Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0): Note Properties


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 June 2014 - 21:00

On Tool Site:
 
http://www.renoise.c...note-properties
  

 
Attached File  ledger.scripts.NoteProperties_V1.xrnx   6.3KB   107 downloads
 

  
 
Note Preoperties lrg.png
 

This tool gives you extra controls to manipulate the currently selected note and its properties. It is useful for visual feedback and fine adjustments of values via the mouse.

 

It`s particularly useful for drum programming, adding groove, ghost notes etc.

A small example mp3 beat made with its help;

http://picosong.com/9jCY/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
renoise keyboard shortcut::
Tools: Note Properties
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 
The GUI updates as you move about the pattern.
Note: The rotaries can be used with "Control + Mouse Left-Click-drag" for fine adjustments
 
Row 1: Can change the pitch of the current note with the dropdown or nudge a semitone
 
Row 2: Rotary sliders for changing vol/pan/delay column values. Also nudge buttons for the delay value that will shift the note up or down a row when min (00) or max (FF) values are reached. This will move the note to the first available column on the new line.
 
Row 3: Allows you to set pattern follow behaviour, so when you are looping and want to change values you can switch follow off easily:



-------------------------------
 

v1.0

The user setting for  the renoise Lock keyboard focus state (in the renoise view menu) will not be modified now.  The reason it did before was due to a workaround in the tool to get keys properly passed to the pattern editor.  This fix should not affect people who leave `Lock keyboard focus` enabled, but should work properly now for those who don`t

--Following bug should be fixed:
adding false notes very occasionally while playing and the GUI is open

v.0.18
Note Properties sml.png  
 
 


Edited by Ledger, 30 October 2015 - 18:22.

  • Denim, Conner_Bw, Djeroek and 5 others like this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 June 2014 - 22:17

New version first post


v.0.18
--Following bug should be fixed:
adding false notes very occasionally while playing and the GUI is open

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#3 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2014 - 12:59

Up on Tools Page:

 

http://www.renoise.c...note-properties


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#4 Denim

Denim

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1024 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bergen, Norway
  • Interests:soundcloud.com/novadope

Posted 08 September 2014 - 13:54

nice one!

This will definitely encourage me to bother using more finer values, rather than the usual lazy "40", "10", "80" etc.
Thanks  :yeah: 

 


soundcloud | studio 

 

join in ---> renoise user map


#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2014 - 15:58

nice one!

This will definitely encourage me to bother using more finer values, rather than the usual lazy "40", "10", "80" etc.
Thanks  :yeah: 

 

 

Yes my songs before this tool were littered with those values! :)

 

I`m starting to push the boat out a lot more now!

 

 

edit:  Just to re-state, that for finest control of the rotaries, use ctrl + left mouse drag.  This makes it eassier to control to +/-1 values.  The delay nudge button works to the +/-1 increments with the added feature of nudging the note up and down the pattern when max (FF) or min (00) values are hit. 


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 hayd.a

hayd.a

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 September 2014 - 18:24

Erm, I don't see it under the Tool menu. There isn't other error during installation, but it obviously means I can't bring up the GUI. Any suggetstion about how I generate a debug report?



#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 September 2014 - 18:30

Erm, I don't see it under the Tool menu. There isn't other error during installation, but it obviously means I can't bring up the GUI. Any suggetstion about how I generate a debug report?

 

 

You bring up the GUI via the keyboard shortcut: "Note Properties": 

 

Note prop Keyboard assign.PNG


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 hayd.a

hayd.a

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 September 2014 - 09:58

Got it, Thanks, very neat tool. I can't decide if it would be be improved by having an option to select a collection of notes or not.



#9 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 September 2014 - 10:08

Got it, Thanks, very neat tool. I can't decide if it would be be improved by having an option to select a collection of notes or not.

 

I have considered this, though there is always the trade off from simplicity; having to check what mode you are in etc.

 

If you want a tool that can quickly set a selection of Velocity, Pan or Delay values I have another keyboard operated tool here that may help:

 

http://www.renoise.c...ls/setmetavalue


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#10 birgit

birgit

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vienna / Austria

Posted 30 September 2014 - 12:22

this tool is an incredible help for doing fine edits!

 

thanks a lot!

 

i do not know if it is possible to connect the sliders to cc-inputs to be altered by a midi controller...



#11 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 September 2014 - 17:15


i do not know if it is possible to connect the sliders to cc-inputs to be altered by a midi controller...

 

 

That`s something I can look at, but it is not currently possible in this version 0.18 


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#12 newbeeo

newbeeo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Westford, MA USA
  • Interests:Composing, creating instruments in Reaktor

Posted 06 July 2015 - 16:51

Your tool doesn't work on my computer. It doesn't show in the tool menu. I have mac os 10.10.3  4ghz core i7 iMac and renoise 3.01. It would be real nice if you'd update the tool.


iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch
4 GHz i7 32 GB
OS X Yosemite
Motu ultralite mk3 Hybrid
AKAI mini


#13 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2015 - 20:19

Your tool doesn't work on my computer. It doesn't show in the tool menu. I have mac os 10.10.3  4ghz core i7 iMac and renoise 3.01. It would be real nice if you'd update the tool.

 

Hi newbeeo,

 

This tool does not have a menu entry but a keybinding that can be assigned like all other shortcuts; in the renoise preferences 

 

The shortcut to assign to the key/ combination of your choice is:

 

Tools: ~Note Properties 


Edited by Ledger, 06 July 2015 - 20:19.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#14 newbeeo

newbeeo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Westford, MA USA
  • Interests:Composing, creating instruments in Reaktor

Posted 08 July 2015 - 15:28

Thanks works just fine


  • Ledger likes this

iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch
4 GHz i7 32 GB
OS X Yosemite
Motu ultralite mk3 Hybrid
AKAI mini


#15 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 September 2015 - 18:25

--beta 1.0:

 

The user setting for  the renoise Lock keyboard focus state (in the renoise view menu) will not be modified now.  The reason it did before was due to a workaround in the tool to get keys properly passed to the pattern editor.  This fix should not affect people who leave `Lock keyboard focus` enabled, but should work properly now for those who don`t

 

new beta in first post, bumped to version 1.0 with the quoted fix,

 

Will be added to tools site soon if no problems found

 

http://forum.renoise...es/#entry318163


Edited by Ledger, 01 September 2015 - 18:29.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#16 robohymn

robohymn

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria, BC

Posted 04 September 2015 - 03:25

So useful for breakbeat-ish type stuff. Thanks.



#17 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 September 2015 - 20:04

So useful for breakbeat-ish type stuff. Thanks.

 

Ghost notes can certainly require getting into that precise detail!

 

Just a heads aswell up on another tool I wrote recently, that certainly speeds up beat creation here.  I tend to use it in conjunction with Note Properties:

 

http://forum.renoise...ick-vol-ahdsr/ 


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#18 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2876 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 20 September 2015 - 11:29

Hi,

I really like this idea of the the tool, IMO should be included in the advanced Editor column on the top!

And this is the point I don't like while using any tool: the pop up windows of a tool do not integrate into the gui, instead overlay some content.

So I have these suggestions for your tool (maybe they are already inside and I did not realize):

- two shortcuts named "increase value under cursor" and "decrease value under cursor", so you can for example hold down alt + cursor right to increase the value quickly and opposite. Mouse wheel + modifier would be also nice, but I guess it's not possible to target.

- what about a shortcut in context menu track properties?

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#19 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 September 2015 - 13:52


So I have these suggestions for your tool (maybe they are already inside and I did not realize):

- two shortcuts named "increase value under cursor" and "decrease value under cursor", so you can for example hold down alt + cursor right to increase the value quickly and opposite. Mouse wheel + modifier would be also nice, but I guess it's not possible to target.

- what about a shortcut in context menu track properties?

 

-Shortcuts could be interesting to look at, but mousewheel is not possible with current API.
 

-Menu makes sense here, will add it sometime

 

 

 

Hi,

I really like this idea of the the tool, IMO should be included in the advanced Editor column on the top!

And this is the point I don't like while using any tool: the pop up windows of a tool do not integrate into the gui, instead overlay some content.

 

There was some discussion about tools modifying the renoise GUI sometime ago,  I think the safest idea was to have a tools, toolbar of some sort, to save renoise getting too much of a botched facelift!


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#20 JEHighley

JEHighley

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 October 2015 - 22:17

I really like this tool.

 

Would you consider adding an option to make the tool-window appear next to, or under, the note being manipulated?

 

I've been using Note Properties on a larger screen and often the note I'm looking at is further eye-distance away from the center point in the screen where your tool-windows opens. I realize this is nitpicking a bit, but I'm just suggesting it might improve the 'flow' to have this tool pop up in view right next to the note it's working on (Or, is this already a thing and I'm doing something wrong?)

 

Renoise Forum 2015-10-23 .jpg



#21 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 October 2015 - 22:30

I`m sorry to disappoint yourself and Mr H. Simpson especially! :) 

 

but it isn`t possible to do with the current API.  Tool GUI`s all open centred by default.


Edited by Ledger, 24 October 2015 - 13:38.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#22 NER

NER

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 254 posts

Posted 25 July 2017 - 21:01

Hey I've installed this in 3.1 but I don't see it anywhere. It's not listed in any drop down menu or anything. Whats going on?



#23 Neurogami

Neurogami

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 587 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale AZ
  • Interests:Art, music, technology

Posted 25 July 2017 - 21:22

Hey I've installed this in 3.1 but I don't see it anywhere. It's not listed in any drop down menu or anything. Whats going on?

 

There is no code to explicitly add a menu item.  There is only code that allows it to be bound to a keyboard shortcut.



#24 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 July 2017 - 17:53

Yes, there is no menu,  the shortcut for this tool is under:

 

Global:Tools:Note Properties

 

index.php?app=core&module=attach&section


Edited by Ledger, 27 July 2017 - 17:55.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites