Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0): CDP lua tool


  • Please log in to reply
411 replies to this topic

#351 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 January 2016 - 20:38

I don't have a mac unfortunately, besides what is in the installation notes on mavericks / mac permission issues;

 

 

Installation on Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

Admin permissions will be required to complete the installation.

It has transpired that Apple made unannounced changes in these versions of OS X which
mean that the settings created and configured by the installer are simply ignored. This
affects primarily the installation of environment variables (which need to be visible to
Soundloom as well as to the command line programs). We have yet to identify a
compatible substitute for the functionality lost by this OS change.

Instructions on completing the installation by hand are provided
in the supplied file "Manualconfig.pdf".

 

Have you checked out the "manualconfig.pdf" which is provided when downloading the CDP package?

 

Better make a thread or read up here for more hints;

http://unstablesound...x.php?board=2.0



#352 misk

misk

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 13 January 2016 - 21:02

While I'd love to see an integrated envelope editor one day, are you aware that you can use an envelope device in Renoise's instrument editor modulation tab for creating breakpoint data in the CDP tool? Or perhaps you mean this when saying ' creating breakpoint files manually' ?

 

Whenever a parameter in the CDP tool has an arrow down toggle to the left of a slider, you can create a breakpoint envelope, press the arrow down icon and another window will pop up. Now in Renoise add an envelope device, for example in the volume section of the modulation tab, you can bypass the envelope so it won't affect the sound. Now, press the swirling arrow'ish icon in the 'create breakpoint envelope' window and it'll fetch the breakpoints from Renoises envelope device. Now press 'apply' to arm the cdp tool's parameyter, then press process in the CDP tool it'll take into account the grabbed data :)

 

MOTHER OF GOD.

 

I just stumbled across this and read your post at the same time. My life is now complete. AHHHHH!!!! I was wasting time looking for a shitty function editor, and started making one in max... you FUCKING ROCK MAN!!!!



#353 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 January 2016 - 21:06

Hah, thank Afta, he implemented it  :yeah:

 

edit;

 

pro tip; if you have 2 monitors, it might be nice to press the 'ext. editor' toggle in Renoises envelope device, through this the envelope will expand between the scopes and track dsp section for more detailed editing + you can see the waveform view at the same time on the other monitor. I like seeing the envelope and waveform to cross compare where stuff needs to dip or emphasize.


Edited by Djeroek, 13 January 2016 - 21:29.

  • misk likes this

#354 ••H∑X∑R••

••H∑X∑R••

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa
  • Interests:sonic driving/entrainment, trance states, music and imagery, additive and modal rhythm, synthesis, sound design, permaculture, hand percussion, capoeira angola

Posted 13 January 2016 - 22:17

@djeroek - Yeah, I had started out with the manualconfig file. Not sure why it's not working at this point... I may need to bug the ppl on the cdp forum next. :smashed:


dark psychedelic sludge music

 


#355 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 13 January 2016 - 22:54

This thread is a bitch to backtrack, but there have been more people on the mac resolving the install issues eventually, maybe there is a solution here somewhere, or someone remembering a pitfall? Not the first time the CDP dudes have made a typo causing confusion, something like a .wav instead of wav :)



#356 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 793 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 17 January 2016 - 01:59

Hi!

 

Finally got it seemingly to work on ubuntu 14.04. Was a bit steep way, the info in the linux blogpost wasn't so very helpful. So I give some feedback now, before going to bed and having this beasts on my try-out list for tomorrow.

 

First thing: the sources from the cdp site refused to compile completely, so I had only a little more than 40 executables (I think) in the "/dev/Release" Folder. Also these sources have - linux untypically - the worst hacked-together build system I ever encountered in such a package, ok it probably wasn't developed with linux in mind. The bug in compiling might only be appearent with newer systems (read: about any modern linux distro nowadays), because gcc has changed some handling of libraries when linking and gets a stinky asshole very soon. Also the cdp build system sucks because it gives no global error, and was hard to edit.

 

I had to edit these makefiles in the sources: "/dev/cdparams/Makefile.linux" - line 20 and move the parameter "-lm" to the end of the line, and now that this has been fun, edit "/dev/standalone/Makefile.linux" and "/dev/new/Makefile.linux", and move a gazillion of "-lm"s to the ends of their lines. Now compiling gives me 147 executables in the "Release" folder, which seems a lot better.

 

There were other errors for some tools depending on alsa and jack libraries, but as stated in the blog article these aren't relevant for use with renoise? From the names of the progs they seem to be just for routing audio for playback, managing audio devices and such?

 

Another thing was this little "libaaio" library, I had rather installed it with checkinstall as a package instead of with "make install", to be able to get rid of it via dpkg in case I want to ever remove it.

 

Also the .bashrc thing just won't work on my xubuntu, instead I set the file (you can create it) "~/.pam_environment" to contain the infamous line "CDP_SOUND_EXT=wav" - and then the lua tool stopped to complain after logging out and in, and some effects that didn't work at first (blur...) started to produce output.

 

 

But, now......these tools seem to have potential to beatifully fuck up sounds, for often unexpected results. Much tools need to be cared after so the results would sound smooth at all, but there seem to be mighty tools hidden in that galore. Thanks for your Work integrating this, guys!


  • misk likes this

#357 The_Traveler

The_Traveler

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Exploring timbrality ...

Posted 17 January 2016 - 22:29

[Edited to remove Brain Fart ] :blink:


Edited by The_Traveler, 17 January 2016 - 22:52.


#358 n1ck

n1ck

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 19:35

Just a heads up for the dev.  I am getting the 'Environment variable not set' popup window but mine is set and the tool is working.  I had to install a little differently (on a mac) since I use z shell so maybe it has to do with how the tool checks the environment variable?



#359 pat

pat

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 May 2016 - 08:14

I'm on Yosemite and had been getting the an output file was not produced – check your settings error message that has plagued so many people.

 

I uninstalled and reinstalled the tool, and recognized my mistake – I had pointed the tool to ~/cdpr7/ (top-level CDP dir) rather than ~/cdpr7/_cdp/_cdprogs/ (CDP programs dir).

 

Hopefully that helps someone else.

 

Also I don't know if this matters, but I added this line to my .bash_profile:

export CDP_SOUND_EXT=`launchctl getenv CDP_SOUND_EXT`

The reason being that I would type "env CDP_SOUND_EXT" at the terminal, and wouldn't get anything. I didn't realize that the launchctl env vars work differently...


Edited by pat, 23 May 2016 - 08:27.


#360 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 23 May 2016 - 08:34

Does something basic like 'Distort - Distort reform - convert to sinusoid' work? The tool can be pretty picky on parameter settings and should output what's wrong in the terminal, with certain processes though this doesn't happen unfortunately.

 

In the case of output processes like peakfind, maybe the wavefile you run it on doesn't contain the conditions needed to give a result, threshold & window sliders need to be adjusted to find the peaks etc? I just tried peakfind and indeed can't get it to output anything no matter if I try it on mono or stereo files, looks like a bug here?

 

On the installation thing, maybe there are hints here; http://unstablesound...x.php?board=2.0 or people who do run it on yosemite can help out / confirm it does work?  



#361 misk

misk

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 24 May 2016 - 20:54

I'm on Yosemite and had been getting the an output file was not produced – check your settings error message that has plagued so many people.

 

I uninstalled and reinstalled the tool, and recognized my mistake – I had pointed the tool to ~/cdpr7/ (top-level CDP dir) rather than ~/cdpr7/_cdp/_cdprogs/ (CDP programs dir).

 

Hopefully that helps someone else.

 

Also I don't know if this matters, but I added this line to my .bash_profile:

export CDP_SOUND_EXT=`launchctl getenv CDP_SOUND_EXT`

The reason being that I would type "env CDP_SOUND_EXT" at the terminal, and wouldn't get anything. I didn't realize that the launchctl env vars work differently...

 

yeah the env vars are kind of a pain in the ass. especially since the install directions are intended for older versions of osx and apple keep tinkering with env vars every release! I think i have an environment.plist in my library launchagents folder too, and i'm not sure if that is really what's doing the job.

 

the "an output file was not produced – check your settings"  can be for any number of reasons, that are based on individual CDP programs, and it can be tricky. it seems like blur blur is another good goto that is generic enough to run properly if you've got cdp installed correctly.

 

I'll be honest, I wanted to 'spring clean' my computer this year but was too afraid to mess with everything due to cdp working exactly the way i want it to on my yosemite mbp!


Edited by misk, 24 May 2016 - 20:57.


#362 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 29 May 2016 - 07:33

Probably been reported before somewhere :) , but got this notice when using 'distort interact 1 - interleave wavecycles from two infiles;

 

 

'C:\Users\pluge\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.1.0\Scripts\Tools\com.afta8.CdpInterface.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.

 
Please contact the author (afta8 | fathand@gmail.com  ) for assistance...
 
main.lua:447: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
  main.lua:447: in function 'launch_commands'
  main.lua:455: in function 'run_process'
  main.lua:1512: in function <main.lua:1360>

 

..trying to use two succeeding sampled instruments and output two the 3rd (empty) instrument in Renoise. If I however create a 3rd instrument myself, trying the same will output to it without problems. 



#363 emre_k

emre_k

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts

Posted 13 June 2016 - 09:57

Hey guys. Updated my installation tutorial for OSX. Should be much more helpful/easier to follow now. Give it a shot if you haven't been able to set up CDP yet:

 

http://vorpalsound.c...dp-setup-guide/


  • Djeroek, afta8 and ghostwerk like this

#364 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 13 June 2016 - 22:25

This is great, thanks for the clear guide.. I got a new Mac recently and had not been looking forward to installing CDP all over again.. It should be a breeze now :)
  • emre_k likes this

#365 artefact

artefact

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 June 2016 - 14:04

Hi!
For those interested, I could fix (on windows) the famous error "An output file not produced - check your settings".
Although I checked again and again that everything was ok (environment variable and all), I could not have the plugin working properly until I removed the CDP folder from the Program Files folder.
Hope it can help.

 



#366 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 23 August 2016 - 22:14

Heads up.. v7.1 of CDP released: http://unstablesound.net/cdp.html

Best news is that the environment variable no longer needs to be set, this should resolve THE NUMBER ONE INSTALLATION ISSUE people had with this.
  • Djeroek and emre_k like this

#367 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 24 August 2016 - 00:00

Heads up.. v7.1 of CDP released: http://unstablesound.net/cdp.html

Best news is that the environment variable no longer needs to be set, this should resolve THE NUMBER ONE INSTALLATION ISSUE people had with this.

 

excellent news, hopefully the cdp tool definitions work with this update, will test in a minute. Curious about any new programs too  B) .


  • afta8 likes this

#368 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 10 September 2016 - 22:25

Been testing out the new version some more today on a freshly re-installed mac.. Looks like the whole issue with setting the environment variable is now consigned to history.. You can now simply extract the process executables to a folder and point the CDP tool to that.. it seems no other installation step is needed if you are only using the Renoise tool with CDP.

 

Other bonus news is that all the CDP docs are now available online: http://www.ensemble-...tml/cdphome.htm

 

Given these changes I have done a tiny update to the tool to take advantage. The checks for the environment variable being set are now removed as this is no longer an issue. There is also a new [?] button next to the process list which will open the online docs in the default browser. Process definitions can now include a 'url' value which if set will open the page for that particular process, I have done this for the blur processes as an example.. If this is not set then pressing the [?] will take you to the A-Z index, maybe over time process URL's will get added in somehow  ;)  

 

Latest version is on the tools page.. Cheers


  • Conner_Bw and Djeroek like this

#369 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 11 September 2016 - 10:05

Nice one on the url addition, unfortunately I have no time at the moment to add these in for all definitions. A future rainy Sunday can surely be sacrificed ;-)

Maybe something smarter can be done in that regard, automatically parsing through the definition file looking at each second word in title, for example; "dsp["Envel Warp - Expand the envelope of a soundfile "]", then automagiacally searching the docs htmls for #WARP at the end of the link? ( http://www.ensemble-...roenvl.htm#WARP ) and auto-inserting the url portion into the definition file?  :P

 

Anyway quickly looked into possibly new additions, but seems like no new goodies from 7.0 to 7.1, I did find some previously missed stuff, from which hover looks interesting to create noisy stuff, add these to the definition file and press execute to save;

dsp["Sfecho Echo - Repeat a sound with timing and level adjustments between repeats"] = {
  cmds = { exe = "sfecho", mode = "echo", url = "http://www.ensemble-software.net/CDPDocs/html/cgroextd.htm#ECHOES", tip = "CDP's EXTEND LOOP enables you to step through a soundfile while adding each step-segment to an output soundfile. It does not allow you to specify an endtime beyond the end of the input sound (it cuts off). EXTEND REPETITIONS enables you to repeat a whole soundfile, whether overlapping or with a gap between repetitions: i.e., the time of repetition is beyond the end of the input sound. This new ECHO function complements these two features by placing the repeats after the end of the input soundfile." },
  arg1 = { name = "Input", input = "wav", tip = "Select the input sound to the process" },
  arg2 = { name = "Output", output = "wav", tip = "Select the output sound to the process" },
  arg3 = { name = "delay", min = length/1000, max = 3600, input = "brk", def = length/1000 + 1,  tip = "time in seconds between echo repeats (Range: greater than the length of insndfile to 3600 sec. [one hour]; thus delay cannot be less than the input duration)" },
  arg4 = { name = "attenuation", min = 0, max = 1, input = "brk", def = 0.2, tip = "relative (diminishing) level of each repeat (Range: 0 to 1)" },
  arg5 = { name = "totaldur", min = 0, max = 3600, def = 10 , tip = "maximum output duration (actual duration may be less); it must be a minimum of 2 x delay." },
  arg6 = { name = "-r", switch = "-r", min = 0, max = 1, input = "brk", tip = "randomisation of echo times (Range: 0 to 1)" },
  arg7 = { name = "-c", switch = "-c", min = 0, max = -96, def = 0, tip = "dB level at which decaying echoes cut off (Range: 0 to -96dB, Default: -96dB, i.e., silence)" },
}


dsp["Hover - Move through a file, zig-zag reading it at a given frequency"] = {
  cmds = { exe = "hover", mode = "hover", url = "http://www.ensemble-software.net/CDPDocs/html/cgroextd.htm#HOVER", tip = "HOVER is a variant of ZIGZAG, but instead of jumping about in the file, it hovers around a given time-point (loc), reading forwards and backwards from this point at a given speed, which also determines the width of the reading. Note that the location point is time-variable, so the pointer can move through the file over time or indeed move to any time-point you wish. You can also randomly vary the frequency and the location point. Musical Applications: HOVER gives considerable scope for prolonging a sound, by reading the file in a controlled zig-zag fashion. It might be used for extending short-lived percussive sounds of an inharmonic timbre; producing a series of ebb-and-flow shapes (each like BAKTOBAK); or prolonging a highly textured sound which is difficult to loop. A number of different HOVERings of the same sound mixed together should also produce an interesting texture out of the one source." },
  arg1 = { name = "Input", input = "wav", tip = "Select the input sound to the process" },
  arg2 = { name = "Output", output = "wav", tip = "Select the output sound to the process" },
  arg3 = { name = "frq", min = 0, max = 44100, input = "brk", def = length/1000 + 1,  tip = "rate of reading source-samples (in Hz)." },
  arg4 = { name = "loc", min = 0, max = length/1000, input = "brk", def = 0.2, tip = "time in infile from which samples are read." },
  arg5 = { name = "frqrand", min = 0, max = 1, input = "brk", tip = "degree of random variation of frequency (range 0-1)" },
  arg6 = { name = "locrand", min = 0, max = 1, input = "brk", tip = "degree of random variation of location (range 0-1)." },
  arg7 = { name = "splice", min = 0, max = 100, def = 5, tip = "length of the splice (range: 0-100 milliseconds). splice length must be less than 1 over twice the maximum frq used, e.g. <5 ms for 100 Hz." },
  arg8 = { name = "dur", min = 0, max = length/1000 + 60, input = "brk", tip = "total output duration." },
}

dsp["Brktopi - Convert a breakpoint pitch data file to a binary pitch data file"] = {
  cmds = { exe = "brktopi", mode = "brktopi", url = "http://www.ensemble-software.net/CDPDocs/html/crepitch.htm#BRKTOPI", tip = "BRKTOPI converts a breakpoint pitch data file (text) to a binary pitch data file (.for). The function is the opposite of REPITCH PCHTOTEXT. Musical applications: While a great variety of manipulation is possible with binary pitch data files (.for), there is unlimited scope for altering the pitch data in breakpoint (text) form. As only binary pitch data can be converted into sound (via MAKE), this function provides the necessary conversion to the binary format. You need to be aware, however, that altering pitch data is not altering the formant data with which it will be combined in MAKE. The pitches you specify will sound only to the extent of the level that their equivalent frequencies (fundamental and harmonics) have in the formant file." },
  arg1 = { name = "intextpitchfile", input = "data", tip = "breakpoint pitch data file (.txt, .brk or .pch) extracted by REPITCH GETPITCH or created / manipulated as text" },
  arg2 = { name = "outbinarypitchfile", output = "for", tip = "binary pitch data file (.for)" },
}

  • afta8 likes this

#370 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 11 September 2016 - 19:45

I did think of scripting the URL but I can't work out yet what the URL naming scheme is at the moment, the bit in the URL after 'htm' is always #MODENAME but the bit before is not always named in a consistent way for all functions.. will give it some more thought though maybe there is a way to send a google site search from the tool and display that instead.

 

Will also add those definitions to the next release, nice one for finding those!



#371 Makrotulpa

Makrotulpa

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 September 2016 - 02:37

I previously had Yosemite and Renoise/CDP etc all working fine.

 

Just updated to El Capitan and grabbed the latest version of CDP and your Tool and i'm getting the error again.  :wacko:

6eCFHW.jpg

 

I've checked "env" and the path is fine so I'm presuming it has something to do with step 2 in the Manualconfig.pdf

the launchd.conf file is in the "etc" dir and looks fine.

Any ideas?

 

I fixed it.  For anyone curious... here is an image which will hopefully indicate where I went wrong.
gWTnLu.jpg
 


Edited by Makrotulpa, 25 September 2016 - 03:34.

  • afta8 likes this

#372 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6671 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 09 October 2016 - 09:33

Oh snap, what's this!? Behind the scenes development of v2?  :ph34r:  :yeah:  :drummer:

 

The gui in the screenshot is incomplete, but a teaser;

29577772023_b33fe48785_h.jpgcdp teaser by Hiek A Matiek, on Flickr

 

 

 


  • afta8, misk, radian and 3 others like this

#373 robohymn

robohymn

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria, BC

Posted 09 October 2016 - 18:55

^ my jaw actually dropped when I saw this picture just now. I went, "hoooooooly...... shiiiiiiiii........".

 

Awesome....!! Just the last few days I've been messing around a lot with the CDP morph functions, with the right settings the end result is better than anything I've heard from Zynaptiq Morph 2 (though Morph 2 is obviously real-time).

 

If/when this new version of the Renoise CDP tool works, it looks like it has the potential to be the best CDP front-end going, which is pretty amazing.


Edited by robohymn, 09 October 2016 - 18:57.

  • Djeroek and afta8 like this

#374 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 10 October 2016 - 22:07

It's a matter of when, but it won't be anytime soon because, well.. coding is hard :)

The major addition is obviously the processing grid which will really allow CDP to be used in the way it was intended. It is exciting stuff and I'm quite motivated to get it done, so watch this space :)


  • radian and emre_k like this

#375 emre_k

emre_k

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts

Posted 11 October 2016 - 11:10

Can't... wait... :panic:


  • afta8 likes this