Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8): Marks


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 09 March 2012 - 02:40

This is my first tool! :w00t:

This tool makes it possible to use letters as markers of different positions
in the renoise GUI. Positions remembered include:

* Pattern, track, line and note column
* Selected instrument
* Selected device
* Middle panel view
* Active upper and lower panel

Marks added will be saved in the song and will be restored when the song is
reopened at a later time. They are saved in the ________Marks________ instrument which is always the last instrument. (This is rather hacky, but works)

A screenshot of marks in the Beatslaughter demo song:

Marks-screenshot.jpg

To use it map "Global:Tools:Marks" to a convenient shortcut to open the dialog.
ALT-d is convenient I think.

Press the "add" of "jump" buttons to add/jump to a mark. Typing lowercase
letters will jump to the mark and uppercase letters will save a mark.

2012-03-10: Uploaded it to the tools page! Get it here.

2012-03-10 v1.03 Better naming of marks
2012-03-09 v1.02 Nicer GUI, jump to mark while playing

Edited by aklt, 10 March 2012 - 21:05.

  • Cie, Djeroek, dblue and 3 others like this
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#2 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 09 March 2012 - 21:56

very cool.. :rolleyes:

would be even more cooler if we could use it when the song was playing.. like this one:


http://forum.renoise...ng-from-marker/
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#3 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 09 March 2012 - 22:24

You can jump in the song while it is playing ^_^

Thanks for the link, I was not aware of this tool, so I built this one,
oh well :-)

Btw, just uploaded v1.0.1!
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#4 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 09 March 2012 - 23:04

Ah, I see what you mean. Jumping in the gui was possible, but not in the
pattern while playing. This has been fixed :-)
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#5 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 10 March 2012 - 07:27

awesome tool man!! please upload it to http://www.renoise.com/tools :-) :rolleyes:
  • aklt likes this
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#6 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 10 March 2012 - 08:02

Thanks, glad you like it! I don't think I can upload it
as an official tool unless it has been approved, though.
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#7 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 10 March 2012 - 08:58

Thanks, glad you like it! I don't think I can upload it
as an official tool unless it has been approved, though.


You can register as a tool-developer by login in, you don't need to be a top notch programmer, we just want to be sure that bots won't be able to submit stuff that we don't want to end up on those pages: http://www.renoise.com/tools/submit
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#8 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 10 March 2012 - 09:19

You can register as a tool-developer by login in,...


Ah, cool, will do that, thanks!
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#9 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 10 March 2012 - 21:09

Ok, I think I succeeded in uploading it to renoise.com/tools/marks
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#10 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 11 March 2012 - 18:30

Ok, I think I succeeded in uploading it to renoise.com/tools/marks


Great man!! great tool.. Are you planning to make more superb tools? :rolleyes:
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#11 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 11 March 2012 - 20:39

Thanks man, glad that someone can use this. I would like to be making some more music
And more tools definately if there is a good idea,... :-)
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#12 KMaki

KMaki

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Survival (e.g. breathing). Small scale renoise-tool-coding. The Melvins. Absurdity of it all. Zen / Not-zen. Wifey&Kids.

Posted 13 March 2012 - 12:33

This I like! Brings me one step closer to Vim in renoise! Good implementation too.

If you're into adding features to this, then maybe an extra bonus feature could be a possibility to open the gui in a more minimal form, not containing the complete list? I'm thinking something like a dedicated shortcut for this. The big gui can be somewhat distracting, if one only wants to quickly hop around in the song. Anyways - thanks for the tool!
Renoise (2.6->) 2.8 / Mac mini 2010 - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 Gb 1067 MHz DDR3 / OS X 10.8 / M-Audio Fast Track USB

#13 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 13 March 2012 - 20:04

Cool, Thanks for the heads up!

I was definitely inspired by vim on this one, yep :-)

Good idea with a more minimal gui, it is rather big as it is now, although
it gets out of the way quickly if autoclose is enabled. I looked into making
the gui appear at different coordinates and other ways to get it out of the way
but did not really come up with anything good.

Another option would be to make it very small, I'll try that.

I noticed your quest for vimifying renoise with vader, very nice! I did get
myself into a bit of trouble, though, (:
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#14 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 March 2012 - 01:57

What a great tool. Love it.Thanks!

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »


#15 .xrns

.xrns

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:21

very interesting tool :)

thanks for sharing!
-


#16 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:48

Hi!

Glad you like it!

I have been working on some improvements, but alas, the time,... I hope to release
an improved version in the weekend!
  • KMaki likes this
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#17 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:13

I have managed to update this tool and even though it is still a
bit rough I have released a new version.

It has been quite a while and the tool has changed significantly
but I think to the better. Let me know what you think!

Marks V1.05
  • Djeroek likes this
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#18 cyaoeu

cyaoeu

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 25 September 2013 - 15:47

Is it possible to use another key than numpad 1 to minimize the tool? The tool itself works great but I don't have a numpad. (laptop)
Thanks for the tool.

#19 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1361 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted 26 September 2013 - 10:08

Would it be possible to add a custom text to a mark? That would make it great for making notes in a song - i e "fix this transition" et c.
  • KMaki likes this

#20 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 17 October 2013 - 18:41

Hi, sorry for the delay.

Is it possible to use another key than numpad 1 to minimize the tool? The tool itself works great but I don't have a numpad. (laptop)
Thanks for the tool.


Good idea, I should make that possible. I'll put it on the TODO List!

Would it be possible to add a custom text to a mark? That would make it great for making notes in a song - i e "fix this transition" et c.


Hmm, that is an interesting idea. It is definately possile, but I
have to reorder some of the code to make that happen, but I think
I will add this option.

Also, I think it would be nice to make it possible to define
shortcuts to specific marks... Ah, the time! :-)
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#21 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 17 October 2013 - 22:54

@cyaoeu: Btw, the minus key also works to minimize once the tool is open!
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#22 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 11 August 2016 - 00:01

would be great to see this updated for 3.1
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#23 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 11 February 2017 - 02:10

That would be nice, I have a half finished rewrite lying around, just need to find some time...

 

Are you using it?

 

I think it might be possible to change the API version in the manifest file and then it works,

I will try and let you know if I find out, so there is a quicker way to get the current version working.

 

I hope to release my update of this within the next couple of weeks


Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#24 Circe

Circe

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Visual Basic 6.0 Music Programing
    Piano Chords

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:19

Yes, its usefull. ! I wait for it. ;-);-);-). Thanks.

#25 jachy

jachy

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jyväskylä, Finland

Posted 27 March 2017 - 14:46

I'm also waiting for this  :rolleyes: