Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8, 3.0): Renoise Freesound Integration


  • Please log in to reply
131 replies to this topic

#26 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 27 August 2013 - 18:51

You don't have to...
local file_url = 'file://myfile.wav'
renoise.app():open_url(file_url)

hmmm, i checked it now, but it happens to open default audio editor - ocenaudio in my case.
this is an option but for fast preview bunch of samples using cli player will be better option

Edited by 29a, 27 August 2013 - 19:48.

  • maes and mogue like this

#27 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 27 August 2013 - 19:47

Ok, so version 0.4 is published, any feedback is welcome.
I didnt make ability to select folder for saving downloaded samples, but every other thing seems to work (under linux ;)/>/>).
I would welcome any feedback.
As sugested by vV by default tool will use default app provided by renoise.app():open_file() for previewg samples, but you can configure your own by changing configuration. I use mplayer, other may like mpg123 - your choice.

source is available at https://github.com/o....Freesound.xrnx

Attached Images

  • freesound.png

Attached Files


Edited by 29a, 27 August 2013 - 19:49.

  • Conner_Bw, Djeroek, afta8 and 2 others like this

#28 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 August 2013 - 21:34

When i click on download, it tells "downloading .... please wait" but doesnt download anything and writes out error: .
main.lua:76: variable 'final_name' is not declared.........

Edited by Akiz, 27 August 2013 - 21:41.


#29 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 August 2013 - 21:41

Othervise it looks like a great tool, playing samples through vlc works though...

#30 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 28 August 2013 - 06:43

Othervise it looks like a great tool, playing samples through vlc works though...

hmm - weird but i was pretty sure i pushed version with this error fixed ;) - try that one

Attached Files


Edited by 29a, 28 August 2013 - 06:43.

  • afta8 likes this

#31 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 August 2013 - 14:21

Still doesnt work. Can play sample but when i click on download it in case 1) doesnt do anything, it stucks downloading 2) writes out that this sample can not be imported 3) writes out new error (cant replicate now, sorry, so no details) and then preview or searching doesnt work.

#32 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 28 August 2013 - 14:50

Still doesnt work. Can play sample but when i click on download it in case 1) doesnt do anything, it stucks downloading 2) writes out that this sample can not be imported 3) writes out new error (cant replicate now, sorry, so no details) and then preview or searching doesnt work.

hmmm, what os do you use?
i tested it on linux, friend is using windows, everything seems to work fine

i found out that samples wont play if you are redownloading them, without closing renoise - because of " (1)" in filename, but ill check if its possible to easly fix it

#33 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 August 2013 - 19:07

up-date manjaro 64-bit linux (it is based on arch linux).

#34 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 28 August 2013 - 20:08

up-date manjaro 64-bit linux (it is based on arch linux).

by default renoise stores files in /tmp/Renoise-$PID/ - so you can check if there are any .wav or .aif files, but ill try to work on logs tommorow and maybe we will find out problem ;)

#35 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 28 August 2013 - 23:42

wow, first version didn't work here last time I checked, now it does :drummer: , nice.

#36 KMaki

KMaki

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Survival (e.g. breathing). Small scale renoise-tool-coding. The Melvins. Absurdity of it all. Zen / Not-zen. Wifey&Kids.

Posted 29 August 2013 - 15:40

Holy krap, got to test this asap. The freesound integration is one of my most used tools for renoise. I don't have a large sample collection, and I like working with stuff on the fly, just casually. So this has been just perfect.
I've made some mods on the previous version that deal with file naming. I recall I made it more specific, like adding the sample number and author and stuff like that.

Edited by KMaki, 29 August 2013 - 15:48.

Renoise (2.6->) 2.8 / Mac mini 2010 - 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 Gb 1067 MHz DDR3 / OS X 10.8 / M-Audio Fast Track USB

#37 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 29 August 2013 - 18:30

KMaki - good to hear that this script is useful for someone, if you want just send me code of your changes to occulkot<at>gmail.com, i could add them together with loging system and saving samples to specified directory.

Also I would welcome any suggestions about list. I have no idea how to display sample name and author ;)
Currenty used "grid" layout is IMO more useful than table - as for me while searching for specific sound i like to know how they "look", also i dont care about the name that much.
I tried to put $name ..' by '.. author into "tooltip" but it doesnt display, at least not under my renoise, maybe it would be good option to create some kind of status bar and displaying this on mouse over? need to check if its available by renoise.API

#38 Vigner

Vigner

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 31 August 2013 - 22:16

Hi!!
I cannot pre-listen the samples on a Mac!
I do i configure an app so that i can pre-listen them?

Ah, really great tool!!
Thnx

#39 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 01 September 2013 - 11:09

Hi!!
I cannot pre-listen the samples on a Mac!
I do i configure an app so that i can pre-listen them?

Ah, really great tool!!
Thnx

hmm - in menu there is "settings" section. You need to point it to some command line player - someone above suggested program like "afplay", so it perhaps will be something like /usr/bin/afplay - i dont know what is directory structure in mac ;)

#40 Vigner

Vigner

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 15:38

Ah OK!!
Thnx for replying!!

#41 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 05 September 2013 - 12:20

Thanks for this, it is awesome! The GUI is great and makes it much easier to use. The only thing missing for me is the ability to preview the sounds in Renoise but I'm not sure if the API allows for that.

Anyway thanks for sharing :)

#42 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 September 2013 - 17:21

I am back again. I ve found that everything is downloading (if it downloads) into /home/akiz/freesound, but according to your manual it shouldnt..

#43 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 09 September 2013 - 08:55

I am back again. I ve found that everything is downloading (if it downloads) into /home/akiz/freesound, but according to your manual it shouldnt..

ill upload new version today, which alows to select download directory.
Buh this is realy weird - without download dir configured it should fetch file into /tmp/renoise-$pid direcory.
  • Akiz likes this

#44 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 18 September 2013 - 08:40

Hi

I just grabbed the latest version, looking really great with the previews, nice!

However when I click download (the little arrow down next to play) I get an error: "Sample import failed with the error: 'The specified file is not a valid audio file!'". Curiously enough, the name of the dialog says "Sample Export Failed", I'd expect Sample *Import* Failed...

I'm running renoise 2.8.1 under linux.

Hope you can enlighten me, if I missed something!

Edited by atte, 18 September 2013 - 22:16.


#45 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 19 September 2013 - 08:41

Maybe you could look at this diff, I think I solved the problem, at least on my computer.

Hint: you were not reading the options.SavePath.value anywhere :blink:

Edited by atte, 19 September 2013 - 08:42.


#46 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:08

Maybe you could look at this diff, I think I solved the problem, at least on my computer.

Hint: you were not reading the options.SavePath.value anywhere :blink:/>

ive created this option for further development ;). Problem with import export ocurs when sample file doesnt have extension
v0.5 now supports using this variable

new version in attachement and published on gitgub.

Attached Files



#47 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:19

ive created this option for further development ;)/>. Problem with import export ocurs when sample file doesnt have extension
v0.5 now supports using this variable

new version in attachement and published on gitgub.


Great!

Any reason why this tool is not listed on http://www.renoise.com/tools/browse? It's a bit hard to keep track of all the versions floating around as attachments to sperate posts + the github stuff :rolleyes:

#48 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:38

Great!

Any reason why this tool is not listed on http://www.renoise.com/tools/browse? It's a bit hard to keep track of all the versions floating around as attachments to sperate posts + the github stuff :rolleyes:/>

heh - i didnt submit it yet, about to do it right now.
BTW - new version is working for you?

#49 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 19 September 2013 - 21:04

BTW - new version is working for you?


Yeah.

However I found that I can only prehear a sample once, after that it's just silence. Tried with various playback tools under linux (play, aplay, cvlc, mplayer, maybe more), same result :(/>/>

EDIT:
...unless I don't define a player in freesound, then every prehear opens up another instance of vlc (don't know how to change that default to something like mplayer), but sound is produced.

Maybe the difference lies in the difference between these two lines:

renoise.app():open_url('file://' .. fname)
os.execute(options.Executable.value .. ' ' .. fname .. '&')

Seems like the last one might not be working as expected...

EDIT2:
I figured out how to change the system default from vlc to mplayer + I removed the warning dialog from the source. So, although hacky, it works ok here now :yeah:

Edited by atte, 19 September 2013 - 21:36.


#50 29a

29a

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/poland/lodz
  • Interests:Music (metal, speedcore), Audio, Programming

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:07

can you check that:

os.execute(options.Executable.value .. ' "' .. fname .. '"&')

?

I noticed that redownloaded file has " (number)" added to filename, maybe quoting it could help.