Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.8): Mpe


  • Please log in to reply
167 replies to this topic

#51 hotelsinus

hotelsinus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:Sound Design music Sound Creatin and how they born.

Posted 12 June 2011 - 16:01

D'you have a screenshot of the Emu Command Station?


yes i put it here


#52 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 13 June 2011 - 14:13

released updated version 2.5 (re-written) check tools page. Sorry I don't own an Emu command station ..looks cool (so I wont be coding a tool for it but feel free to do so yourself)
  • Conner_Bw likes this

#53 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 13 June 2011 - 14:32

Very awesome.

One thing I noticed, I can open multiple instance of the MPE gui.

I fixed it locally by changing

function main()--1 dialog at a time
  local my_dialog = nil
  -- [...]

to

local my_dialog = nil
function main()--1 dialog at a time
    -- [...]

Cheers.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#54 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 14 June 2011 - 11:40

thanks again Conner_Bw! fixed for the next version 2.6 coming soon.. also adding midi mapping now.

#55 Guest_crytek_*

Guest_crytek_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 June 2011 - 17:07

Can we somehow disable the feature that the ESC command has when this tool is loaded? I hit escape to exit certain things in Renoise, but I don't want to get rid of the MPE session I have up either.

#56 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 14 June 2011 - 17:16

Can we somehow disable the feature that the ESC command has when this tool is loaded? I hit escape to exit certain things in Renoise, but I don't want to get rid of the MPE session I have up either.


Yeah, sevenscientist could change "esc" to "_" (btw, if anyone knows what _ is in realspeak, please let me know :)

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#57 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2011 - 17:41

(btw, if anyone knows what _ is in realspeak, please let me know :)


Underscore?

#58 mxb

mxb

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 703 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2011 - 17:57

Yeah, sevenscientist could change "esc" to "_" (btw, if anyone knows what _ is in realspeak, please let me know :)


I'm not sure this can be done from scripts.

Pressing escape seems to close all dialog boxes and I don't think it is possible to override this.

One work around could be to identify when the dialog is closed and then automagically re-open it again (with this behaviour to be enabled/disabled by the user).
Is a footer a sweater for feet?

#59 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 14 June 2011 - 19:19

I'm not sure this can be done from scripts.


It's possible.

function key_handler(dialog, key)
  if (key.name == "esc") then return end
end

my_dialog = renoise.app():show_custom_dialog("Title", foo, key_handler)

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#60 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 14 June 2011 - 21:43

I'm not sure this can be done from scripts.

Pressing escape seems to close all dialog boxes and I don't think it is possible to override this.

One work around could be to identify when the dialog is closed and then automagically re-open it again (with this behaviour to be enabled/disabled by the user).


It most certainly is possible to override (btw it's really cool that the API allows for stuff like this!!!!!!!). I got a script to stay "on top" even if I'd press ESC on it. This is what I did, ripped off MPE code and altered it to this:
[lua] local function my_keyhandler_func(dialog, key)
if not (key.modifiers == "" and key.name == "exclamation") then
return key
else
dialog:close()
end[/lua]

Nevermind the exclamation :D

Underscore?


Unfortunately not exactly. At least Underscore/underscore didn't make it so that _ would kill a GUI

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#61 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 00:29

One thing I noticed, I can open multiple instance of the MPE gui.

local my_dialog = nil
function main()--1 dialog at a time
    -- [...]


Thanks for this, Conner_Bw! Works like a charm :)

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#62 Guest_crytek_*

Guest_crytek_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:00

It's possible.

function key_handler(dialog, key)
  if (key.name == "esc") then return end
end

my_dialog = renoise.app():show_custom_dialog("Title", foo, key_handler)


I plugged that in and this is what I got.

'C:\Users\Family\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.1\Scripts\Tools\seven.scientist.MPE.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its menu entry functions.

Please contact the author (Max Taverna [sevenscientist@renoise.com]) for assistance...

main.lua:1403: assign to undeclared variable 'key_handler'
stack traceback:
  [C]: in function '_error'
  [string "local mt = getmetatable(_G)..."]:17: in function <[string "local mt = getmetatable(_G)..."]:10>
  main.lua:1403: in function 'main'
  main.lua:8: in function <main.lua:8>


I plugged in at the bottom. Your suggestion works, but this splash screen comes up ever time upon load. Any suggestions on how to get rid of it?

Edited by crytek, 15 June 2011 - 02:00.


#63 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:05

Can ya try "local function instead of function..
I wrapped mine inside the viewbuilder

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#64 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:25

I plugged that in and this is what I got.


Sorry, that wasn't usable code. It was a generic pseudo example.

In the MPE code, look for `my_keyhandler_func` and play with that. Personally I think escape *should* close the dialogue so I don't recommend it. The decision will be up to sevenscientist. My comment was for mxb; just to show that it was possible.

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : MBC Archives »


#65 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6763 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:56

(Regarding closing & opening of a tool window:

For a future Renoise version I think it would be nice to be able to toggle between opening and closing the last used tool window through a keyboard shortcut).
  • tris and esaruoho like this

#66 Guest_crytek_*

Guest_crytek_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 June 2011 - 03:26

Sorry, that wasn't usable code. It was a generic pseudo example.

In the MPE code, look for `my_keyhandler_func` and play with that. Personally I think escape *should* close the dialogue so I don't recommend it. The decision will be up to sevenscientist. My comment was for mxb; just to show that it was possible.


Ah.

Yeah, I see what you're saying, but when, say for instance, you hit the overdub key and you want to stay in that custom view that's already display, yet want to get rid of the record box so you don't accidentaly mess something up, when you hit the esc key, it closes the MPE Tool instead of just toggling off the record feature.

#67 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 03:33

(Regarding closing & opening of a tool window:
For a future Renoise version I think it would be nice to be able to toggle between opening and closing the last used tool window through a keyboard shortcut).


This man has the right idea.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#68 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 03:40

when, say for instance, you hit the overdub key and you want to stay in that custom view that's already display, yet want to get rid of the record box so you don't accidentaly mess something up, when you hit the esc key, it closes the MPE Tool instead of just toggling off the record feature.


This man also. Also, what if you use ESC to switch between edit_mode=on/off? ;)

Edited by esaruoho, 15 June 2011 - 03:40.

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#69 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 15 June 2011 - 12:46

ok calm down everyone, the next version has all this fixed, Im sorry for the bugs and a massive thanks to you all for being so involved in something I thought I may have never been able to create. Please let me know if you find any strange behaviour with the next version and I will try to jump on it! so go for it and download the updated version. Im uploading now...

Edited by sevenscientist, 15 June 2011 - 12:47.


#70 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 15 June 2011 - 13:09

This man also. Also, what if you use ESC to switch between edit_mode=on/off? ;)



im not sure what this is about can you explain in further detail?

#71 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 13:13

im not sure what this is about can you explain in further detail?


I'm just chiming in on the fact that Esc-killing-MPE-interface is not very nice, when considering that some people use ESC as an edit_mode/on/off shortcut.

go for it and download the updated version. Im uploading now...


When will it be up? :)

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#72 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 15 June 2011 - 13:49

sorry found a bug before upload by chance..fixing now

#73 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2674 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 15 June 2011 - 15:07

sorry found a bug before upload by chance..fixing now


How's it going? :) Btw, would it be possible for you to always paste the version update information to this page too? :)

http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#74 sevenscientist

sevenscientist

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 15 June 2011 - 15:58

added updated version 2.6

* fixed "esc" key does not close tool anymore (you can press "esc" if sampling dialog is open to close it and tool wont close)
* fixed multiple instances of tool opening
* added midi mapping to all buttons (except new song button and transpose rotary)

http://tools.renoise...ing-environment

i am struggling to get the rotary transpose to midi map to a rotary controller.
  • esaruoho likes this

#75 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6763 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 15 June 2011 - 16:15

added updated version 2.6

* fixed "esc" key does not close tool anymore (you can press "esc" if sampling dialog is open to close it and tool wont close)
* fixed multiple instances of tool opening
* added midi mapping to all buttons (except new song button and transpose rotary)

http://tools.renoise...ing-environment

i am struggling to get the rotary transpose to midi map to a rotary controller.


good stuff,

got this message, starting a new song while having the tool open:

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V2.7.1\Scripts\Tools\seven.scientist.MPE.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its menu entry functions.

Please contact the author (Max Taverna [sevenscientist@renoise.com]) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'invalid midi mapping entry: entry 'MPE:Function:Step Editing' was already added.'
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'add_midi_mapping'
main.lua:1426: in function 'main'
main.lua:8: in function <main.lua:8>