Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8): Selected Tracks To Group


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 May 2012 - 20:46

this is v0.1. select tracks by making a selection in the pattern editor (NOT pattern matrix, didn't find how to find the selection there)
then press hotkey. I chose ctrl+alt+g

going to update it later, so that if there's no selection it will just group the current track, so it can be a simple replacement for the ctrl+g shortcut

Let me know if this works (or not)
Attached File  nl.jeweett.GroupSelectedTracks_Rns280_V0.1.xrnx   1.59KB   190 downloads
  • Ledger and Djeroek like this

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#2 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 08 May 2012 - 22:49

Thanks, will try!

#3 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 08 May 2012 - 23:53

hah, lovely idea (selection in pattern editor). i was trying to make one that would group tracks according to a name. this selection idea is much cooler! cheers.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#4 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 09 May 2012 - 10:44

awesome tool, thanks! ^_^
bla

#5 martyfmelb

martyfmelb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 May 2012 - 13:37

That's bitchin', that's how it should have worked from the start. It's now my Ctrl+G replacement.
soundcloud : traxinspace
os win7 / directx11 skin aero default mobo asus m4a 89td pro / usb3 cpu amd phenom ii x6 1055T @ 2.8ghz + mem 8gb 1333mhz ... I think
video ati radeon hd 6900 under catalyst sound onboard realtek under asio4all, audiobox usb
storage local seagate sata 250gb as c:\ external seagate ide 1tb as l:\
utils 7 taskbar tweaker, hoekey hotkey manager, launchy, strokeit mouse gestures, nexus dockbar, winsplit revolution window organiser

#6 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 10 May 2012 - 13:39

three cheers for this, just tried it, it works awesome. i wish this was native. seriously.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#7 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 10 May 2012 - 17:55

Great tool.

i wish this was native. seriously.

+1

Edited by Drop Shadow, 10 May 2012 - 17:55.


#8 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 10 May 2012 - 22:02

Obviously stupid user behavior :) , but selecting a bunch of tracks including master & sends gives:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.8.0\Scripts\Tools\nl.jeweett.GroupSelectedTracks.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its key binding functions.

Please contact the author (Cas | Cas Marrav | casmarrav@gmail.com) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'invalid track index '11'. valid values are (1 to 9).'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'insert_group_at'
main.lua:42: in function <main.lua:37>


By the way, I'm using this tool in combination with the 'split into separate tracks' script ( http://www.renoise.c...separate-tracks -> works in 2.8 if you update the api version to 3.0 in the manifest yourself). And would love if I could split a track into a group, ideally have the dsp/vst-effects be copied to the group channel.

Could you create a variation of your tool that collects all the used dsp/vst's from the different tracks on to the 'master' group channel, ideally keeping automation in tact??

#9 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1863 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 May 2012 - 08:48

Cas,

I was working on this but with selection made in PM. I forgot about it, however. Will you add that too in this tool, or may I?

Iirc you just have to iterate slots (patterntracks) and look for is_selected. And bite your lip when thinking about how to keep track of shuffled track numbers.

#10 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2012 - 17:24

awesome tool, thanks! ^_^

That's bitchin', that's how it should have worked from the start. It's now my Ctrl+G replacement.

three cheers for this, just tried it, it works awesome. i wish this was native. seriously.

Great tool.

Thanks to all of you :D "this should be native" is the best comment a (tool) developer can get!

Obviously stupid user behavior :) , but selecting a bunch of tracks including master & sends gives:

Yep, thanks, I might look into this soonish, also I think if you select other groups with subgroups it might go awry..

By the way, I'm using this tool in combination with the 'split into separate tracks' script ( http://www.renoise.c...separate-tracks -> works in 2.8 if you update the api version to 3.0 in the manifest yourself). And would love if I could split a track into a group, ideally have the dsp/vst-effects be copied to the group channel.

Could you create a variation of your tool that collects all the used dsp/vst's from the different tracks on to the 'master' group channel, ideally keeping automation in tact??

No.
(also: you do realize that having different fx on different tracks is actually the power of having different tracks, right?? or maybe i just totally misunderstood your request.)

Cas,

I was working on this but with selection made in PM. I forgot about it, however. Will you add that too in this tool, or may I?

Iirc you just have to iterate slots (patterntracks) and look for is_selected. And bite your lip when thinking about how to keep track of shuffled track numbers.

I think that is a nice challenge :D, to be honest though I thought what I did here was already a tool, released by somebody else, but I couldn't find it.
Anyway I'm guessing this kind of grouping (either via selection in PE or in PM) is going to be built-in in next version. But let me get at this, it's probably finished by tomorrow again or sth.

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#11 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 11 May 2012 - 17:49

No.
... or maybe i just totally misunderstood your request.)


yes, you misunderstood, won't try to explain as it is probably too user specific in workflow anyway. I can manage using a workaround. Cheers

#12 pat

pat

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 October 2013 - 06:11

Neat :) is there a quick way to ungroup tracks? I know about "delete group" but that deletes all the grouped tracks as well. I have a group and I want to move all the tracks out of the group...from what I can tell I have to move them one by one. Is there a faster way to do it?

#13 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 October 2013 - 12:23

Thanks for this tool, very useful!

Neat Posted Image is there a quick way to ungroup tracks? I know about "delete group" but that deletes all the grouped tracks as well. I have a group and I want to move all the tracks out of the group...from what I can tell I have to move them one by one. Is there a faster way to do it?


You can delete the group track on it`s own by selecting it and using the right-click menu entry "Delete Track" or the equivalent keyboard shortcut `Ctrl Shift T`

If you need to keep the group track to preserve the fx chain, you can duplicate it first `Ctrl D` then delete the original one.
  • Cas likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#14 pat

pat

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 October 2013 - 18:47

ah brilliant! thank you

#15 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 21 February 2015 - 12:29

This bug will probably never happen with normal use :P , but out of boredom was making random selections and hitting the group tracks shortcut from this script and got;

 

 

C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.0.1\Scripts\Tools\nl.jeweett.GroupSelectedTracks.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its key binding functions.

 
Please contact the author (Cas | Cas Marrav | casmarrav@gmail.com) for assistance...
 
std::logic_error: 'invalid track index '26'. valid values are (1 to 24).'
stack traceback:
  [C]: in function 'insert_group_at'
  main.lua:42: in function <main.lua:37>


#16 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 September 2018 - 01:26

Updated this tool so that it should deal correctly with sub-groups that are already present + fixed the bug Djeroek mentioned:  

 

renoise 3.1.1

 

-0.2

-Fixed issue when subgroups were selected, they would be dismantled by the tool.

-If there is no selection in the pattern, tool will now default to adding a group at the (cursor) selected track

-Fixed bug where if selection is made on master track or beyond, the tool would fire an error

 

DELETED DUE TO LUA API BUG DISCUSSED IN NEXT POST

 

related API bug that needed working around:

 

http://forum.renoise...ug-swap-tracks/


Edited by Ledger, 18 September 2018 - 14:15.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#17 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 September 2018 - 01:44

0.2 Deleted due to another API bug linked below.  I will try a fix that to limit the tool from running into this bug.  In the meantime if you downloaded 0.2, I`d suggest deleting it until the new fix is out as you can run into renoise errors from making more than six-level-deep nested groups.
 
http://forum.renoise...eyond-6-levels/


Edited by Ledger, 18 September 2018 - 12:56.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#18 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 September 2018 - 21:27

Ok, think I`ve got this sorted now.  You can no longer create groups that nest beyond the renoise limit of 6 (5 parent groups)

Tool is a bit slower due to extra checks that need to be done, but should work.  Should be possible to make it quicker in the future once API bugs get sorted.

 

Let me know if there are any problems

 

Attached File  nl.jeweett.GroupSelectedTracks_V0.21.xrnx   3.78KB   14 downloads


Edited by Ledger, 06 October 2018 - 01:57.

  • xerxes likes this

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites