"insert" Key On Mac Keyboard?

So maybe this a complete newbie question, but I recently switched my platform to all Mac. I have a nice external keyboard (with numpad) and as far as I can tell, I have no way to “insert” a new row in the pattern editor. So easy on a PC while just pressing “insert” that I never thought this would be an issue.

I’ve done some research online and the new Mac keyboards have the “fn” key (next to home), which replaced the previous “Help” button, which replaced “Insert” some time ago.

The “fn” key does not work this way.

According to the keyboard shortcut list for Mac, I should be using the HelpKey(Insert) for this:

http://www.renoise.com/files/KeyBindings_mac.xml#Pattern%20Editor

When I go to my keymapping in Renoise, it says the same thing. Trying to assign a new key and pressing the “fn” key by itself does nothing.

Any Renoise Mac users that can shed some light on this? I see no other way of inserting a row and it’s been extremely frustrating.

Thanks much!

~ JS

1 Like

Hi!
On a Mac keyboard the fn-key is just a modifier key, much like the shift, ctrl or alt keys. I don’t remember what the combination for insert is, though… If it has something to do with the fn, it would be fn+some key.

Edit: according to this for example, it seems to be fn+enter.

Yeah I know it’s a modifier, but all the data on the web points to this being the “replacement” for the insert key.

Either way, I did assign row insert in the pattern editor to fn-f14, but it would be nice to know what the official keybinding is for Renoise…since there is no longer a “help” or “insert” key. I assume there are many Mac-renoisers out there who know this.

I’ve tried lots and lots of combos using fn-something, nothing works so far…

~ JS

I use a Macbook for work and Windows/Linux for the rest. Each time I use the Mac and MacOS, I end thinking that their designers thought that computer users do not use keyboards at all