Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.0, 3.1) : Stepp0r (Launchpad Step-Sequencer)

launchpad step-sequencer

  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 Mivo

Mivo

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 30 January 2016 - 06:12

This looks interesting! I'm looking into getting a "creative" controller, mostly for use with Renoise. Considered an Ohm RBG, which Duplex supports, but it's costly, and it seems the Launchpad is much better supported anyway.

 

Can anyone confirm that Stepp0r (and Duplex) work with the MK2? Or the Pro version? I think the MK2 is probably better value (paired with a LaunchControl perhaps) than the Pro. Would definitely prefer the newer models as they support a color spectrum.



#27 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 30 January 2016 - 13:52

Hey Mivo, I'll check the development manual of the MK2 soon, and can tell you than if it works theoretically.

If it is not working and you are able to write lua code, there is not much you have to change to make it running, maybe 3 hours of work, I would help you with that of course. 

 

I'm planing to support more devices, but for that I need to redesign a lot of the code, so it will take a lot of time.

 

But it would be great if somebody could say if it really works, or not.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#28 Mivo

Mivo

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 30 January 2016 - 15:58

I can't program, I'm afraid! :) Two and a half decades ago I used to be proficient in GFA Basic, Locomotive Basic, ST Basic, and early Visual Basic, and ten years ago I dabbled a little in Ruby and Pure Basic, but I definitely don't have the skill to modify Lua scripts! (Though in a way that could be fun!)

 

I might just take the plunge and order a MK2 next week or the week after. Haven't really decided yet, but Stepp0r does exactly what I envision, and perhaps that'd satisfy my hardware itch at a relatively small price (compared to the Push, Maschine, etc or standalone boxes). If I get one, I'll be happy to be a Meerschweinchen for testing, if nobody else has reported positive or negative experiences with Stepp0r and the Launchpad MK2 by then. Need to ponder this a bit more, though.



#29 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 01 February 2016 - 21:20

Hey Mivo, 

 

I checked the manual. The significantly changed the API to the Launchpad MK2. I don't think it will work with the MK2.

 

Sorry dude! I also need some time to make some space for migrating the tool also to MK2.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#30 The XOR

The XOR

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 February 2016 - 12:10

Palo,

 

I'm contacting you in this forum because I cannot find your email on GitHub.

I added Launchpad PRO support in a new fork, called steppr0. Obviously all credits are YOURS (I didn't touch the logic, only modified the MIDI data flow). 

If you are not happy with this, please let me know and I will remove the source code from github. The new fork can be found @ https://github.com/The-XOR/steppr0

 

Kind regards,

X:


  • Palo van Dalo likes this

#31 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 28 February 2016 - 12:16

Palo,

 

I'm contacting you in this forum because I cannot find your email on GitHub.

I added Launchpad PRO support in a new fork, called steppr0. Obviously all credits are YOURS (I didn't touch the logic, only modified the MIDI data flow). 

If you are not happy with this, please let me know and I will remove the source code from github. The new fork can be found @ https://github.com/The-XOR/steppr0

 

Kind regards,

X:

 

Can you create a pull-request agains the development branch? And I will have a look at it very soon.

 

Thank you a lot for your Involment.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#32 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 28 February 2016 - 12:37

Can you create a pull-request agains the development branch? And I will have a look at it very soon.

 

Thank you a lot for your Involment.

 

I created a PR my self. Lets start discussing on it :D https://github.com/m...stepp0r/pull/90


Edited by Palo van Dalo, 28 February 2016 - 13:04.

Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#33 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 11 April 2016 - 21:45

Will Stepp0r work with the Launchpad Pro?

 

XOR and me are working right now, to make it work also for the launchpad pro. Do you want to be a beta tester? 


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#34 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 11 April 2016 - 23:41

haha Meerschweinchen = Guinea Pig


"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#35 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 26 April 2016 - 20:25

I published the the LaunchpadPRO version of Stepp0r ported by XOR in the plugin area. The LaunchpadPRO version is beta right now. Would be nice if some people would check it out and give some feedback.


  • slippycurb likes this

Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#36 Eran Dax Lonker

Eran Dax Lonker

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 26 May 2016 - 21:13

hey Palo ... great tool ... love it!

is it possible to make the hold time for STOP a little shorter?

 

is it possible to use the mode switch key (by holding them down - or maybe another key) as a shift key to add the following features:

  • adding of columns or using 4 more columns per track
  • track navigation (jumping to the next and previous)
  • some kind of velocity rotation while adding a note (step) repeated. (for instance: holding shift plus adding a note to the grid once, volume is low (25%). Keep holding shift and adding the same note again volume rises to 50% ... and so on.  I think this could be cool and faster way to add steps with different volumes).

another feature would be nice

  • holding down the pad of an already added note while changing an effect value, keeps the note and changes the volume/panorma/delay of the note only. (so it's not needed to add a note again for changing - for instance - the volume)

Edited by Eran Dax Lonker, 27 May 2016 - 07:22.


#37 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 27 May 2016 - 09:22

 

hey Palo ... great tool ... love it!

is it possible to make the hold time for STOP a little shorter?

 

 

 

Thanks! sure! I will create a Ticket for that at github.

 

 

 

is it possible to use the mode switch key (by holding them down - or maybe another key) as a shift key to add the following features:
  • adding of columns or using 4 more columns per track
  • track navigation (jumping to the next and previous)
  • some kind of velocity rotation while adding a note (step) repeated. (for instance: holding shift plus adding a note to the grid once, volume is low (25%). Keep holding shift and adding the same note again volume rises to 50% ... and so on.  I think this could be cool and faster way to add steps with different volumes).

 

Sorry about the 4 column limitation. I had something similar in mind. But ... :smashed: I realized at my presentations that this thing is already quite complex. Every additional feature would make it more an more hard to understand for people. This is why I canceled some ideas, which make the plugin more hard to understand, .... Anyway. I'm more thinking of a redesign of the low half and the right side of the pattern editor.

Your Idea of using time for volume would help to achieve that (very good Idea). I don't think people use the effect row anyway, at least I don't  :blink:.

 

I'm just sketching now !Effect row is switchable by scene buttons :

  • scene 1 = columns (8 columns)
  • scene 2 = delay
  • scene 3 = panning
  • scene 4 = volume
  • scene 5 = ???

pressing theses buttons will create some kind of time important step mode you described on volume.

 


another feature would be nice

  • holding down the pad of an already added note while changing an effect value, keeps the note and changes the volume/panorma/delay of the note only. (so it's not needed to add a note again for changing - for instance - the volume)

 

I know what you mean. Same here, had something in mind to do that, but never achieved to find a good way to implement that. I had in mind to use the copy/paste mode for that. Selecting multiple steps and change the effect should change the effect parameter of everything that is selected. But this workflow is quite complicated in my opinion. Will create a ticket for that if there isn't one already :walkman:

 

Thanks for your ideas.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#38 Eran Dax Lonker

Eran Dax Lonker

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 27 May 2016 - 15:04

thanks for your fast reply.

maybe I'm wrong, but I think there is one button of the vertical round button line left (the second from bottom) that's completely unused atm. why not using this one for a shift mode to switch to a second column page.

on the other hand I think a column and track navigation instead of having switches for a limited number of columns per track could be an big advantage.

 

about changing the "fx settings" of an already added step:
in the Duplex step sequencer module we have the possibility to change the volume of already added steps by holding them down and making changes to the volume at the same time. that's a very easy workflow.

 

Attached Images

  • Launchpad-PatternEditorMode.png

Edited by Eran Dax Lonker, 27 May 2016 - 15:04.


#39 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 27 May 2016 - 15:20

maybe I'm wrong, but I think there is one button of the vertical round button line left (the second from bottom) that's completely unused atm. why not using this one for a shift mode to switch to a second column page.

on the other hand I think a column and track navigation instead of having switches for a limited number of columns per track could be an big advantage.

 

You are right, it is not used at the moment.

 

There is a limitation on columns per track already by renoise (it's 12 columns max) so haveing only 8 columns shouldn't be a BIG disadvantage (I'm talking about the plan I described above).

I don't like that next/previous Track/Column approach, because it couples the launchpad context to tight to the Computer screen. You can't see (very easy and quickly) what column or track you are right now, which is very important I thing.

 

Example : I have the Mixer or SampleEditor open in Renoise and fiddle around with some parameters. I want to be able to punch in pattern on different columns, this is only possible when I know which column I am in.

 

about changing the "fx settings" of an already added step:
in the Duplex step sequencer module we have the possibility to change the volume of already added steps by holding them down and making changes to the volume at the same time. that's a very easy workflow.

 

I will have a look at that, to get an Inspiration.

 

Cheers.


Edited by Palo van Dalo, 27 May 2016 - 15:21.

  • Eran Dax Lonker likes this

Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#40 Eran Dax Lonker

Eran Dax Lonker

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 27 May 2016 - 18:02

two suggestions I forgot ...

it would be cool to play the instrument on the Stepp0r's keyboard with the current fx-setting (volume etc.)
and/or an option for playing the sound everytime you add a step (of course with the current volume etc.). :)

 

a bug / problem:

 

if you have some steps on the first column of a track and the pattern is playing, the sounds you playing with Stepp0r's keyboard will be terminated by the notes played by Renoise. You have to move the Renoise cursor to another (free) column to play the current instrument interruption-free with the launchpad.


Edited by Eran Dax Lonker, 27 May 2016 - 18:18.


#41 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 28 May 2016 - 20:21

I'll have a closer look at the suggenstions.

 

Did you check mute grouping in your instrument?

 

Anyway, it bothers me, that it's not easy to update the renoise cursor (on the colum) via scripting, so you can just change the column, for recording or playing (as you described it). I hope I'll find a solution for that, soon.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#42 Bosch

Bosch

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 October 2016 - 21:38

There ist still support for the launchpad pro. Does anyone use stepp0r with launchpad MK2 ?

 

Cheers



#43 snatchnuman

snatchnuman

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DD, Germany

Posted 06 November 2016 - 18:53

I've recently bought a Launchpad Mini MK2 for the sole purpose of using it in conjunction with stepp0r. Love the idea of this tool.

However, I can't seem to get it to work properly.

 

For one, the keyboard does not work as described in the documentation. The octave buttons do nothing at all, the keyboard seems to be stuck on C-5.

 

Furthermore, a note is triggered on pressing almost every single button on the device.

 

I've also tried it with starting an OSC server from within Renoise's preferences window.

 

I'm completely lost on this. Is this a possible bug or lack of support for MK2 devices? Or am I just stupid and missed a step or two in setting this up?

 

Thanks in advance for any reply!



#44 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 06 November 2016 - 19:03

Sorry to hear that. You are definitively not to stupid. MK2 is not supported yet. And because I'm very very busy right now I can't tell you when it is, or if it even will some day.

If you're willing to adjust the code for the MK2 I'm would help you with the code. I think the only thing you have to do is adjust the midi-codes which are send.

You can send me a personal message to discuss that further. (I'm living in DD right now as well).


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#45 snatchnuman

snatchnuman

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DD, Germany

Posted 06 November 2016 - 19:15

Thanks for your reply!

 

I'll look into amending the code to get it to work with the MK2. I'll send you a PM on that.

 

And we should meet up some time, since you're in Dresden as well!



#46 Palo van Dalo

Palo van Dalo

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin

Posted 06 November 2016 - 19:17

Sure here you later, but I thought DD is Düsseldorf.


Stepp0r | palovandalo.com

Linux User


#47 snatchnuman

snatchnuman

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DD, Germany

Posted 06 November 2016 - 19:18

Ah, nevermind then [:


  • Palo van Dalo likes this

#48 Saintlights

Saintlights

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 January 2017 - 17:11

Hey Palo,

 

thanks for a great sequencer, I love it! I bought a Launchpad a while ago to use with the plugin Playtime for Reaper. I really like Playtime for final arranging with samples and analog synths, BUT I didn't find a good, stable way to record my patterns (items) without having to watch the screen and/or stopping the music once in a while. I googled "Launchpad sequencer", and found Stepp0r which actually made me buy a Renoise license right away ( I haven't used a tracker since 1996 :).

 

I was glad to find that Renoise could do most things that are standard these days, like sending midi to external synths, slicing samples, ReWire, mapping parameters to MIDI controllers and so on.... quite different compared to FastTracker2 :)

 

Stepp0r makes it even more fun, and I like the Pattern Matrix mode very much! Personally I think this plugin works and looks the best when used with no more than 8 instruments/tracks, but it's great that it's not limited to that.

 

I have a question (more will come), is there a way to "record" a pattern matrix jam, and then save the pattern chain that you created live, with the project? (Like in Playtime or in Ableton Live). It's not the end of the world if this is impossible, I've tried rewiring Renoise to Reaper and recorded a jam there as audio and that works great as well!

 

Thanks!

//Daniel (Saintlights on Soundcloud)



#49 m0rd3nt

m0rd3nt

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 April 2017 - 16:14

Stepp0r is awesome!  There are a few bugs (at least on linux) but it works really nice!

 

Here's my current setup, only took a couple hours after never using renoise or stepp0r before.

 

 

-m



#50 snatchnuman

snatchnuman

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DD, Germany

Posted 14 May 2017 - 13:13

After months of on-and-off trying to get my LP Mini MK2 to work with Stepp0r by adding a new flavour to the source, I still haven't made any progress ... however, if anyone wants to try and make the neccessary changes to the code themselves, here's a map of the MIDI messages Renoise receives from the device:

 

0M0zZe1.png







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: launchpad, step-sequencer