Jump to content


Photo

[Fixed 2.8.1] Delete Unused Instruments May Delete Aliased Vst Instrum


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1 reply to this topic

#1 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 31 May 2012 - 00:37

1. Set up a VST instrument in slot 00 in an empty song
2. Set up the VST alias in slot 01
3. Enter a note in the pattern editor with instrument 01
4. Click "Delete Unused Instruments"

Result: Both instruments are deleted.
What I think it should be: Neither instrument are deleted (because it's all or nothing in this case).

But why set up the VST instrument in slot 00 when you don't use it, Mr. Drop Shadow??? It's a fair question. Let's just say I have my reasons.
And as the Deleted Unused Instruments operation is especially useful when the user has lost track of which instruments are in use and which not, likewise we can't expect the user to know if the main VST instrument is not used while it's aliases are.

And I think the general principle should be that in all circumstances a given song will sound exactly the same after performing a Delete Unused Tracks/instruments/patterns operation. That's what the average user expects (I suspect).

Edited by Drop Shadow, 31 May 2012 - 14:36.


#2 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 31 May 2012 - 12:27

Yay, no need to argue. Thanks for reporting. Fixed for the next update.