Jump to content


Photo

New Tool: dAnushri drum pattern generator


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 01 October 2013 - 21:33

Hey,
Mutable-Instruments "Anushri" synthesizer has a nice built-in drum pattern generator ("generative sequencer").
I did steal the essential code and made a renoise tool out of it, looks like this:

dAnushriv01.png

There is a lengthy description of how it works at: http://mutable-instr.../anushri/manual
To make it short:
- X & Y knobs define the basic pattern
- The main Bass, Snare and HiHat knobs control the density or amount of hits in the pattern
- Swing is just a shortcut to the renoise groove settings (controls all four sliders at once)
- It's more fun to listen than to look at it

Differences to "real" Anushri are:
- Velocity values are handled in a different way, in my tool you can adjust the impact of the 'importance' of a hit freely with the small "vel" knob
- the "acc" knob is an addition by me, turned left it will emphasize the notes on the beat, turned right the notes on the offbeat

NOTE: When renoise is in edit/record mode the tool will only write pattern data from the current playback position to the end of the pattern. It's possible to record variations etc. that way (sortof).
MI Anushri is licensed GPL 3.0, therefor my tool is too.
Happy jammin smile.gif

 

http://www.renoise.com/tools/danushri


Edited by re.dread, 29 August 2014 - 17:13.

  • Ledger, vV, Djeroek and 17 others like this

#2 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 October 2013 - 21:57

Works without any flaws.
Very nice tool.

#3 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6763 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 01 October 2013 - 23:15

fun stuff.

#4 xrxs

xrxs

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 02 October 2013 - 07:24

wow!

#5 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:16

NOTE: When renoise is in edit/record mode the tool will only write pattern data from the current playback position to the end of the pattern. It's possible to record variations etc. that way (sortof).


Ooh, nice touch!

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3535 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:34

Neat tool thanks!

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 02 October 2013 - 18:26

Thanks for the positive feedback. I attached a new version with updated midi mappings (old version had one mapping that would throw an error, some mappings missing and felt a bit unresponsive.)
  • Sense/Net and El°HYM like this

#8 img%

img%

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:do and hear music,read ,

Posted 03 October 2013 - 17:53

i will try it this week end atm i have no time for it seems to be a cool tool :dribble: :guitar:

#9 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:33

Update: fixed manual note input (and copy & pasting between note valueboxes).

#10 phuture

phuture

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 October 2013 - 13:41

oooh baby!! that's a lot of fun, thanks!

#11 Shah

Shah

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:18

I just tried it for the first time and got a fatal error when I tried clicking the BD sel. Renoise crashed and closed.

Windows XP SP3

Edit: Ok tried again, it worked fine after reload. Very nice tool!

Edited by Shah, 14 October 2013 - 07:30.


#12 hotelsinus

hotelsinus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:Sound Design music Sound Creatin and how they born.

Posted 15 October 2013 - 17:56

please rename a bass to kick :D
  • Djeroek likes this

#13 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1083 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:43

I installed this, forgot about, and finally tried it today. Holy damn, it works so smooth and fast! Flawless as near as I can tell. And a great way to jump-start a beat.

#14 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:47

Renoise is now the best automated drummer ever now, lol

Edited by Akiz, 17 October 2013 - 09:47.


#15 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:48

please rename a bass to kick :D/>/>

Agreed, will be changed in the next version (:
Think i'll put it on the tools page somewhen soon-ish .. thanks for testing and feedback everyone!

#16 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 18 October 2013 - 09:13

Just had a play with this, its great fun, works great thanks for sharing. Minor suggestion could you make it so that the tracks are put in a group?

#17 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 19 October 2013 - 10:20

Minor suggestion could you make it so that the tracks are put in a group?

Considering it, not quite sure tho. You can allways put the tracks in a group afterwards, the tool finds the tracks by their names, so it doesn't matter where they are. That said it would be very simple to insert them into a group when they get generated, but i'ld have to make a config option for it .. so, maybe (:

#18 Loolarge

Loolarge

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 27 October 2013 - 11:23

This thing is awesome thanks so much!

#19 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 August 2014 - 13:56

Why this is isnt in the tools officialy?
It is one of the most funny tools out there...


Edited by Akiz, 26 August 2014 - 14:00.


#20 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 August 2014 - 14:04

Btw there is one weird behaviour with r3.

When you use instrument that is drumpack you have to use columns not different track.

your tool can recognize more collumns and works them with but behaves weird when you delete two remaining tracks it created, then it creates them again and use them. hard to explain, better experiment yourself.


Edited by Akiz, 26 August 2014 - 14:06.


#21 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 16:35

@Akiz: thanks! .. I simply forgot about putting it on the tool page somehow, will do within the next days.

 

About using note columns instead of tracks for output: I had that option planned from the beginning, but never implemented it.

Personally, i don't like using note columns for drum sounds, even with renoise 3 fx chain instruments i rather copy the instrument and use multiple tracks.

I'll keep it in mind for the next version, but can't promise anything (anytime soon).


  • Djeroek likes this

#22 Guest_68000_*

Guest_68000_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 September 2014 - 22:17

please fix the tool update popping up everytime Renoise starts, very annoying



#23 re.dread

re.dread

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 17 September 2014 - 11:09

0xrns: what do you mean, it asks if you want to 'auto-upgrade' it every time renoise starts?

If that's the case can you try if the attached version makes any difference?

Otherwise, more info needed ..

Attached Files



#24 Guest_68000_*

Guest_68000_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 September 2014 - 15:42

Hey thanks, the attached version fixed the issue :)



#25 c:real

c:real

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 May 2015 - 06:22

hello all,

 

i discover this yesterday so great!!

 

thanks to re:dread