Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8-3.1): Padsynth


  • Please log in to reply
101 replies to this topic

#26 Garf

Garf

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 30 March 2012 - 10:02

Ït is very nice and it is indeed possible to create usable stuff with it, but yeah I suppose it must be hard to get through the wall of great free VSTi's :unsure:

#27 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:08

I love this tool, although I just tried it for 10 mins.

I'm on linux and almost never user any plugins, for various reasons. But this tool is perfect for me.

Thanks alot, will keep on testing :)

#28 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:24

this definitely replaces my PCM-based korg 03R/W's specific types of pads :)

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#29 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:59

Thanks, to know it's being used is a great motivation!

I'm on linux too, and it's true that finding good plugins can be problematic, especially now that everyone is moving to LV2, not (yet?) supported by Renoise. But I also really like the idea of self-contained song files, which do not depend on third party software. That's probably what I like the most in the tracker approach to sequencing.

I'll probably release a new version today, with the unison feature and the ability to layer PadSynth over existing samples (I still haven't figured an UI for this, though).

#30 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 31 March 2012 - 15:50

I've uploaded a new version on the tool page.

New features:
  • Unison, up to 8 voices, with detune and panning
  • Ability to use PadSynth over an existing instrument, to layer multiple types of sounds
  • Added some tooltips to explain the parameters
  • The fake sample containing the parameters is no longer at position 0
Note that for the unison mode, all voices use the same wavetable, but starting at different points. Also note that you'll have to adjust the volume manually in order to avoid clipping.

For the ability to layer PadSynth over other samples, I've choosed the simplest approach: if the selected slot is empty, then a new instrument is created, otherwise PadSynth is layered above the existing instrument. Hopefully this isn't too confusing.

#31 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 31 March 2012 - 18:02

great tool for keys, leads, pads.. really liking this man!

btw if you like building this sort of stuff, here's another piece of synth code just waiting for someone to pick up on it: http://sourceforge.n...rumsynth_2_0_0/

it's the old MDA DrumSynth open sourced :)

I attempted this but I can't get my head around Lua..


#32 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 31 March 2012 - 20:21

[quote name='drakmaniso' timestamp='1333184366' post='270603']But I also really like the idea of self-contained song files, which do not depend on third party software. That's probably what I like the most in the tracker approach to sequencing.

Agreed!

#33 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 April 2012 - 01:32

Hardstyle and trance leads on tap and a whole lot more.

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

Right now I'm using Exciter to cover additional harmonics, as playing notes below C4 seems to lose the higher harmonics (even when generating specific samples for those). The sound dirties a little bit, but it's better than losing HF detail for notes below C4.

If anyone else finds this a problem, perhaps:
  • Add more harmonics sliders?
  • Extrapolate the 64 existing harmonics to produce additional ones as required to (re)cover the high-end. (I'm thinking an inverse-FFT on an FFT of the slider values.)
*Bloody* brilliant piece of work though. Quality easily rivals a lot of VSTi's out there and offers portability and native-sample-manipulation advantages (obviously at the cost of automating synthesis parameters). SO quick to use.
soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#34 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 01 April 2012 - 07:36

Note that for the unison mode, all voices use the same wavetable, but starting at different points. Also note that you'll have to adjust the volume manually in order to avoid clipping.


hi. i hope that it will be possible to divide the volume when in unison mode, directly in padsynth, to evade clipping. do you think that could be done?

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#35 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 01 April 2012 - 09:11

Right now I'm using Exciter to cover additional harmonics, as playing notes below C4 seems to lose the higher harmonics (even when generating specific samples for those). The sound dirties a little bit, but it's better than losing HF detail for notes below C4.

Yes, I was thinking about adding more harmonics, probably up to 256 with a system of pages in the interface. Also I've added a "base function" similar (but more restricted) to what's in ZynAddSubFX, which will help programming sound with lots of harmonics without having to move too many sliders. Btw, I'm glad you like the tool!

hi. i hope that it will be possible to divide the volume when in unison mode, directly in padsynth, to evade clipping. do you think that could be done?

It's already possible to divide the volume before sample generation (the leftmost rotary encoder), and I plan to make this setting realtime, so that it's possible to make adjustment after sample generation. I would have liked to automatically divide the level when the unison is in use, but I can't figure the correct formula, especially when there is panning.

it's the old MDA DrumSynth open sourced

A drum synth sounds cool, but I don't think I'm able to understand its synthesis method just from reading code, I don't have enough audio programming knowledge for that. Also, there's another synth idea I'm toying with at the moment...

#36 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 01 April 2012 - 10:46

can we have a set of "- Triangle", "- Square", "- Sawtooth" buttons?
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#37 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 01 April 2012 - 10:47

could we make clicking-of-test-note-button render the current sound?
took me a while to realize.. first click on test-note.. then click on render.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#38 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 01 April 2012 - 12:09

can we have a set of "- Triangle", "- Square", "- Sawtooth" buttons?

That's a good idea! This make some interesting combinations.

could we make clicking-of-test-note-button render the current sound?

Not with the current GUI layout. If that's too confusing, I could add a new section just for the test note, with its own "Generate" button.

#39 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 01 April 2012 - 12:11

could we have a way of "more triangle" "more saw" "more square" kind of like "take current waveform, +Saw it" or something? not sure if it's possible.
maybe the testnote could be right next to the generate whole sound? not sure.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#40 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 01 April 2012 - 12:22

A drum synth sounds cool, but I don't think I'm able to understand its synthesis method just from reading code, I don't have enough audio programming knowledge for that. Also, there's another synth idea I'm toying with at the moment...


alright yeah the sound engine is a little bit peculiar.. there's a GUI in that archive and you should be able to run it with wine, but you need VB runtimes for it.

I should try and hack something together....

what type of synth are you toying with?


#41 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 01 April 2012 - 12:44

maybe the testnote could be right next to the generate whole sound? not sure.

That's the solution I initially implemented, turns out it's really annoying: I was constantly hitting the wrong button. Also, I needed some place to configure which test note should be generated. So if I change the current method, I'll have to add a new section beside "Sample Format", if there is enough place.

I'm not sure if I understand you correctly about the "more saw" feature, but I've added a "base function" feature that might correspond to that.

what type of synth are you toying with?

At the moment It's more an idea that I wanted to test, something that generates sequences of basic waveforms, e.g. a saw that morphs into a pulse, then into a sine, and so on. With different sequences for several voices. Not sure if anything usable will come out of it.

As for DrumSynth, I'll reboot into windows ans see if I can figure something out of the interface, but if you're willing to code I can only encourage you! Lua can be a bit offsetting at first, but it's a really elegant language, and with a little experience you can achieve things really easily with it.

#42 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 01 April 2012 - 21:48

I have Programming in Lua 5 bookmarked here.. more a lack of motivation really, OOP is a bit of a mystery to me still.


#43 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 02 April 2012 - 00:06

one suggestion: it would be nice if I could lower the resolution, so previewing what I'm doing can be a little faster.. especially nice for tuning the placement stuff.


#44 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 02 April 2012 - 09:08

You mean choosing a lower sample rate for the test note? It would have to be configurable then, because below 44100 Hz there is a noticeable change in the sound. I guess I'll add a whole section dedicated to the test note.

#45 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 02 April 2012 - 09:29

Ah that's also a possibility but I meant lowering the amount of harmonics.


#46 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 02 April 2012 - 09:51

In the next version there's an optimization where harmonics set to 0 won't be generated, this should speed up things in some cases. But changing the number of harmonics between full generation and test note would change the sound too much, and would defeat the test purpose, imho.

Edit: you will also be able to further shorten the test sample duration, which will speed things a lot.

Edited by drakmaniso, 02 April 2012 - 10:01.


#47 zeitgeber

zeitgeber

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Posted 02 April 2012 - 10:30

ah alright fair enough, actually the way you are planning it sounds good to me :)


#48 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 02 April 2012 - 10:31

i was hoping there would be some miniature mode which would allow one to maybe halve the harmonic sliders vertical length, since it does take a lot of screen estate at least in my resolutions

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#49 drakmaniso

drakmaniso

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 02 April 2012 - 14:00

I've uploaded a new version on the tool page.

New features / improvements:
  • Up to 256 harmonics (which is probably a bit overkill).
  • Possibility to use a "base function", in order to easily produce sounds with rich harmonics, without having to move too many sliders.
  • More ways to automatically alter the harmonic profile: added "- Saw" "- Square"... buttons, and a "Modify" section to add, sub, multiply and divide the current profile.
  • The volume, attack and NNA settings are now realtime, so it's possible to make adjustements after sample generation.
  • The "Test Note" now has its own section.
I've bumped the version to 1.0, as all the features I initially planned are there. As always, suggestions for improvement / new ideas are always welcome.

i was hoping there would be some miniature mode which would allow one to maybe halve the harmonic sliders vertical length, since it does take a lot of screen estate at least in my resolutions

Unfortunately it's not just the sliders, the other parameters take a lot of space too. I would have to replace the rotary encoders with sliders, remove the displayed values and I'm not sure this would be really usable.
  • Djeroek likes this

#50 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 02 April 2012 - 14:18

Nice! Testing :yeah: