Jump to content


Photo

Portamento effect


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 13 January 2014 - 19:00

Now you don't always have to use 0Gxx for glide/portamento, checkout this example:

 

https://dl.dropboxus...o Template.xrni
 


Edited by afta8, 14 April 2015 - 08:35.

  • Djeroek, satobox, TheBellows and 5 others like this

#2 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 13 January 2014 - 19:37

Can you explain how? I don`t have renoise on this KOMPUTA

#3 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 13 January 2014 - 21:38

Doofer -> keytracker, formula device -> pitch modulation
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#4 centipus

centipus

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galveston County, TX
  • Interests:dogs, cats, noises, smells

Posted 13 January 2014 - 22:16

thanks for sharing afta8! very cool to use with any old sample...stretching and bending stuff that really shouldn't have portamento is great fun
some thangs here.macbook pro/osx 10.9/2.4GHz core 2 Duo/4GB ram *Renoise 32bit*

#5 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 14 January 2014 - 00:35

Can you explain how? I don`t have renoise on this KOMPUTA



Doofer -> keytracker, formula device -> pitch modulation


Yep on track side it is as vV says, formula device is using the inertial slider to create the glide effect.
On the instrument side an inverse key track device is used on the pitch modulation to stop the sample responding to note events and then an operand is created which is linked to the formula device via a macro control.

On a side note if instruments allowed fx chains to control modulation params I could self contain this but for now it needs a specific track+instrument to work.

thanks for sharing afta8! very cool to use with any old sample...stretching and bending stuff that really shouldn't have portamento is great fun


Indeed it is... cheers! Posted Image

#6 KURTZ

KURTZ

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poitiers (France)
  • Interests:bunnies

Posted 14 January 2014 - 11:47

Posted Image

Edited by KURTZ, 14 January 2014 - 11:47.

.
KURTZ

 

¤ cpu intel core i5 3.20Ghz | ram 8gb | nvidia geforce gtx 970 | hd1.2 tb | os win10 64bits | midi maudio oxygen 49 master keyboard
¤ kurtz/lapiNIC's french blog
¤ renoise france - communauté francophone des utilisateurs de renoise

 


#7 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 January 2014 - 20:26

Really cool example. Made it into some synth brass.
portamento example - brass.xrns

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#8 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 23 January 2014 - 14:57

Oddly, I can't see a 'formula' device in my list. Any ideas?

#9 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:06

Oddly, I can't see a 'formula' device in my list. Any ideas?


It's secret and hidden :) You can however find it in the doofer in this example.. Copy and paste it to reuse elsewhere

#10 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 05 February 2014 - 01:44

Updated this to v2 which is better, two things are different..

1) Looks like a new feature was added to beta 5 in the keyzones window: [Key->Pitch] turning this off allows a sample to be played at constant pitch regardless of input note. This means I no longer need to use the reverse keytracker in the pitch modulation to achieve the same effect. (This new version is actually more accurate in tuning as well, explanation why is here)

2) The whole thing can actually be self contained in an instrument so you don't need a track with a portamento doofer (thanks to Bit Arts for showing how in this thread)

Download the updated example here:
https://www.dropbox....v2 example.xrns

Cheers
  • Djeroek, dblue and Bit_Arts like this

#11 Bit_Arts

Bit_Arts

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 February 2014 - 06:00

Have to try this. Thanks again! :)
  • afta8 likes this

Herr, schmeiss Hirn vom Himmel! :mellow:


#12 Reactor Grits

Reactor Grits

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 25 February 2014 - 08:42

Thanks for sharing this technique! However, I noticed that in this way the note glides to the next one by making it start at the new pitch but at the beginning of the sample, while the glide command just continues the previously played note in a different pitch it's glidng to. Could this technique maybe be used in a way that it continues the sample being played as the glide command does?

#13 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 25 February 2014 - 12:01

Could this technique maybe be used in a way that it continues the sample being played as the glide command does?


Yes, it's called note ghosting -> remove the instrument references of the notes that follow the initial one.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#14 Ozego

Ozego

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangkok
  • Interests:Hip Hop, Dub, Rare Grooves, Library Music

Posted 25 February 2014 - 18:15

I have a feeling I will be using this technique in all my productions from now on. I've been playing with it for a few hours now and it is just the layer I've been looking for. It works wonders on synthetic percussions. Thank you sooooo much for making this. It makes the floor’s go all swervy n shit! <3 <3 <3
  • afta8 likes this

#15 Reactor Grits

Reactor Grits

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:25

Yes, it's called note ghosting -> remove the instrument references of the notes that follow the initial one.


Hmm... you mean removing the instrument references from the notes in the pattern editor except for the inital starting one? Didn't work for me :( Also, I can't glide two notes playing at the same time which can be done with pattern commands. Sorry for the seeming complaints, I just hope some of you know a workaround this with this nice technique!

#16 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 26 February 2014 - 21:23

Hmm... you mean removing the instrument references from the notes in the pattern editor except for the inital starting one? Didn't work for me Posted Image


Owh, sorry, i was sleeping, the note ghosting only takes care the instrument envelopes keep running. For the sample itself to keep on playing, you do need the Gff command.
Spoiler

Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#17 djwav

djwav

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 23:45

Updated this to v2 which is better, two things are different..

1) Looks like a new feature was added to beta 5 in the keyzones window: [Key->Pitch] turning this off allows a sample to be played at constant pitch regardless of input note. This means I no longer need to use the reverse keytracker in the pitch modulation to achieve the same effect. (This new version is actually more accurate in tuning as well, explanation why is here)

2) The whole thing can actually be self contained in an instrument so you don't need a track with a portamento doofer (thanks to Bit Arts for showing how in this thread)

Download the updated example here:
https://www.dropbox....v2 example.xrns

Cheers


Hi there. I've just upgraded to Renoise 3, and am still grappling with the new Instrument Editor. It's definitely great but obviously a bit more complicated from before.

I'm trying to figure out how best to migrate this Portamento effect to my own project file I'm working on. Is there an easy way to simply save this as a preset and drop it onto one of my own instruments somehow?
I fiddled around with it myself for a while, but I got stuck trying to setup the Pitch Operand correctly. It was playing my instrument at a much lower pitch than it should, and I couldn't figure out how to fix that :/

#18 satobox

satobox

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2014 - 02:17

Ohhh, thanks for heading up this topic. This is quite cool trick indeed. Thank you very much, afta8.

I try to explain how to replicate this trick for beginners, though I also cannot understand exactly why such cool portamento is possible by this setting. :blink:

###########################################

- Download the afta8's "portamento v2 example.xrns".

- Save the afta8's doofer device which is included the example xrns, as a doofer-preset like "Portamento" or something. Then, now you can see it in the device list of the sampler's [Effects] window always.

###########################################

Setting procedure

- Open [Effects] window of Sampler and load the afta8's doofer preset.

- Open [Modulation] window and load Operand device to the Pitch.

- Set to "+" at the left side of the Operand and set bipoler icon ON (at the upper right on the Operand device)

- Set the Pitch Range of the Pitch emvelope to "60st".

- Open [Keyzones] window and turn OFF the "KEY-Pitch" button.

- Open Macro window and map the right most knob to Operand slider. (actually it is linked to the key Tracker device in the afta8's doofer)

- And map the left most Macro knob to the Glide Time knob of the afta8's doofer.

And don't forget to tune the pitch of your sample beforehand. ^_^
  • afta8 likes this

まいどお~きに Renoise-Gate (Japanese Tutorial)


#19 Reactor Grits

Reactor Grits

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 April 2014 - 09:15

Thank you satobox! One remark: you have to set the upper left macro to the operand slider and the upper right to glide time ;) at least that's how I got it to work.
Still too bad this technique doesn't glide in the continuation of the sample and can't play two gliding notes simultaneously, but still a good effort!

#20 satobox

satobox

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2014 - 10:15

Ah, probably you have downloaded the old (first) version of the afta8's example file. Well, functionally it works the same, I think. :)/>

Still too bad this technique doesn't glide in the continuation of the sample and can't play two gliding notes simultaneously, but still a good effort!


Only about gliding notes simultaneously, I know the Gxx command trick with phrase.
If you don't know yet, try to load "Instr. >> Leads >> Fuzzy Slide.xrni" from the R3 factory library. If you OFF the [Mono] button, it somewhat work.

But the Gxx portamento trick seems fails sometimes when I try to play with MIDI keyboard, and it's less adjustable than the afta8's method.

Anyway we can use these case by case.

まいどお~きに Renoise-Gate (Japanese Tutorial)


#21 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 11 April 2014 - 10:57

Thanks Satobox, thats quite a good description of how it is set up :)

I have also made a template instrument that makes setting up a new instrument a lot easier.

You can get it here: https://www.dropbox....o Template.xrni

All you need to do is load the instrument and then drop your samples into it. Then for every sample you will need to make sure 'Key->Pitch' is turned off and it's modulation is set to '01-Portamento'

Still too bad this technique doesn't glide in the continuation of the sample and can't play two gliding notes simultaneously, but still a good effort!


Yeah, would be nice but it's not possible with the current Renoise instruments, this technique is a bit of a hack as it uses the unofficial formula device.
Maybe we will see native portamento and legato modes in future.

#22 satobox

satobox

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2014 - 12:16

Haha, after all this template is far comfortable. Thanks a lot!! :yeah:

まいどお~きに Renoise-Gate (Japanese Tutorial)


#23 satobox

satobox

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 April 2014 - 03:03

@afta8

Hmm, I noticed a tiny (but quite mysterious) thing.
When I'm using your template.xrni file above, I notice that the tuning slips off as it goes away from the base note. It's quite tiny (about 10cent per 1 octave) though.

And strangely, another template file which is edited by me has perfect tuning. But actually it's also based on your "portamento doofer". And I've double checked both files are the same settings completely.

Do you know what is different between these files??
Personally, I guess that taktik had changed something internally between beta and final, maybe I'm wrong though...

Portamento Template (contributed by afta8)

Portamento-Template (edited by satobox)


P.S. I've borrowed and introduced your Portamento-Template file in the Japanese manual. Thanks so much. B)
  • afta8 likes this

まいどお~きに Renoise-Gate (Japanese Tutorial)


#24 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 16 April 2014 - 00:30

Hey Satobox,

I must admit this has me completely baffled!

I can't tell what the difference is between the files but I get the same results. The template I submitted drifts out of tune but the one you have provided stays perfectly in tune at all octaves.
I can't tell why as all the settings look the same.
What is weird is that when I try to rebuild the instrument template from scratch it still drifts out of tune, I'm sure it wasn't always like that.

I will look into this a bit more when I have more time, maybe it is a bug, I'm not sure, its quite confusing.

Anyway for now, I have updated my template so that it is based on yours so at least we have one that works properly, even though I don't know why!

Also its super cool that you are featuring it in the Japanese manual, nice one! Posted Image

#25 satobox

satobox

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 April 2014 - 02:57

Ahhh, I found the secret behind taktik's magic.
I opened the xrni and see the Instrment.xml, and found; <PitchModulationRange>59.5</PitchModulationRange>

But I never input such value manually, simply I clicked the arrow icon to set "60".
So I tested carefully and noticed that actually the value "60" is shown 2 times,
i.e. 58 > 59 > 60 > 60 > 61 > 62....
and the 1st 60 is actually "59.5".
Also, you can input "59.5" manually if you double click the value box.

Now I can understand taktik's intention. ;)

まいどお~きに Renoise-Gate (Japanese Tutorial)