Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 3 votes

Click`n`drag to change values in the patter editor


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 hmā

hmā

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tukums

Posted 30 September 2014 - 13:53

Would be a nice work-flow improvement to be able change notes and volume, pan, delay values by simply clicking on them and dragging up/down just like it works in sample properties with volume/transpose etc boxes. Probably in combination with some keyboard modifier, like ctrl-alt or something.


  • Ledger, Djeroek, ffx and 5 others like this

#2 hhit

hhit

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 December 2014 - 00:56

+1 on this

 

Could be a right modifier + right click and drag up/down.



#3 NER

NER

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 255 posts

Posted 26 July 2017 - 17:00

Bumping this. I don't think people appreciate how good this would be in improving usability.

 

It doesn't seem like it would be hard to do either. 


  • Supraom likes this

#4 e-o-n

e-o-n

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 July 2018 - 00:48

+1



#5 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 19 July 2018 - 03:38

I have to really

-1

This would slow down workflow.

From clicking the value to set the focus and entering a new 2 digit value by keyboard..

To (modifier key+) clicking the value and dragging up and down until correct..

To reach a certain value would estimately become much more time consuming and usability impacting, slower to reach a precise value by dragging.

Please refer to the manual of your computer keyboard on how to push two keyboard buttons sequensively.

Edited by EatMe, 19 July 2018 - 03:38.


#6 NER

NER

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 255 posts

Posted 03 September 2018 - 05:44

I have to really

-1

This would slow down workflow.

From clicking the value to set the focus and entering a new 2 digit value by keyboard..

To (modifier key+) clicking the value and dragging up and down until correct..

To reach a certain value would estimately become much more time consuming and usability impacting, slower to reach a precise value by dragging.

Please refer to the manual of your computer keyboard on how to push two keyboard buttons sequensively.

 

 

I cancel your -1 with another +1

 

It would obviously improve workflow to have both keyboard input and click n' drag. 

 

It's annoying to have to set edit mode, click on the note to highlight it, then hunt for the desired replacement note. 



#7 stoiximan

stoiximan

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Posted 03 September 2018 - 07:56

Great idea



#8 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:EBM, IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 06 September 2018 - 21:50

Huge +1 it's a great idea.



-1

This would slow down workflow.

 

 

There was more to your post, none of which adequately supplied evidence for why or how this would "slow down workflow."

 

If there's a good argument against this idea, we've yet to hear it.


old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#9 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1854 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 07 September 2018 - 07:16

Having a window (made with lua) that controls note cell parameters haven't proven to be useful before. There's no reason to believe that it would be more useful when 'forced' upon the user.

 

However, it could be a good idea if it provided something additional. Like 'swipe' drawing the values as envelopes, just like automation. Otherwise it's a -1


Edited by joule, 07 September 2018 - 07:20.


#10 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1581 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 September 2018 - 08:11

With the current version, when you click on a cell, it is selected first (all the parameters, note, instrument, volume, panning, delay and sample effect). So you can drag that cell up and down or clone it using CTRL. If you press ALT + click, it will select the sub-column of that cell. They are 6 subcolumns. If there is any cell selected, and then press SHIFT plus click on another cell, you are allocating the selection area. Both CTRL, ALT, and SHIFT are used.

 

I particularly like this idea. But we should study how to add it, if possible with a single step. Maybe combining CTRL + ALT, and it would only modify the subcolumn. This would be very useful to correct data already written. In no case will fuck the workflow.

 

I manufactured a tool called "Rodent" that was just this, a floating window with 4 sliding bars, used to correct data. Besides, the sliding bars mark the range (maximum and minimum value). It's more VPDpro was born with this idea. But it has a module, which is also another floating window, which serves to correct all the effects parameters. This is very useful precisely because it marks the limits of the range of valid values ​​for each type of parameter. The problem of a tool is that it is a floating window, it is not a direct and native control (a window you must select it, it implies a jump between the pattern editor and the window, this is exactly what bothers the work flow, in all window tools). If it were native, it would improve the workflow in this specific case.
 
Moreover, I wish there was a way to use it directly with a single click and drag up and down and out quickly by changing the values, and press a modifier key, and be slower, with precision. So, how to add all that under the hood of Renoise without modifying what is already there (what I mentioned at the beginning)?

:excl: Development of my tools: Piano Roll EditorKangarooX120SamRenderPhraseTouch

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#11 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1854 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 07 September 2018 - 08:36

I think that Ledger's "Velocity delay pan automation" is already the close to "perfect" implementation. However, it didn't quite work for me in 3.1 last time I tried it.

 

The only thing missing is the visual connection between points and pattern lines, hence why I suggested something like a vertical 'automation lane' in the pattern. I think there's something like this in "Radium" (?).

 

Like I said.. simple rotaries/sliders to adjust value by value, doesn't bring anything that's really of use. It's with lines and swiping it starts to get interesting - for instance controlling value interpolation in a range. Or selecting multiple lines and decrease/increase multiple values (like "trimming" an automation).


Edited by joule, 07 September 2018 - 08:57.


#12 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1581 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 September 2018 - 09:12

Like I said.. simple rotaries/sliders to adjust value by value, doesn't bring anything that's really of use. It's with lines and swiping it starts to get interesting - for instance controlling value interpolation in a range. Or selecting multiple lines and decrease/increase multiple values (like "trimming" an automation).

 

With simple sliders, you can modify the individual values of the cell where the cursor is, or also all the values within the selection area. I have not programmed it, but I think it would be easy to do it. This is already the multiple modification of the same parameter.
 
Basically, a tool with simple sliding bars that is automatically updated, is like a visual zoom of the cell. It is really useful, especially for people who do not know the parameters very well, and their value limits. For those experts in Renoise, it may not be so advantageous. A clear example. Tell a novice that the value 30 in the panning sub-column is a left panning value. If we talk about specific parameters of effects, the subject is much harder to understand, memorize, and that's where sliding bars help a lot visually.

:excl: Development of my tools: Piano Roll EditorKangarooX120SamRenderPhraseTouch

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#13 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 07 September 2018 - 09:39

Well, for mouse and trackpad lovers, I would appreciate mouse events in the lua api, so I could push and drag any value quickly if I like. On the other hand I USE THIS HANDY TOOL, WHICH MAKES VALUE CHANGING A BLISS: http://renoise.com/t...t-and-transpose  


  • Ledger likes this

Test system: macOS 10.13.4, HFS+. Firewire Audio, i7 4770, 8GB Ram, GTX1050 2GB, 48kHz
GUI Automation RecorderNative DSP Context MenuTuned ShortcutsUnified Value Shift And Transpose | Jump To From Send Modified (Docs) | Quick Template | Nisanmol's Groove Tool FixedThemes


#14 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3648 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2018 - 16:00

+1 on OP (at least trying with an alpha test version)

 

 

 

Well, for mouse and trackpad lovers, I would appreciate mouse events in the lua api, so I could push and drag any value quickly if I like. On the other hand I USE THIS HANDY TOOL, WHICH MAKES VALUE CHANGING A BLISS: http://renoise.com/t...t-and-transpose

 

Nice implementation there ffx!

 

Do you have forum threads for your tools?  Couldn`t see one linked on tools page.


Edited by Ledger, 08 September 2018 - 16:02.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites