Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Auto Capture Phrase


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kopias

kopias

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Łask, Poland

Posted 30 March 2014 - 11:00

It would be nice to have "Auto Capture Phrase" toggle button like in instrument box (Auto Capture Instrument).
  • Djeroek and toblerpone like this

#2 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 30 March 2014 - 17:33

What does 'auto capture phrase' option do exactly?
  • Jenoki likes this

#3 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 30 March 2014 - 20:05

I suspect he wants a feature where putting the pattern cursor on a note, automatically selects the attached phrase for in the instrument panel.
If you have the instrument panel detached, there might be a good use in that idea. If it is attached, then it will not work out very great. (depending on if the area has to be made visible instantly)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#4 toblerpone

toblerpone

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 902 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location::c

Posted 30 March 2014 - 20:29

Maybe he meant something more like: "Auto-select PHRASES by playing notes with the virtual piano or external MIDI." The keyboard icon near samples.

Edited by gova, 30 March 2014 - 20:30.


#5 kopias

kopias

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Łask, Poland

Posted 31 March 2014 - 11:12

I must admit that My main concern with this idea was laziness:

When i open and play a song of my freend that uses many phrases I can see which phrase is playing on the bottom of sampler (small rectangles) and just wanted automatic way to see phrase that is playing instead of selecting manual.


vV: good point when having multi monitor setup.
gova: also another good use case



P.S. I would see this as a toggle button on phrases toolbar.