Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8, 3.0): Renoise Freesound Integration


  • Please log in to reply
131 replies to this topic

#1 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 02 June 2012 - 21:22

Hell-o.

Over a weekend after being tired of downloading samples from http://freesound.org i decided to create a tool for downloading samples directly to renoise.

I would be greatful if anyone can test it on windows or macosx as I am linux user. On two different computers everything seems to be working but who knows.

How is this working?
You open a freesound browser, type name and/or tag, define list ordering and click search.
On the list that will appear every sample has an icon. Clicking on it starts fetching sample and replaces current selected instrument with it.
I would like to add sample preview ability but dont see any posibility for it, maybe someone has a suggestion? I was thinking about putting it to sample editor and triggering play function but I cannot find proper way to do it in docs yet.

knowed issues:
- you need to create $DOWNLOAD_FOLDER/Renoise directory by yourself ($USER\Download\Renoise on windows $HOME/Downloads/Renoise on linux) - (not easy to fix, I just forgot about it)
- no error handling for http library (only for track donwloading)

Future plans:
- fixs fixs fixs
- preview!
- advanced search
- better interface

https://github.com/o....Freesound.xrnx

Edited by 29a, 02 June 2012 - 21:23.

  • jiku, Conner_Bw, Djeroek and 7 others like this

#2 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 02 June 2012 - 23:02

Hell-o.

Over a weekend after being tired of downloading samples from http://freesound.org i decided to create a tool for downloading samples directly to renoise.

I would be greatful if anyone can test it on windows or macosx as I am linux user. On two different computers everything seems to be working but who knows.

How is this working?
You open a freesound browser, type name and/or tag, define list ordering and click search.
On the list that will appear every sample has an icon. Clicking on it starts fetching sample and replaces current selected instrument with it.
I would like to add sample preview ability but dont see any posibility for it, maybe someone has a suggestion? I was thinking about putting it to sample editor and triggering play function but I cannot find proper way to do it in docs yet.

knowed issues:
- you need to create $DOWNLOAD_FOLDER/Renoise directory by yourself ($USER\Download\Renoise on windows $HOME/Downloads/Renoise on linux) - (not easy to fix, I just forgot about it)


What is not easy to fix about that?
[lua]

function check_folder_existence(folder_path)
local root_folders = os.dirnames(folder_path)
local renoise_folder_present = false
local PATH_SEPARATOR = "/'

if (os.platform() == "WINDOWS") then
PATH_SEPARATOR = "\\"
end
for _ = 1, #root_folders do
if root_folders[_] == "Renoise" then
renoise_folder_present = true
break
end
end

if renoise_folder_present == false then
os.mkdir(folder_path..PATH_SEPARATOR.."Renoise")
end
end

[/lua]

Without the existing folder, the tool indeed seems to fire errors. When the folder exists, i don't get results, regardless what kind of searchphrase i enter. (Simple words like kick and snare don't bring up anything).
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#3 A220

A220

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Jersey

Posted 03 June 2012 - 02:02

I think freesound integration (inteGREATion he he he^-^) is a wonderful idea and the thought of it gives my the comfortable realization that it's an idea that I'm excited about. At this point I'm going to type about my owwn personal experience with music making..every once in a while-it seems cyclical-I get a hankering to make the most striking ambient music my ears have heard. One of my approaches is to go on freesound and find some long and interesting field recordings to add exotic subtleties into the mix. I understand the hard-working naysayers say "That is cheap! You should go out and do field recording yourself!" They never really said this to me, but I imagine they will. Anyway, that is what freesound is for! People share their recordings and seem happy when you contact them to tell them their little piece of recording found a home in your epic ambient piece. Maybe one day I will go on amazon and get a nice 100 150 dollar (I'm still american so i have to pay with dollars) field recorder and try it myself, when I do Im sure Ill share them on freesound to even out my karma a bit.

#4 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 03 June 2012 - 08:59

What is not easy to fix about that?
[lua]

function check_folder_existence(folder_path)
local root_folders = os.dirnames(folder_path)
local renoise_folder_present = false
local PATH_SEPARATOR = "/'

if (os.platform() == "WINDOWS") then
PATH_SEPARATOR = "\\"
end
for _ = 1, #root_folders do
if root_folders[_] == "Renoise" then
renoise_folder_present = true
break
end
end

if renoise_folder_present == false then
os.mkdir(folder_path..PATH_SEPARATOR.."Renoise")
end
end

[/lua]

Without the existing folder, the tool indeed seems to fire errors. When the folder exists, i don't get results, regardless what kind of searchphrase i enter. (Simple words like kick and snare don't bring up anything).

it was late when i was writing post, i wanna write it is easy to fix.

You are using windows? Ill try to start up virtualbox machine and check whats wrong there.
thanks for fix anyway

edit:

I used gf laptop and runned it on Windows 7 x64. Found one error caused by wrong filename but everything seems to be working.
I guess your @vV problem of not getting any results could be caused by freesound.org server (i will try to add some error handling for that request ASAP)

in few minutes ill upload version 0.3:
- now creates folder on any os (thanks to vV suggestion)
- until some request.lua issues is solved includes fixed version of request.lua for windows compatibility

Edited by 29a, 03 June 2012 - 10:31.


#5 KMaki

KMaki

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Survival (e.g. breathing). Small scale renoise-tool-coding. The Melvins. Absurdity of it all. Zen / Not-zen. Wifey&Kids.

Posted 03 June 2012 - 10:53

Just tested it on mac. Seems to work fine for me after i corrected a typo(?) on line 153.

From:
151     if not checked_dir then
152         os.mkdir(_get_default_download_folder())
153         checked_dir = True
154      end

Into:
151     if not checked_dir then
152         os.mkdir(_get_default_download_folder())
153         checked_dir = true
154      end



EDIT: Forgot to add that this is a great idea. XRNX domination!

Edited by KMaki, 03 June 2012 - 10:54.

Renoise (2.6->) 2.8 / Mac mini 2010 - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 Gb 1067 MHz DDR3 / OS X 10.8 / M-Audio Fast Track USB

#6 KMaki

KMaki

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Survival (e.g. breathing). Small scale renoise-tool-coding. The Melvins. Absurdity of it all. Zen / Not-zen. Wifey&Kids.

Posted 03 June 2012 - 11:06

Now I'm definitely not fully grasping this type of development, but to me it seems there is a way to fetch the previews from freesound.
In the Freesound API there's a section on "Sound Resource". And a list. And one property is "waveform_m", which by description contains the preview in png-format. Would this be helpful?

EDIT: Yeah. Excuse me for being thick. Now I realize you want an AUDIO preview. I was thinking a visual preview. Sorry. :)

Edited by KMaki, 03 June 2012 - 11:28.

Renoise (2.6->) 2.8 / Mac mini 2010 - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 Gb 1067 MHz DDR3 / OS X 10.8 / M-Audio Fast Track USB

#7 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 03 June 2012 - 11:28

Now I'm definitely not fully grasping this type of development, but to me it seems there is a way to fetch the previews from freesound.
In the Freesound API there's a section on "Sound Resource". And a list. And one property is "waveform_m", which by description contains the preview in png-format. Would this be helpful?

Yeah, i seen it - even tried to fetch it and show it but for image to be readable i should change the samples per pages parameter and show about ~10 samples on one page.
Ill try to dig into it ;) and maybe just adding an option for it.
typo is already fixed in 0.3


Ahh - preview - thats not what i meant. I wanted to be able to play a sample by clicking on a button, and than playing ogg preview sample, but still - adding waveform is an good idea.

#8 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2012 - 16:22

This is a promising tool, I think I'm gonna like it
are you thinking about upload functionality too?

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#9 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 03 June 2012 - 17:00

This is a promising tool, I think I'm gonna like it
are you thinking about upload functionality too?

Currently, the API is read only. We might add features for uploading sounds in the future.

So not until API supports such functionality. For now it could use curl (ive seen some lua-curl library on web) but providing a precompiled libarary for all 3 os x 2 archs is beyond my free-time possibilities ;).

#10 mightybomb

mightybomb

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 June 2012 - 00:00

this is the best thing i've seen since the inventio of crispbread.
i would like to try it, can it work on a mac running 2.8?
what do i have to do to instal it?

TRACKING ON THE ATARI ST AND RENOISE SINCE???


#11 KMaki

KMaki

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Survival (e.g. breathing). Small scale renoise-tool-coding. The Melvins. Absurdity of it all. Zen / Not-zen. Wifey&Kids.

Posted 23 June 2012 - 00:26

this is the best thing i've seen since the inventio of crispbread.
i would like to try it, can it work on a mac running 2.8?
what do i have to do to instal it?

It truly is a beauty. To install you just download the xrnx an drag it on your renoise window.

Edited by KMaki, 23 June 2012 - 00:27.

Renoise (2.6->) 2.8 / Mac mini 2010 - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 Gb 1067 MHz DDR3 / OS X 10.8 / M-Audio Fast Track USB

#12 Dunks

Dunks

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 June 2012 - 11:20

It truly is a beauty. To install you just download the xrnx an drag it on your renoise window.


If you download the zip and extract it you have to put it in you scripts folder and rename it. I cant find an xrnx that could just be dragged.

This is truly a great tool, thanks.

Edited by Dunks, 23 June 2012 - 12:15.


#13 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 23 June 2012 - 13:10

If you download the zip and extract it you have to put it in you scripts folder and rename it. I cant find an xrnx that could just be dragged.


If it adds .zip extension, simply remove it then drag the .xrnx file onto Renoise.
Only for Linux, this does not seem to be working so there you have to rename it to zip or at least unzip it and copy it to the folder inside the scripts folder, carrying the same name as the xrnx file..
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#14 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 23 June 2012 - 13:14

I'm too lazy and need a quick dl'able link.

Thank you B)
  • phuture likes this

#15 Morpion

Morpion

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 June 2012 - 14:35

This is brilliant. Adding a preview function is the only thing I can think of to make it more or less perect for the job.

I had a random crash though; not sure how it happened as I'd left my computer for a minute and when I came back it was showing this message:

'/Users/martin/Library/Preferences/Renoise/V2.8.0/Scripts/Tools/com.renoise.Freesound.xrnx/main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.
The notifier will be disabled to prevent further errors.

Please contact the author (Mateusz Ratajski [occulkot@gmail.com]) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'trying to close an already closed dialog. the object is no longer available.'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'close'
main.lua:141: in function 'success'
./request.lua:1286: in function '_do_callback'
./request.lua:925: in function '_read_content'
./request.lua:121: in function <./request.lua:75>


It might have happened because I had cancelled a download of a .wav a couple of minutes earlier. I realised after clicking the download button that the file was about 3 minutes long and I didn't want it. I then downloaded another shorter file which worked fine, then went in the kitchen, came back, and the error was there.


@Morpion_IDM

Click link for my album Headcleaner : FREE DOWNLOAD from IDMf netlabel.

#16 neopan

neopan

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 14:43

this tool is awesome! seems to work fine here on osx 10.6.8

edit: it crashes sometimes and i get errors with big files

Edited by neopan, 02 July 2012 - 14:46.


#17 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 15 July 2012 - 21:04

This is brilliant. Adding a preview function is the only thing I can think of to make it more or less perect for the job.

I had a random crash though; not sure how it happened as I'd left my computer for a minute and when I came back it was showing this message:



It might have happened because I had cancelled a download of a .wav a couple of minutes earlier. I realised after clicking the download button that the file was about 3 minutes long and I didn't want it. I then downloaded another shorter file which worked fine, then went in the kitchen, came back, and the error was there.

noted, ill try to work on fix but dont have much time now, ill try to put new version in the begining of august.
thx for support.

#18 oootini

oootini

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland

Posted 15 July 2012 - 21:13

BRILLO! i love using freesound samples in my songs (e.g., a song of mine on osundcloud) will use this for sure. ta!

#19 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 22 December 2012 - 20:57

Great tool, thanks!

#20 hotelsinus

hotelsinus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:Sound Design music Sound Creatin and how they born.

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:01

i cant find this plugin, i just dl the zip rename to xrnx and install.
it is insert whitenoise to the 00 sample.

but no window, no download window etc..., no tool installed!!!
where can i find the tool?
it is do nothing for me.
winXP , renoise 2.8.1

#21 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 January 2013 - 15:59

I really hope a forthcoming renoise version gets prehear options in the api :)

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#22 ost jurgur

ost jurgur

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:do and hear music,read ,

Posted 10 January 2013 - 20:42

it's really amazing i will try this :w00t:

#23 mogue

mogue

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:23

For the audio preview you could use a console based audio player.

On OS X you can run:
os.execute('afplay filepath.wav &')

EDIT:
Adding the & sign at the end of the command prevents afplay from halting the renoise main thread.

Edited by mogue, 24 January 2013 - 09:14.


#24 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 27 August 2013 - 08:18

I live! Again!

For the audio preview you could use a console based audio player.

On OS X you can run:

os.execute('afplay filepath.wav &')

EDIT:
Adding the & sign at the end of the command prevents afplay from halting the renoise main thread.

thats briliant idea, but i dont want to guess what program users have installed on their system, especialy i dont know what command line player is available on windows, so i will just add options to configuration to configure executable for preview.

Ive worked a little on this tool yestreday, and ill upload new version including waveform preview today to git.
Problem is im using table layout so waveform is realy low (height).
New version has will also have ability to store downloaded samples in configurable directory.

#25 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 27 August 2013 - 17:49

I live! Again!


thats briliant idea, but i dont want to guess what program users have installed on their system,


You don't have to...
local file_url = 'file://myfile.wav'
renoise.app():open_url(file_url)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual