Jump to content


Photo

[Fixed Rc1] Muted Tracks Audible After Soloing Multiple Tracks


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 24 April 2011 - 10:30

I had a bug in Renoise 2.7 B7 yesterday on another PC (Win7) where when I soloed one track and soloed another directly after, the first one was still playing (and so on).

Had the same bug just now on my laptop (Win7 as well).
bla

#2 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 April 2011 - 10:40

I had a bug in Renoise 2.7 B7 yesterday on another PC (Win7) where when I soloed one track and soloed another directly after, the first one was still playing (and so on).


That is the purpose of the new solo mode.
If you want to change back to the old behavior, you have to change the solo mode in the Preferences.
Posted Image
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#3 Guest_Bantai_*

Guest_Bantai_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 April 2011 - 10:57

But I agree the word "Solo" can be misleading. One might get the idea that a soloed Track mutes all the other Tracks. The new Solo mode behavior is modeled after mixers, where multiple Track can be soloed at the same time.

In Solo mode, Track mute/off states are retained. Solo is like another layer on top of those states: in terms of functionality as well as complexity.

Then there's the Matrix mute layer, that sits on top of the Track mute/off, but below the Track Solo layer.

In conclusion, a Track can be simultaneously Soloed, Muted and Matrix Muted. Still with me? :smashed:

#4 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 24 April 2011 - 11:10

I'm using Mute Others mode btw!

A track gets soloed and all others get muted, this works. But sometimes the other track that was soloed, before I solo another track, keeps playing (there's audio output but it isn't visible in the Track Scopes, in fact they show "Off" in the Track Scopes). This can't be the right behavior of Mute Others mode right?

Edited by vincentvc, 24 April 2011 - 11:11.

bla

#5 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 24 April 2011 - 11:26

I can even turn every track "Off" and some tracks will keep playing. Can't be anything else than a bug, right?
(Happened after I opened a couple of tracks. So, I'm not saying this happens all the time!)

Edited by vincentvc, 24 April 2011 - 11:27.

bla

#6 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 April 2011 - 11:41

I can even turn every track "Off" and some tracks will keep playing. Can't be anything else than a bug, right?
(Happened after I opened a couple of tracks. So, I'm not saying this happens all the time!)


Does this involve send-tracks or the multiband send?
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#7 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 24 April 2011 - 15:17

No it didn't involve any (multiband)send-tracks.
bla

#8 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5626 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 24 April 2011 - 15:37

But sometimes the other track that was soloed, before I solo another track, keeps playing (there's audio output but it isn't visible in the Track Scopes, in fact they show "Off" in the Track Scopes)

I can even turn every track "Off" and some tracks will keep playing.

I've actually had this happen to me once before, but I was never able to recreate it again. I'll try to play around and see if I can trigger it again.

#9 gmm04e

gmm04e

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 April 2011 - 17:03

dblue, check that in multi column scenario. it happened to me not once and changed 'off' to 'mute' because of that

#10 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 25 April 2011 - 15:44

Serious bug is serious.
bla

#11 sharevari

sharevari

    Renoise Team

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 26 April 2011 - 10:17

Yep, definitely a bug. Would be great if anyone could come up with a reproducible case.

#12 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:19

[Fixed]?
bla

#13 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 01 May 2011 - 18:06

[Fixed]?


Yes Renoise folks also work on weekends and holidays.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#14 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 01 May 2011 - 18:32

Hah. Nvm I thought bug fixes were directly tagged as [Fixed in BX].. :)
bla

#15 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 01 May 2011 - 19:07

Hah. Nvm I thought bug fixes were directly tagged as [Fixed in BX].. :)


Yeah, but only if BX has been released. It would then become Fixed B8, but we are currently still at B7 :)
So you won't benefit from it now.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual