Analog synthesizer to use with Renoise?

Hello people.

Not sure if this belongs in the beginner section as its not really about the software itself, sorry if it does.I have been using Renoise for a good 9-10 years, to be honest I havent really even explored that much of the software itself and am by no means an expert on it. I just found what I needed to be able to make some glitchy, IDM’y breakcore stuff! lol However I am trying to broaden my horizons. I dont use any hardware at all, and I have got to the point where I would really like to experiment further, I am especially interested in getting some warm lush synths and being a bit more hands on, you know physically messing around turning knobs n pressing buttons! where do I start?! I know I could prob go google stuff but I thought it would be cool to come and hear what you guys in the Renoise community have to say as afterall I will only be trying to link it up to Renoise. I am a proper beginner when it comes to stuff like this as I dont even use a MIDI keyboard, I just use my standard computer keyboard to punch my notes in :slight_smile: so, what is a good little synthesizer I could get to start off with, do I just plug it in and an interface comes up like a VST but I controll it physically?! too many questions! any feedback would be much appreciated!

My suggestion would be to get a small analogue synth for the purpose of making interesting noises, then sample that and record it into a renoise instrument.

Is it perfect? No, but it’s a place to start. It will get you some lush sounds, while working within the renoise structure with which you’re familiar.

Later, you can get more sophisticated.

Yeah I have an arsenal of hardware and I do a live techno thing aside from what i do with Renoise. When I want to incorporate my gear sounds with renoise its really best to just record them into samples and mangle them in renoise. It’s what renoise is best at really.