Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Give us loop fine editor back


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#26 Jester

Jester

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo

Posted 14 January 2014 - 15:39

+++++++++++++++++++++
Bring it back!
  • DJ TerraByte and migloJE like this

#27 Mykra

Mykra

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 17 January 2014 - 12:34

Yes, please bring it back!
  • migloJE likes this

#28 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 18 February 2014 - 12:47

Make it selectable from a customizable sample-editor options list, like Satobox mocked up;

Posted Image

from; http://forum.renoise...post__p__307457
  • lowkey, eeter and Jenoki like this

#29 florian

florian

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY USA
  • Interests:sampling, drums, bikes, video... .... cats.

Posted 18 February 2014 - 15:50

i do want it back... but, just out of curiosity, why was it removed?
-----
black
skwrl
-----

#30 B00MER

B00MER

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:07

zoom is your friend. :blink:

Edited by B00MER, 20 February 2014 - 09:07.

  • It-Alien likes this

#31 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 20 February 2014 - 10:44

The battle of los editors
  • slippycurb likes this
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#32 ilkke

ilkke

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Psydney, Australia
  • Interests:pixels and tracking

Posted 03 April 2014 - 08:52

+1 as I often use Renoise to make looping sound effects for games at work.

If I understand correctly, the replacement looper feature works inside renoise only?
  • DJ TerraByte likes this
Posted Image
reNOSE - smell teh powar!

#33 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 03 April 2014 - 10:44

people may *want* to create loops which are not zero-crossing or even not continue, that's why the loop editor should be back
  • Kizzume, Djeroek and jrrs like this
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#34 Luka P. (Nova deViator)

Luka P. (Nova deViator)

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 June 2014 - 17:47

+1 for the fine loop editor!
yes, why was it removed? if we would know the background logic of this decision, perhaps it would be easier to accept.
  • Kizzume likes this

#35 jugger

jugger

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 June 2014 - 05:36

Can't understand why fine loop edit has been removed, used it all the time with earlier versions. Hopefully it will be added again...
  • Kizzume and Djeroek like this

#36 jrrs

jrrs

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bay area, california, us.

Posted 14 July 2014 - 07:17

just started getting back into renoise after about a 4 year hiatus.

thanks for all the awesome improvements you've made. really blows my mind the changes since 2.x

i appreciate the loop crossfader thing because i think it does a better job than the other automatic loop fixer jobbies i've used.

however.

i got a little frantic and anxious and fearful when i could not find the loop fine-tuner.

then when i googled and found that it was removed, it felt like a punch in the gut.

PLEASE bring it back. i'll pay an extra 60 euros or whatever on my next renewal.

there are use-cases that the fine-tuner cannot be beat or replaced by anything automatic, ever.

the automatic thing is destructive to the sample. fine-tuner is not. that's the biggest thing for me.

while i see that the automatic guy does a decent job depending on what your selection is, it still doesn't provide the information or control that the fine-tuner did.

it looks like i'm not alone in being Very Negatively Affected by the removal of this particular feature. it was the best fine-tuner i've ever used.

I still support for the perfection of the seemless auto-looper as an alternative.


alternative? yes.

*replacement*? no!

^__^

Edited by jrrs, 14 July 2014 - 07:17.

  • Kizzume likes this

#37 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 24 July 2014 - 22:09

I would pay 30 euro's for returning this loop-fine editor and 200 euro's for keyjazz on a selection of a sample. :guitar:
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#38 Kizzume

Kizzume

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 958 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 23:50

Wait, do you expect us to get an extrenal wav editor, edit it there, and hope that it will import the loop?  I'm going back to a non-crippled version of your software.


Edited by Kizzume, 23 August 2014 - 00:56.


#39 kejkz

kejkz

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Far away
  • Interests:DSP, coding...

Posted 06 September 2014 - 21:45

Just bring it back, please...



#40 weizenkeim

weizenkeim

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:hh

Posted 06 September 2014 - 22:34

or maybe an option for a split view?

Attached Images

  • splitview.jpg

  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#41 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 10 September 2014 - 21:05

hmmm before you will see this post as a mega sneaky crosspost, why not combine my wish with the screenshot seen in Weizenkeim above this post?

I mean, play some notes on the keyboard... hear the selected red part... find that it is awesome and loop it ;-)


  • weizenkeim likes this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#42 weizenkeim

weizenkeim

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:hh

Posted 10 September 2014 - 22:31

JAZZ!!



#43 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oops
  • Interests:Flying

Posted 11 September 2014 - 12:19

I'd really appreciate such a feature!

 

But real loop finetuning would need 2 extra panes, not only one, i.e. one for loopstart and one for loopend. I think it'd be quite helpful to see both waveforms next to each other, to get a visual grasp of the subtle wavecycle difference "click" that might  happen. So another horizontal split in the right extra waveform view in weizenkeim's mockup.

 

As for eleminating the "click": is there already an option to x-fade a selected section around a loopstart with the equivalent around the loopend? The builtin x-fade tool - I haven't yet grasped how it actually works.

 

Another nice suggestion: placement of loopmarkers not on per-sample-step, but with fractions. Yeh, you dig the finetune and Ability to place at zero crossings between 2 samples.



#44 dysamoria

dysamoria

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:craplay, pa, corporate states of america
  • Interests:music

Posted 07 November 2015 - 17:58

Oh wow... seriously?? :-( i was just looking for the fine loop editor in Redux Demo. Came here to find out what i'm missing. It's Redux and Renoise that's missing something. Bring it back please!



#45 agent220

agent220

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Jersey

Posted 08 November 2015 - 10:58

I think it'll come back, lots of squeaky wheels over this. Time to apply the grease.

#46 mslsr

mslsr

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 February 2018 - 20:11

oh shit it's the future but still no fine loop editor