Jump to content


Photo

New Tool: Set Meta Values


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 October 2011 - 17:04

EDIT: Updated so there is no text field just a text display.

http://tools.renoise...ls/setmetavalue

Posted Image


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New 2.7 Alpha to set all the vol/pan/delay values in the selected range in the pattern.



This script works in a similar way to my search track (02) tool.
i.e. it is supposed to be fully keyboard operated. The GUI is just there for feedback. Even though it can be interacted with you may not get the desired results by doing so.


Usage example
:

1. Make a selection containing notes in the pattern editor
2. Open script via assigned shortcut
3. Type in the value (2 digit hex) you want to set all notes volume to (the popup below the textfield updates)
4. Press return, GUI autocloses and all done.




To choose between vol pan delay

Vol - press V on keyboard
Pan - press P on keyboard
Delay - press L on keyboard ( d not possible due to being a hex digit)


Renoise Shortcut Name: "Set Meta Values" under Global tools


The default is "clear selection" so all values will be deleted in the chosen range if tool is opened then return pressed.
  • D.A.T. likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 15 October 2011 - 17:56

man, you're unbelievable. just yesterday i ran into a situation where i thought 'why is this not possible', and BAM, you have a tool. great stuff, will test it out later.

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music:

#3 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 October 2011 - 18:34

Been meaning to do this one for a while, it`s one of those advanced edit operations that can become a pain after a while!

let me know how you get on.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#4 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 16 October 2011 - 15:06

Thanks! Will try it later :)

#5 mr_mark_dollin

mr_mark_dollin

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In the Pattern Matrix.
  • Interests:Quiet Revolutions.

Posted 17 October 2011 - 08:55

Great idea for a tool. Just testing it now. Works well with the number pad. Found a weird little thing when you click with the mouse on the text box, enter a value, then press enter it just clears the values for the section (as the value dropdown hasn't updated). I know we're not supposed to use the mouse, but it did confuse me outright.

I mapped LShift + LAlt + M for my shortcut ;)
Posted Image

#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 October 2011 - 14:42

Found a weird little thing when you click with the mouse on the text box, enter a value, then press enter it just clears the values for the section (as the value dropdown hasn't updated). I know we're not supposed to use the mouse, but it did confuse me outright.


Will take a look at this, for the moment it is keyboard only, but it would be neater if both were possible.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 November 2011 - 19:59

Updated so there is no text field just a text display. The simpler solution for now.

http://tools.renoise...ls/setmetavalue

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 D.A.T.

D.A.T.

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 18 November 2011 - 15:41

relly helpful tool !! Thanks for this!

#9 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 November 2011 - 19:11

relly helpful tool !! Thanks for this!


No probs, using it daily here now :)

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#10 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:25

2.8 Version now up:

http://tools.renoise...ls/setmetavalue
  • Conner_Bw likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#11 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 02 January 2012 - 13:33

Proposal:
Make a second shortcut available, which sets "selection" to "volume on current row" or "delay on current row" or "pan on current row". Would be real swell. (ImpulseTracker had this)

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#12 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 17:18

Proposal:
Make a second shortcut available, which sets "selection" to "volume on current row" or "delay on current row" or "pan on current row". Would be real swell. (ImpulseTracker had this)


I did start out this tool like this but it developed into the current incarnation. I found it more flexible this way, as you are not limited to be positioned on a particular renoise note to change everything.

Still, noted the suggestion and may get in sometime.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#13 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 02 January 2012 - 19:00

I did start out this tool like this but it developed into the current incarnation. I found it more flexible this way, as you are not limited to be positioned on a particular renoise note to change everything.


If you enabled it as a shortcut, working within selection, you would get this (in a future iteration):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMX_FjI73FM

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#14 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 19:21

Thanks for the vid!

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#15 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 April 2012 - 15:13

Bug: doesn't alter anything on note-offs.

Apart from that, really useful :-)

EDIT: Could you add some sort of GUI equivalent for the Enter key / make the plug mouse-friendly in general? When I first pulled this plugin up, I had to go to the tool page docs to figure out how to 'commit' my change. Others probably did the same. I also wondered what the blank box was for. I couldn't seem to click in it. All became clear only after reading the docs.

EDIT 2: The first place I looked for this plug was the pattern-editor selection context menu. For even more user-friendliness, you could place an item there to trigger your script.

Edited by martyfmelb, 30 April 2012 - 15:18.

soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#16 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 April 2012 - 23:30

Bug: doesn't alter anything on note-offs.


I guess you are asking for just delay values for note-offs here?

EDIT: Could you add some sort of GUI equivalent for the Enter key / make the plug mouse-friendly in general? When I first pulled this plugin up, I had to go to the tool page docs to figure out how to 'commit' my change. Others probably did the same. I also wondered what the blank box was for. I couldn't seem to click in it. All became clear only after reading the docs.


Is this something you think you would use after knowing how the script works now, or just would have been helpful at the start? The idea was it is to be a sort of advanced keyboard shortcut aid for speed. i.e.

- press shortcut
- type value
- press enter
- GUI automatically closes

I got sick of mousing around in advanced edit for these operations before.

EDIT 2: The first place I looked for this plug was the pattern-editor selection context menu. For even more user-friendliness, you could place an item there to trigger your script.


Was not added for similar reasons of keyboard orientation, though could be added if helpful to get people going

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#17 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:06

I guess you are asking for just delay values for note-offs here?

Yep

Is this something you think you would use after knowing how the script works now, or just would have been helpful at the start? The idea was it is to be a sort of advanced keyboard shortcut aid for speed. i.e.
- press shortcut
- type value
- press enter
- GUI automatically closes

Yes: a lot of the Renoise block operations need the mouse for the best speed/precision, so while I'm in the middle of a mouse-based workflow and I see a GUI control intended for mouse interaction, I'll be inclined to stay away from the keyboard as much as possible. I would even go so far as to say that a slider to control the numeric value would be extremely useful. The big workflow improvement over tweaking each value manually still makes doing it by mouse worth it (from ~20 seconds manually, to <5 seconds by mouse using your plug).

Only just now, I noticed you can also set the type of the value via the keyboard (v/p/l), I must have missed that in the docs :unsure: For keyboard-only usage, responding to the Backspace key would round it off perfectly.

EDIT: Is there a good Lua IDE? I'd hop onto these sorts of things myself if there was a good, fast workflow for impatient bastards like me -- something as quick as Firebug is for JavaScript. Probably another topic ... in fact ... why not.

Edited by martyfmelb, 01 May 2012 - 12:13.

soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#18 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 May 2012 - 17:54

Attempted some enhancements:
- UI is more touch/mouse-friendly
- Added context menu items in pattern editor
- Added slider control
- Bigger buttons for each of the types
- Added "Apply" button to do what Enter did before

- Added keyboard controls for new slider (arrows, paging keys, [ ] \ keys).
- Page up / page down for large changes
- Up / down for small changes
- Left / right for fine-tuning
- Experimental: [ ] and \ keys do interesting things per 'type'
- Volume halves / doubles / resets-to-full
- Panning moves counter-clockwise / clockwise in 30-degree increments / resets to middle
- Delay progresses down / up a 1/X scale (i.e. you can quickly do a 1/2, 1/3, 1/4 etc. delay by hitting End, then [ a couple times) / resets to zero.

Known bugs still present:
- When using Enter to commit your changes, it takes 2 undo ops to undo everything. (If you use the mouse, undo works as expected.)

New known bugs:
- Volume / panning 80 enters into the pattern editor as 7F (technically equivalent but cosmetically ugly)

EDIT: Attachment didn't work on the forum for some reason -- get it from http://min.us/mfoeeEWcy (link expires in 30 days)

Edited by martyfmelb, 01 May 2012 - 18:35.

