I Have A Headache

Hi guys, first post, first hour, first day so please be gentle with me.lol

i am looking for a 61 key MIDI Keyboard and i am just learning about MIDI

I want to spend about a thousand or less to get the best one i can

so i was wondering about one of these three Novation SL mkII, M-Audio Axiom Pro, or the Akai?

Or any other good ones that i have never heard about that i need to hear about?

And you guys are pro’s at this so i figured you’d be the ones to ask

There is probably something on this somewhere already but oh well…

I read somewhere where they said Novation is built badly and the software doesn’t sync right
And M-Audio syncs ok but blah blah etc.

So please tell me what you can to help me make a decision and if there are better MIDI Keyboards then i want to know, coz i don’t know anyone that knows anything about this.

Thanks in advance
HowardH

It depends on what you actually want with the midi keyboard.
Almost every midi keyboard has velocity sensitive keys these days, i think that aftertouch is becoming a standard as well, though some provide “channel pressure”.
What kind of extras do you need? Footpedal switches for attachment?
Do you want faders and buttons to control some effect controls?

Well, at least a keyboard that also adds a few faders, rotaries and buttons would not harm.
For a grand you can get decent stuff.

Hi Vv,
I didn’t hear from anyone for ages, i was starting to think that keyboard people where snobby to us inexperienced keyboardists who are just learning. As a bass player i have travelled the world but i love the power of MIDI. Particularly for my recording studio.

Anyway when i didn’t hear from anybody i just went and bought a Novation Remote SL 61 MII, the only thing is that it doesn’t have the Pro version of automap on it, so i found out after, i would like to know if this can be upgraded somehow if you or somebody else would know this please?

Thanks again for answering Vv, i have been on friendlier forums.