Jump to content


Photo

New/old Tool (2.6-3.0): Find And Replace In Pattern


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 10 March 2012 - 11:29

An old tool which was on the Renoise tool pages since Renoise 2.6.
Never posted it here in the forums but have updated it for 2.8 now:


What:
A tool for finding & replacing raw pattern data (notes, instruments, fx, ...).
Has simple wildcard support and the ability to batch replace.

A few examples:
* Replace all notes of instrument X with instrument Y
* Set volume of all C-4 notes of instrument X to 20
* Change all D-5's to G-4's
* Find all ZB pattern break commands in the song
* Delete/change all 0Z tempo commands
... and so on

Shows up as 'Find And Replace...' in the Pattern Editor's context menu.


Download:
http://www.renoise.c...ind-and-replace
  • jiku, Djeroek, Frank Baumgartner and 3 others like this

#2 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 10 March 2012 - 12:04

very cool!
  • Djeroek and Frank Baumgartner like this

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#3 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 11 March 2012 - 16:04

I really, really love this tool and really, really, really hate the recurring "Script not responding" dialog which makes it unusable for me.

So I would request:
* Preferably a clickable "Don't show this warning again" box in the dialog
* If not, then a updated version of the Find and replace tool which will not
produce this message all the time.

I understand that there's more urgent priorities, but hope you will put this issue on the To Do list.

#4 aklt

aklt

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Drumming

Posted 11 March 2012 - 22:32

Really useful!
Cpu: Core I5 3.3GHz
Ram: 8GB
Os: Arch Linux
Tool: dk.bladre.Marks

#5 *Afreakana*

*Afreakana*

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Regensburg; Germany

Posted 30 March 2012 - 13:31

I really like this tool. But somehow i dont get it how the wildcards work within it.




What wildcards can be used and how? I didnt find any hints here or in the tools section on how to use them.

If i'm inserting a "C?" or a "C*" in the volume or the pano slot and a "QA" in the replacement slot i allways get an error message, telling me this wont work and nothing gets replaced.

Everything works fine when searching and replacing "C2" for "Q2" and so on. I've seen that an asterisk in the upper slots can be used to search and replace everything with values in the lower slots. But if i try to set a wildcard C* or C? in the above mentioned form i'm getting errors.

Anyone able to enlighten me please? :D




Greets, Afreakana




P.S.: I hope i could show my problem. English isnt my natural language as a german and i left school in '89. heh!

#6 *Afreakana*

*Afreakana*

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Regensburg; Germany

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:55

pushing this question a little bit. ;)

What wildcards can be used and how?






I'm still hoping someone will share this with me. Would be such a time safer for me while editing imported midi stuff which has lots of velocity/pano glitches like C6 or Q7 as velocity instead of 66 or 67 for example.







#7 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 18 April 2012 - 18:31

Sorry for the lag. Yay, right now only full notes/instrument values, fx and so on can be "wildcarded". Indeed would be very useful to find stuff like C-* too. I'll try to do this some when in an update.

Alternatively, if there are other things you guys would like to have in this tool, someone could take over the tool as well?

#8 *Afreakana*

*Afreakana*

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Regensburg; Germany

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:08

Yay, right now only full notes/instrument values, fx and so on can be "wildcarded". Indeed would be very useful to find stuff like C-* too. I'll try to do this some when in an update.

Alternatively, if there are other things you guys would like to have in this tool, someone could take over the tool as well?


Thank you for clearing that only full values can be "wildcarded". So i was falsly assuming it could allready be done with the actual version. Looking forward to a new version then when you got some time to work on it in the future.


Unfortunately i cant do this myself. I'm just a nurse (working in a clinic) with zero expirience in programming.








#9 Zenon

Zenon

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rome, Italy

Posted 13 June 2012 - 10:46

I find this tool really useful.

Thank you

lookin for xrns to mod / xm converter ?
Xrns2XMOD


#10 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 17 June 2012 - 01:55

awesome tool. i have a suggestion though: it seems it is currently not possible to find-and-replace a Note-Off (OFF). i'd like to do that. for example, to remove all the Note-Offs in a track.
  • Rpnz likes this

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#11 Frank Baumgartner

Frank Baumgartner

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Innsbruck, Austria
  • Interests:MUSIC ;-)

Posted 18 February 2014 - 18:27

Very cool, thanks a lot !!!

#12 Rpnz

Rpnz

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 June 2014 - 21:04

taktik or anyone else..

can you help me to replace note:OFF to: note:---

I would find it very usefull if i had the opportunity to delete all the "note offs" I put on by mistake..
  • Djeroek likes this
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#13 Rpnz

Rpnz

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 October 2014 - 21:02

little bump ;-)
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#14 krusher

krusher

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 March 2018 - 11:36

A must have for me! I hope it continues its development...