Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0): Multi Volumes


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 13 August 2013 - 02:46



Runs in the background and lets you control multiple track (pre&post) volumes and maintain their relative levels.

Usage
When it's enabled select tracks that you want to control in the pattern matrix and then adjust any mixer volume fader, all other selected tracks will also be adjusted by the same decibel value.


By default the tool is set to be operated manually and to only work on post fx volume faders.
Installing gives you two keyboard shortcuts, "Multi Volumes Enable" and "disable". Assign these to keys to manually enable/disable the tool.


Open 'Multi Volumes' in the tools menu to open a preferences window where you can:
  • Background Enable: Ensures the tool is always running in the background when you start Renoise
  • Enable Pre Faders: Lets you use the tool on pre fx volume faders as well

See video for a demo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCIwW0uOW1Y

Get it here: http://www.renoise.c...s/multi-volumes

Edited by afta8, 09 April 2014 - 19:57.

  • Ledger, Djeroek, Dunks and 2 others like this

#2 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1672 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted 13 August 2013 - 08:40

Pretty excellent when you've lost your way in the headroom department, right?

#3 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 13 August 2013 - 09:47

Yeah totally, I find my mixes sound better when I keep channel levels low and boost on busses/master channels, however I tend to crank levels when composing so this is useful for taming things later.

#4 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 August 2013 - 12:15

Useful thanks!

It never ceases to impress me how many useful things can be done with the scripting in renoise.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 August 2013 - 12:28

Got this error on loading a new song, though the tool works afterwards:


main.lua:146: attempt to get length of local 'tracks' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
  main.lua:146: in function 'remove_postfx_vol_notifiers'
  main.lua:248: in function 'deactivate'
  main.lua:277: in function 'stop_tool'
  main.lua:306: in function <main.lua:305>

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 13 August 2013 - 17:41

It never ceases to impress me how many useful things can be done with the scripting in renoise.


Indeed! I'm impressed that I could get something like this working without needing a GUI, it starts to almost work like a native function!

Got this error...


Thanks for, I will look into it, for now you might be able avoid it by stopping the tool before loading a new song, I think the issue is with what happens when new songs are opened and closed, it gets a bit more complicated when it's running in the background and you have a zillion notifiers flying around :)


#7 KURTZ

KURTZ

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poitiers (France)
  • Interests:bunnies

Posted 14 August 2013 - 08:01

Excellent idea :yeah:/>

.
KURTZ

 

¤ cpu intel core i5 3.20Ghz | ram 8gb | nvidia geforce gtx 970 | hd1.2 tb | os win10 64bits | midi maudio oxygen 49 master keyboard
¤ kurtz/lapiNIC's french blog
¤ renoise france - communauté francophone des utilisateurs de renoise

 


#8 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 August 2013 - 11:55

NICE
this is what I was looking for for some time :D

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#9 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 August 2013 - 13:06

Thanks for, I will look into it, for now you might be able avoid it by stopping the tool before loading a new song, I think the issue is with what happens when new songs are opened and closed, it gets a bit more complicated when it's running in the background and you have a zillion notifiers flying around Posted Image


Yeah notifiers can be a bit of a pain to sometimes. Unfortunately it`s a bit of a difficult one to reproduce, it doesn`t seem to happen every time.

Will post back if I figure any more clues.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#10 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 438 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 14 August 2013 - 14:40

Yeah notifiers can be a bit of a pain to sometimes. Unfortunately it`s a bit of a difficult one to reproduce, it doesn`t seem to happen every time.

Will post back if I figure any more clues.



You could also use the Song Settings/Track Headroom variable. Another gain stage for free :D

Edited by thalamus, 14 August 2013 - 14:41.


#11 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 August 2013 - 14:57

You could also use the Song Settings/Track Headroom variable. Another gain stage for free Posted Image


Think we are at crossed purposes here. The notifiers are to do with the scripting end of things.

Track headroom does add another twist to gain staging though! As if mixing wasn`t complicated already :)

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#12 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 14 August 2013 - 15:57

Unfortunately it`s a bit of a difficult one to reproduce, it doesn`t seem to happen every time.


I found a bug in the song opening/closing functions, if you open Renoise and then close it again or open a song without having started the tool first it will throw up an error. I'm not sure if its the same bug you found but I have fixed it for the next update, I will post it after I have finished adding another feature I am working on.


You could also use the Song Settings/Track Headroom variable. Another gain stage for free Posted Image


Yes you can but it's a global setting, this tool lets you choose an arbitrary selection of tracks to adjust.

Anyway you don't really need this tool as you can do the same thing by putting gainers on each channel and control them with a hydra, but that's a bit slow.
I just missed the ability to do this after using Ableton so decided to code it for Renoise. That is actually my main motivator for writing tools at the moment, to get to a point where I don't need or want to use Ableton anymore Posted Image

Edited by afta8, 14 August 2013 - 16:01.

  • wahrk likes this

#13 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 August 2013 - 19:07

I found a bug in the song opening/closing functions, if you open Renoise and then close it again or open a song without having started the tool first it will throw up an error. I'm not sure if its the same bug you found but I have fixed it for the next update, I will post it after I have finished adding another feature I am working on.


Good to hear thanks!

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#14 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 438 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:07

Think we are at crossed purposes here. The notifiers are to do with the scripting end of things.

Track headroom does add another twist to gain staging though! As if mixing wasn`t complicated already :)/>



Oops! I replied with a quote, didnt mean to do that - was not intentionally referring to your post.

#15 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2013 - 12:30

Oops! I replied with a quote, didnt mean to do that - was not intentionally referring to your post.


:)/> no probs that explains it!

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#16 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 16 August 2013 - 19:13

Updated to v0.2:

- Fixed some bugs
- Added tool preferences that allow for it to always be running in the background

See first post for download
  • Ledger, Djeroek and Cas like this

#17 Sam

Sam

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway

Posted 20 August 2013 - 14:41

This has been bugging me for ages, but I keep forgetting about tools. Thanks for making it! (It really ought to become a permanent Renoise feature though)
  • Ledger, Djeroek, Dunks and 2 others like this

#18 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2013 - 11:41

I think it doesn't work on send tracks, is that right?

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#19 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 05 September 2013 - 12:16

I think it doesn't work on send tracks, is that right?


It should work but to be honest I'm finding a few bugs with how I am using the notifiers in this. The pattern matrix selection doesn't have an observable so I am doing a bit of a hack job to work around that, I need to rethink how I have implemented it and will have a go when I have more time.

Best thing to do for now is disable and then enable the tool using the keyboard shortcuts if it behaves in an odd way.

#20 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 September 2013 - 10:40

I found one bug too when I was quickly removing tracks, it said something like "trying to access a Track object that does not exist anymore".. Not a big crashy problem though. Might have a look at the code to see if it can be improved upon.

Just had it again closing renoise
'com.afta8.MultiVolumes.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.
The notifier will be disabled to prevent further errors.

Please contact the author ..

std::logic_error: 'trying to access a nil object of type 'class SequencerTrack'. the object is not or no longer available.'
stack traceback:
 [C]: ?
 [C]: in function '__index'
 [string "do..."]:36: in function <[string "do..."]:35>
 main.lua:158: in function 'remove_postfx_vol_notifiers'
 main.lua:260: in function 'deactivate'
 main.lua:289: in function 'stop_tool'
 main.lua:321: infunction <main.lua:320>

(I typed it over so I didn't copy the irrelevant parts)

Edited by Cas, 11 September 2013 - 11:02.

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#21 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 20 September 2013 - 22:09

Thanks Cas, I'll have a look when I get some time and the head space for more coding

Might have a look at the code to see if it can be improved upon.


Sure thing, feel free to apply your mad skillz to it Posted Image

#22 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 September 2013 - 09:51

Sure thing, feel free to apply your mad skillz to it Posted Image

LOL

Ok so I found this main problem. First of all, it's not got anything to do with tracks being send tracks or not :).
A variable named rs_tracks is declared in the beginning, in the global scope, and only refreshed when a song is opened. This is definitely a flaw for the functioning of the, for the rest perfectly executed script. Any tracks that are added or removed will make the behaviour of the tool, unpredictable now. I suggest having a (global) variable 'rs' point to renoise.song() as soon as a song is opened, and then replacing all references to
rs_tracks
in the script, to
rs.tracks

Here you go
Attached File  com.afta8.MultiVolumes_V0.3.xrnx   3.88KB   194 downloads

(PS, same thing goes for rs_sequencer, pattern sequence wouldn't get updated, so thing selected in newly added patterns in the matrix would probably go unnoticed, or, whatever, it's fixed now.)

Edited by Cas, 22 September 2013 - 10:18.

  • Ledger, Atominator and afta8 like this

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#23 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 23 September 2013 - 20:04

LOL

Ok so I found this main problem. First of all, it's not got anything to do with tracks being send tracks or not Posted Image.
A variable named rs_tracks is declared in the beginning, in the global scope, and only refreshed when a song is opened. This is definitely a flaw for the functioning of the, for the rest perfectly executed script. Any tracks that are added or removed will make the behaviour of the tool, unpredictable now. I suggest having a (global) variable 'rs' point to renoise.song() as soon as a song is opened, and then replacing all references to

rs_tracks
in the script, to
rs.tracks

Here you go
Attached File  com.afta8.MultiVolumes_V0.3.xrnx   3.88KB   194 downloads

(PS, same thing goes for rs_sequencer, pattern sequence wouldn't get updated, so thing selected in newly added patterns in the matrix would probably go unnoticed, or, whatever, it's fixed now.)



Dude, thanks! That is a very elegant fix, seems obvious now that you have explained it, but I was getting into a right muddle by thinking about it in a different way.

Anyway it all seems good and stable now, your fix has resolved a number of issues I was having with it.

I've updated the first post with the latest version and credited you in the code, oh and thanks for optimising my clamp function! I think it may be ready for the tools page now... Big Ups 2 u! Posted Image
  • Ledger likes this

#24 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2013 - 09:10

Dude, thanks!

No problem, was happy to look at the code and especially to be able to find and fix quickly.
I've also added a small safety net to a new version, which only adjusts volumes when the pattern matrix is open (with GUI setting). The thing I was mainly annoyed about is that you can't deselect in PM (I mean, just click outside and select none). In the respect of this awesome tool that is a 'renoise bug'. Although the "untrained" user won't see it. Because the start/relative volumes are read when tracks are selected (not sure if it could be done at the first volume_change). For now, I just gotta use the enable/disable shortcuts a lot because that way it works fine!
I'm guessing official multiple track selection will come in R3 :D.
  • afta8 likes this

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#25 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:22

Great tool, thanks!!