Jump to content


Photo

New tool (3.0) XRNI-Merger


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 20 March 2014 - 19:10

XRNI-Merger

xrni-merger-ui.gif

Xrni-Merger is designed to make it easy to copy assets from one instrument into another. That would include modulation sets, effect chains, phrases and samples.

To make it more awesome, it does a lot of stuff behind the scenes. If you for example select a single sample that makes use of an effect chain that in turn send audio to another chain, this is detected by the tool and you can then choose to reconstruct the entire 'network' in the target instrument.

WHATS MISSING
On the phrase tab, the "replace" feature is not yet implemented.
Use the "append" mode instead, it is more useful anyway.

WHATS PLANNED
Ability to extract slices from a sliced instrument (currently, those will be blank)

UI shortcuts (when dialog is focused)
---------------------------------------------------------
ESC Close dialog
½ (tilde) Toggle sync (default is source)
TAB Toggle source/target sync (only when synced)
Numpad 0 Open instr. editor
INS TODO Insert new instrument
CTRL+INS TODO Duplicate selected instrument
CTRL/CMD+A Select all/none assets
SPACE TODO Copy assets from source to target

(all other keys are forwarded to Renoise)

Download

http://www.renoise.c...ols/xrni-merger

 


  • Ledger, vV, Djeroek and 11 others like this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#2 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 20 March 2014 - 19:11

Cheers Mr Danoise, il see if i can break it!!:-)
>edit<Will you ever maybe implement importing instruments from songs not loaded?

hmmm, how about an option to switch selected instrument to target instrument once "copy to target" has been clicked, [edit2] ahhh thats what synchronize does:-)[edit2] and maybe add a new track and switch to that also?...maybe they are not needed though...<edit>

Edited by slippycurb, 20 March 2014 - 19:32.

"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#3 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 20 March 2014 - 19:57

Sounds like an awesome edition to the arsenal of tools!
  • Djeroek likes this
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#4 Loolarge

Loolarge

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 20 March 2014 - 20:18

Sounds indeed useful!

#5 catchphrase

catchphrase

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 March 2014 - 16:03

Haha, nice one!
I've been working on a similar tool too, but then there happened life... and your dsp chain detection is a very nice twist!

I think I'll complete mine anyway, because it was a nice learning experience.

Cheers!!
Tools:
Moveit

#6 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 21 March 2014 - 17:30

I think I'll complete mine anyway, because it was a nice learning experience.


Not only that, perhaps your code is more easily forkable into other projects or has some better optimizations
  • catchphrase likes this
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#7 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6692 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 22 March 2014 - 00:38

Installed your tool, played around with it, closed it pressing an icon in the bottom right of the tool gui, closed Renoise.

Opened Renoise a few hours later and got;

'C:\Users\plugexpert\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.0.0\Scripts\Tools\com.renoise.Xrni-Merger.xrnx\' failed to load.

Please remove this tool or contact the author (danoise (bjorn@renoise.com)) for assistance...

std::logic_error: 'sorry, can not access the application window frame layout while the application initializes.'
stack traceback:
[C]: ?
[C]: in function '__index'
[string "do..."]:36: in function <[string "do..."]:35>
main.lua:3053: in main chunk


I can't find the tool entry in the tools tab anymore...

#8 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 22 March 2014 - 10:19

Looks like the tool needs a document created sanitizer...
I changed 3053 to:

function check_middle_frame()
  renoise.app().window.active_middle_frame_observable:add_notifier(function()

	update_focus_editor()

  end)
  if renoise.tool().app_new_document_observable:has_notifier(check_middle_frame) then
	renoise.tool().app_new_document_observable:remove_notifier(check_middle_frame)
  end
end

renoise.tool().app_new_document_observable:add_notifier(check_middle_frame)

Edited by vV, 22 March 2014 - 10:34.

Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#9 BpZ

BpZ

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 March 2014 - 11:04

Very useful!!!
THX

#10 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 23 March 2014 - 19:57

Will you ever maybe implement importing instruments from songs not loaded?

Interesting idea, but I am not sure how it could be implemented and be more efficient than using the built-in disk browser.
In both cases, you would still need to navigate through a bunch of files/folders to select an instrument...but perhaps you had some specific idea in mind?

Looks like the tool needs a document created sanitizer...

Oops, yes that should of course be fixed in the next version.

Another known bug is that existing modulation sets are not properly detected - copying seems to always create new modulation sets, when it should really be possible to re-use / assign to existing ones.

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#11 kopias

kopias

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Łask, Poland

Posted 25 March 2014 - 11:25

From the first glance - very handy tool. Gotta try it and raport back any issues. THX danoise

#12 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 25 March 2014 - 19:22

but perhaps you had some specific idea in mind?

not really, but your tool is slightly more versatile than the diskbrowser, but your right, you would need a disk browser in the tool,
"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#13 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2852 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise Sidechain

Posted 12 November 2014 - 01:33

Hey danoise, do you think your tool could be a good starting point for a tool that imports fx and routing from another xrns file, some kind of song fx joiner?

#14 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 June 2016 - 09:57

Does it work in 3.1 on linux?
I cant see this too even if renoise says it was installed.

Ive got sonatina free orchestra library and xrni merger is basicaly the only way how to play more than one sfz instrument at the time (i wanna merge more sounds together) in renoise,



#15 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 04 June 2016 - 10:07

To launch, you need to right click the instrument in the instrument list.

Never was too proud of the tool, the code needs a cleanup and it can throw some errors here and there.
But largely it should work, also in 3.1.

.

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#16 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 June 2016 - 11:56

When i relaunch renoise it told me that the tool is not combatible has to be disabled
maybe it is reason why i didnt see it in the instrument list (right click).

Btw. open two (or more) renoise, open instrument in every project - you can play more renoise instrument at a time by your midi :-D

(I would love to have possibility to import just samples from any sfz / xrni with keymap and merge them with previously loaded instrument if i want)



#17 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 05 June 2016 - 12:44

Yes, it can't be auto-upgraded but you can still change the manifest so that the line specifying API version goes like this
<ApiVersion>5</ApiVersion>

  • Akiz and kytdkut like this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#18 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 09 January 2017 - 02:22

Hi! I've tried the tool in 3.1, but if spits out a lot of errors. First it won't seem to work at all, but after a little while at least the sample merging (what I was looking for for now) was kind of working. I couldn't get it to show phrases though, and it always spat out an error when selecting them.

 

This is so immensly useful, I've been woeing for this a lot of times. Are there any chances to get the tool fixed to a cleaner working state (without all those error messages when selecting instruments, I had to diable it after its job)?



#19 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 09 January 2017 - 11:40

This tool is sort-of retired, really needs to be rewritten from scratch. Sorry. 

 

Maybe it would be good to simply advertise which features are working in 3.1, so you don't waste time on the broken parts? 

(until we have something better, of course...)


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#20 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 29 March 2017 - 12:58

I've used it a few times in 3.1 now, having drum breaks chopped into individual instrument with a bar each for phrase rendering of slices, then trying to recombine the destructively rendered to a single instrument.

 

It sometimes (well most of the time) has problems with phrases being present in the instruments. It would then fire an error message and show no samples in the list to copy - when starting the tool, but also when selecting an instrument with phrases. To be able to copy my samples I found as workaround to remove any phrases (and backup them) before the job, just to readd them afterwards. Sometimes out of the blue it seems to work without error messages though.

 

I am in process to fit up all the classic breaks to my liking, so I will be using it again and again in the near future. I am willing to report any hickups or failures, or even test improved/fixed versions of the tool.

 

This is a tool offering capabilities that are essential when working with complex native instruments. I cannot understand it has been abandoned without proper replacement.


  • Akiz likes this

#21 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 30 March 2017 - 20:12

@OopsIFly: yes, you're right of course, it's a shame with the current, half-broken state. the reason is simple enough: I haven't had a lot of time on my hands lately.

But as I use this tool myself from time to time myself, I'm aware of its shortcomings. 

 

You might know that I've been doing a lot of streamlining of my code during the last year or so - efforts that just haven't reached this tool yet.

But because of that, I could see this tool being reborn - probably with a smaller initial featureset, but at least one that was guaranteed to work ;)  


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud