Maximizer limiter produces crackling

I’ve never made music before and just started using Renoise, so please try to keep it simple for me.

I have a maximizer (master limit fast) on my master track. But when I listen in my headphones (HD 212Pro Sennheiser) I hear crackling whenever the limiter fires. I also have a gainer on the master track. If I set it to 4.978 db gain it’s just below the threshold (limiter never fires) and it sounds fine. But if I turn it up to 5.361 db (very small increase I think!) the limiter starts firing a little bit and I hear the crackling sound (which sounds awful! like a broken speaker…). If I turn the gainer up to 10 db I basically ONLY hear crackling. And there’s nothing wrong with my headphones. No crackling when listening to other music (only when using the limiter in Renoise). It doesn’t matter if I have the computer volume low or high, the crackling only appears when the limiter in Renoise starts firing.

I also have a stereo. It’s not something for a true audiophile, but it’s still a really nice stereo (Cerwin Vega CLSC-215, Denon Surround Receiver AVR-2311 and Cerwin Vega CXA-8). It cost me like $4000 and it sounds amazing, so I don’t think that it’s missing the frequencies where the crackling occur or something like that. But when I listen to my stereo I hear no crackling. I can turn up the gain 12db and yeah sure, it sounds pretty bad, like crushed and flat, but there’s NO crackling! It doesn’t sound like clipping/broken speaker or anything like the noise I hear in my headphones.

Can someone please tell me what’s going on? I’ve attached a test file. Could someone listen to it and tell me if you can hear the crackling sound? (increase the gain and it should appear) Is there something wrong with my headphones? Am I using the limiter wrong somehow? How do I get rid of the crackling sound?