, for clarity.

a problem with this would be a way to do the above when the user changes tracknames after making track comments. don't know if that would be possible too. otherwise you could make it so that you have to open the tool once more (meaning: edit the track comments), after which the tool could detect the trackname automatically.

the way it is displayed in the song comments: i wondered why you chose to use '...' instead of the (maybe) more obvious '---'

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#4 mr_mark_dollin

mr_mark_dollin

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In the Pattern Matrix.
  • Interests:Quiet Revolutions.

Posted 12 February 2011 - 23:51

Some great ideas here! :)
Posted Image

#5 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 01:55

Okay guys, I have an update already!

This now works only with unique track names. Renaming tracks and moving tracks around seems to work now. Even the order of the track comments in the global song comments is now sorted according to the track list (this happens when the song is saved).

See first post for the xrnx.

#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3369 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2011 - 02:04

Nice script!

As for suggestions, any chance of per pattern notes? I would find that pretty useful.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 09:53

Nice script!

As for suggestions, any chance of per pattern notes? I would find that pretty useful.


You mean like per pattern per track? Or just per pattern, but for all tracks?

the way it is displayed in the song comments: i wondered why you chose to use '...' instead of the (maybe) more obvious '---'


I really don't know. I was playing around with some things and I had the impression that '...' is visually the best option, when it comes to read track comments in the global song comments. But that is probably a very subjective thing :)

#8 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3369 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2011 - 14:00

You mean like per pattern per track? Or just per pattern, but for all tracks?


As in

Pattern 1 = "1 comment box"
Pattern 2 = "1 comment box"
Pattern 3 = "1 comment box"

..etc

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#9 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 14:30

Well, if it is irrespective of tracks, then it should probably be a tool in its own right. Don't you think?

#10 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 14:54

Okay guys, I have an update already!

This now works only with unique track names. Renaming tracks and moving tracks around seems to work now. Even the order of the track comments in the global song comments is now sorted according to the track list (this happens when the song is saved).

See first post for the xrnx.

thanks, that was quite fast! looks great, and works nicely while there is already a comment and renaming a track after that, updates the comments perfectly.
i have one gripe left. this is what is now in my song comments:

... Comments Track 1 ...
... TEST ...
bla
...

why would you add the trackname to a seperate line, instead of just doing the same thing you do in the context menu? i'd suggest you make it like this:

... Comments Track 1 (TEST) ...
bla
...

unless you did it the way you did because of programming troubles, which i would not know about.

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#11 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 15:08

Well, yes, I did that mainly due to the fact that it is easier to parse whole lines.
If this is really a big problem, then I might change it in the future.

#12 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3369 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 February 2011 - 15:20

Well, if it is irrespective of tracks, then it should probably be a tool in its own right. Don't you think?


Yes, could be, or expand the scope of the current tool to advanced comments or something?

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#13 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2011 - 16:02

Well, yes, I did that mainly due to the fact that it is easier to parse whole lines.
If this is really a big problem, then I might change it in the future.

well, i guess it goes without saying this does not qualify as a 'really big problem'. it just looks nicer, and takes a line less space.
if you ever find the time, and decide to tackle a couple little things or something, think about implementing this. if not, so be it.

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#14 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7066 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 13 February 2011 - 16:05

Fun tool!

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »


#15 00.1

00.1

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1347 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2011 - 05:29

First off, great tool, having fun taking some of my paper notes and digitizing them inside all my Renoise files.

Now on to the possible bug, I don't know yet what's causing it but I uninstalled the Track Comments xrnx and the bug is gone.

1 open song.xrns
2 edit, save
3 load a different xrns or new xrns
4 Renoise keeps asking if I should save changes

The song.xrns does get saved but somehow Renoise thinks there are edits made after saving the xrns.

Windows 10
Toshiba Satellite L875D
AMD A8-4500M APU with Radon™ HD Graphics 1.90 Ghz
6.00 GB RAM
64bit Operating System, x64-based processor


#16 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 16 February 2011 - 11:18

nice one
"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#17 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 17 February 2011 - 10:34

First off, great tool, having fun taking some of my paper notes and digitizing them inside all my Renoise files.

Now on to the possible bug, I don't know yet what's causing it but I uninstalled the Track Comments xrnx and the bug is gone.

1 open song.xrns
2 edit, save
3 load a different xrns or new xrns
4 Renoise keeps asking if I should save changes

The song.xrns does get saved but somehow Renoise thinks there are edits made after saving the xrns.


I will look into that in the weekend.

#18 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 20 February 2011 - 03:11

Okay, new version is in the first post!

Most bugs should be fixed now. Renaming, inserting, removing, swapping should all work now, even with the default track names!
The code is probably pretty unefficient, but this is due to the fact that I could not figure out how to have a track refer to itself (or to know its own position in tracks[]), thus, all tracks will be renamed in the song comments, if the name of one track changes.

Something I could/should still do in the future is some error checking: I you mess around with the track comments part in the global song comments things might go wrong!

#19 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 06 March 2011 - 16:58

Has anyone experienced any problems so far?
If not, I would probably put it up on the tools page.

#20 00.1

00.1

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1347 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 March 2011 - 18:53

Has anyone experienced any problems so far?
If not, I would probably put it up on the tools page.

So far so good. I've got a lot of notes, but most of it is separated track by track to avoid scrolling.

There is one little thing, although maybe its not a bug.

If I select all and cut a note from one track, then paste it on another track, then click "X" to exit, not all of it gets pasted, a couple of lines from the end are missing.

But if I hit Enter after I have pasted, all is well.

Windows 10
Toshiba Satellite L875D
AMD A8-4500M APU with Radon™ HD Graphics 1.90 Ghz
6.00 GB RAM
64bit Operating System, x64-based processor


#21 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 06 March 2011 - 23:02

So far so good. I've got a lot of notes, but most of it is separated track by track to avoid scrolling.

There is one little thing, although maybe its not a bug.

If I select all and cut a note from one track, then paste it on another track, then click "X" to exit, not all of it gets pasted, a couple of lines from the end are missing.

But if I hit Enter after I have pasted, all is well.


That is weird! Sounds to me like if the notifier is not called correctly after pasting and exiting the window or something. Maybe a bug in the scripting API?

#22 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 16 May 2011 - 21:47

I just updated this tool to work with Renoise 2.7. Have a look at the original post.

Do you guys think this is ready for the tools page?

#23 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 16 May 2011 - 23:10

I just updated this tool to work with Renoise 2.7. Have a look at the original post.

Do you guys think this is ready for the tools page?

did you manage to iron out the last-mentioned bug? (your previous post)
in my own experience i've had no trouble with it, but have not used it extensively either. i suppose it's your call whether to put it on the tools page or not.

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#24 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 16 May 2011 - 23:42

did you manage to iron out the last-mentioned bug? (your previous post)
in my own experience i've had no trouble with it, but have not used it extensively either. i suppose it's your call whether to put it on the tools page or not.

I am afraid that this is nothing I can fix, but has to be fixed in the API. Maybe someone from the dev team can look into this?

#25 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 14 June 2013 - 00:54

Now available at the tools page and compatible with Renoise 2.8!

http://www.renoise.c.../track-comments
  • Djeroek and KMaki like this