  • Ledger likes this
soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#19 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 May 2012 - 21:23

Nicely done! Lots of nifty little features there and a nice GUI for mousing as you discussed.

A couple of little things I found:

- Firing up and clearing selection either works /does nothing / gives this:

std::logic_error: 'Unexpected volume value: '-1'. Expected a value below 127 or an effect byte (9-Z) followed by a value byte (0-F)'
stack traceback:
[C]: ?
[C]: in function '__newindex'
[string "do..."]:22: in function <[string "do..."]:11>
main.lua:260: in function 'do_the_job'
main.lua:354: in function <main.lua:353>


Just been messing around trying Return key or Apply button in different orders here.

-I also expected up arrow to increase a value and down arrow to decrease it. Don`t know if its a design choice or bug here though.


Overall though it seems we have "Set Meta Values +" . Whats your plan with this, did you want to release this as a separate tool? I`d be happy to integrate into the original (as you have kept the core functionality) with credits for you but will be honest that I`m short of time for maintenance/ fixes etc.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#20 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 May 2012 - 10:59

Hopefully this release fixes absolutely everything :-)

http://min.us/metK0QUKs
(Again 30 days expiry on the link, it's a min.us thing)

Posted Image

(Quickie survey: what key do you guys bind this to? I'm using Alt+`)

Fixes
- Volume / panning 80 enters 80 into the pattern editor as you'd expect
- Using the mouse to change V/P/L now updates the slider to reflect the the different ranges of V/P and L values
- Couldn't reproduce the bug outlined above but a whole lot of refactoring probably improved stability

Changes
- In general, everything acts "as expected" (except the dropdown, which is still "dumb")
- Clear vs. 0 is now handled in a more discrete way (ie. they are never confused for one-another)
- Using the [ and ] keys never 'sticks' at low values (i.e. you can now use this plug while drunk / during liveplay)
- Up is now more, down is now less (more intuitive, despite being opposite to the home/end/pgup/pgdn keys ... yep, we work in funny ways)

Remaining bug
- Be prepared to Ctrl+Z twice to undo if you used the Enter key to commit.

What's my plan
This is Set Meta Value v1.03 and that's it. Everything is already 'integrated into the original' -- I started with your code, then modified it. I'd be happy to release it to /tools/ as "ledger & martyfmelb - Set Meta Value" (or even just "Set Value", since some Renoise users might think "meta" has something to do with "metadevices", which is only tangentially true). Or you could put it up as the "plus" version anyway if you see reason to preserve your original branch.

Edited by martyfmelb, 03 May 2012 - 11:11.

soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#21 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 May 2012 - 21:06

Diamond of a effin tool :D

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#22 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2012 - 22:10

Back with a bit of spare time for this:

Hopefully this release fixes absolutely everything :-)

http://min.us/metK0QUKs


EDIT:martyfmelbs revision,
for when above link expires:
Attached File  ledger.scripts.SetMetaValue_Rns280_V1.03.xrnx   4.54KB   115 downloads

I have found with this version:

If I use the keyboard method to set some velocity values then try to clear the same selection via the GUI "Apply" sometimes nothing happens. Again it works other times.

What's my plan
This is Set Meta Value v1.03 and that's it. Everything is already 'integrated into the original' -- I started with your code, then modified it. I'd be happy to release it to /tools/ as "ledger & martyfmelb - Set Meta Value" (or even just "Set Value", since some Renoise users might think "meta" has something to do with "metadevices", which is only tangentially true). Or you could put it up as the "plus" version anyway if you see reason to preserve your original branch.


Ok, I will continue beta testing this version here and when all ironed out release it on the tools page as an incremented version with credits to yourself. I would like to also familiarise myself with your changes in the code which I have aready started looking at.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#23 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2017 - 16:49

Updated so Numpad Enter works the same as Return to input values:

 

http://renoise.com/tools/setmetavalue


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites