Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8): Pianolol Melody Editor


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 15:03

Hi there!

I've had this tiny idea of writing a simple visual way to edit melodies
in a piano roll'ish way:

Posted Image

So I wrote a tool today, I ripped the scalefinder scale code
and reused it in this tool. I hope thats alright with the
original author?

I haven't used it extensively yet, but for the brave here is a first
version: http://ue.o---o.eu/d...x.Pianolol.xrnx

You use it basically by selecting stuff in the pattern editor and then
go into the right-click context menu and select "Melody Editor...".

You can not set new note events in the melody editor, only edit the pitch
of existing notes. The basic workflow for melody creation I'm usually following
is that I first create some rhythm with a single note and then flesh out the
pitches on top of that rhytm. Here my tool comes in, and will maybe prove useful
- I hope :-)

Edit: The root note is yellow. The chromatic notes outside the scale are red,
and the notes inside the scale are green. If you have multiple notes inside a single
line in the pattern editor, each gets it's own line in the melody editor - visually
closer together. See the lines 1.00 and 2.00 in the melody editor, they contain the
notes from the line 00 in the pattern editor. Generally, the numbering scheme is: <column>.<pattern line number>.

Edited by elmex, 16 March 2012 - 12:40.

  • Conner_Bw, Djeroek, korsun and 1 other like this

#2 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 15 March 2012 - 15:19

Cool! :D

I ripped the scalefinder scale code
and reused it in this tool. I hope thats alright with the
original author?


credit him somewhere in the tool(code), if you haven't already?

#3 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 15:20

credit him somewhere in the tool(code), if you haven't already?


A right of course, I will!

#4 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 15 March 2012 - 16:37

Love the url.

ue.o---o.eu

Rock on.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#5 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 22:46

Just wanted to note, that I uploaded a newer version.
With some minor fixes and also added buttons for transposing the notes up/down.
While trying out the tool I had lots of fun, I think it is as good a
tool for composition as it is for live jamming and performing.

#6 flight

flight

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 01:36

thanks!

looks like a great workfow enhancer :]


#7 flight

flight

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 01:56

ok just played a bit with it, and well this is just awesome! very intuitive gui

some kinda indicator of current row would be sweet


#8 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:45

some kinda indicator of current row would be sweet


Yep, good idea. I added something that indicates the last played line in the melody editor. The new version will also update the melody editor now when you change something in the pattern editor.

#9 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:00

Does it matter that it looks far more a step sequencer than a piano roll?

Also why is D4 on 1.03 and not 2.03? It's in the second note column so would expect it to have the preface 2.

#10 .xrns

.xrns

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:28

seems like an interesting tool :)

i dragged and dropped it into renoise and managed to test it out

unfortunately, after quitting that renoise session, it fails to load in my x64 renoise 2.8 final again with a "scripting tool error" pop up when renoise loads:

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a nil object of type 'class RenoiseSong'.the object is not or no longer available.'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'song'
main.lua:294 in main chunk


-


#11 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:37

Also why is D4 on 1.03 and not 2.03? It's in the second note column so would expect it to have the preface 2.


Ah, you are right. The column number is not the right one. The new version I just uploaded fixes that.

That also fixes this bug:

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a nil object of type 'class RenoiseSong'.the object is not or no longer available.'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'song'
main.lua:294 in main chunk

Thanks all for reporting!

#12 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:44

Does it matter that it looks far more a step sequencer than a piano roll?


Yea, it's more like a step sequencer than a piano roll. Just that you can't add new notes.
For a more proper piano roll some nicer buttons would be great, but messing with the tool GUI API is a total pain,
and it would ultimately just look a bit better but not handle better if I would replace the buttons by some image-buttons.

#13 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 16 March 2012 - 14:37

That also fixes this bug:

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a nil object of type 'class RenoiseSong'.the object is not or no longer available.'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'song'
main.lua:294 in main chunk

Usually one gets this error if renoise.song() is attempted to be fetched while Renoise didn't had a new song ready. (if you start Renoise, tools are fired up earlier before a new song is initiated and thus renoise.song() isn't available)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#14 elmex

elmex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 15:34

Usually one gets this error if renoise.song() is attempted to be fetched while Renoise didn't had a new song ready. (if you start Renoise, tools are fired up earlier before a new song is initiated and thus renoise.song() isn't available)


Yea, that was exactly the problem. Now I fetch the song in the right place :)

#15 esp81

esp81

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 08:41

thank you for making this tool, it's very nice to speed up workflow.

#16 Tarek-FM

Tarek-FM

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid

Posted 19 April 2012 - 20:49

Not sure why, however, everything except the actual sequencer shows up when i load the melody editor.

The section to choose scale, (ie c and major etc) show up, as well as the options to refresh and transpose...however, the actual sequencer to input notes is amiss.
Cutting Edge Drum and Bass.....check out my new 175bpm beast: Angelitronhttp://soundcloud.com/tarek-fm/angelitron


(Not so)NEW!! Driving, heavy and cinematic metal: Soundcloud Metal Page

#17 esp81

esp81

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 10:29

Not sure why, however, everything except the actual sequencer shows up when i load the melody editor.

The section to choose scale, (ie c and major etc) show up, as well as the options to refresh and transpose...however, the actual sequencer to input notes is amiss.


You have to select the notes in the pattern editor you want it to work with.

Edited by esp81, 20 April 2012 - 10:29.


#18 amon

amon

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bulgaria
  • Interests:Music, pixel art, game development, photography,

Posted 23 March 2013 - 12:11

Very useful tool.
Thanks :)/>

#19 Bz Akira Santjago

Bz Akira Santjago

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2013 - 09:02

hi,

I have modified the tool Pianolol Melody Editor to create a version a bit different, a melody editor
similar to that of fruity loop or lmms, you can see it in this image :

Posted Image

you must select at least one note, then in the block you have selected, you can add/remove note and you can add OFF note...
in this tool, the piano roll is horizontal as you can see in the image...

if you are interested let me know..

Email me

bz

Snowcrash Project

"La presunzione che ciò che esiste debba necessariamente esistere, è l'acido corrosivo di ogni pensiero immaginativo"


#20 esp81

esp81

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 01:00

I'm very interested, could you please post a link to download?
  • Ledger, Djeroek and f+d+k like this

#21 Kyle

Kyle

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 03:54

Hi,
the tool doesn't show up in the list of tools.
I'm on Windows 8. Any ideas?

#22 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 04 January 2014 - 12:01

Hi,
the tool doesn't show up in the list of tools.
I'm on Windows 8. Any ideas?


Are you running the new beta? Tool might not be updated yet?

#23 Kyle

Kyle

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 19:45

Hi,
I recently installed the new beta, but I dropped the tool on the 2.81 version, and decided to keep using that until the final release of Renoise 3.0.

#24 Kyle

Kyle

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 04 January 2014 - 19:50

Sorry, sorry! I looked for the tool under the Tools drop down menu, didn't realise I should right click.
Sorry about that!

#25 frenetic_friend

frenetic_friend

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 12 May 2014 - 10:09

Thanks for the tool! Please update for Renoise 3.0...

edit: Nevermind, it automatically updated

Edited by frenetic_friend, 14 May 2014 - 15:36.