Jump to content


Photo

[fixed 3.1] Inserting new slice markers deletes notes

slice markers

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 09 January 2015 - 14:55

I have this really uncomfortable behaviour since I'm using slice markers:

 

Let's say I have one slice marker in a sample. I trigger it in a pattern and everything works. Now I insert a slice marker before the one I am triggering and the triggering note is deleted from all patterns that were using it. That really makes it difficult to work with slice markers, because I can only work "forward" and never "backwards" in the sample and am afraid of inserting new markers in the middle or start because then my patterns are corrupted. Is there any fix or workaround for that?

 

Cheers. Otherwise, I love the slice markers, really.


  • Denim and Syflom like this

#2 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 16 January 2015 - 20:15

I thought I had a workaround for that issue by swapping existing slice markers - but it turns out that swapping can delete notes as well. 

So...

 

I can only work "forward" and never "backwards" in the sample and am afraid of inserting new markers in the middle or start because then my patterns are corrupted

 

this, I think, describe the problem very well. Right now, you sort of have to pre-plan whatever you are going to use the slices for, or you would risk deleting notes that were part of the song. And pre-planning absolutely kills the creative spark.

 

So, I guess we have to come up with a better alternative that does not involve deleting notes, but somehow just pushes them into unassigned slots?


  • Denim, Ledger and ilski like this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#3 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 17 January 2015 - 00:34

If you know it works like that in Renoise, why not make sure the sample is sliced correctly before inserting notes in the pattern editor, pre-planning as danoise calls it? Not that I mind seeing it changed for the better, but it seems like most people using slices work around it in their workflow. 



#4 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 20 January 2015 - 11:49

Hey, I sometimes try to "slice" long samples like 20 minutes, trying to find the best spots there. Sometimes I look backwards, or random order and then I find something else that fits and would like to use that as well. I think it's not a problem when working with short samples, but for long ones, you can't "pre-slice"...



#5 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 20 January 2015 - 13:54

Hey, I sometimes try to "slice" long samples like 20 minutes, trying to find the best spots there. Sometimes I look backwards, or random order and then I find something else that fits and would like to use that as well. I think it's not a problem when working with short samples, but for long ones, you can't "pre-slice"...

 

I understand, but it sucks because you have placed note-events in the pattern editor, events which are deleted when adding a new marker before the one represented in the pattern. My point is, why add note-events in the pattern at all, previewing, working with these large samples?

 

I sometimes import a >3 minute mp3 to cut up, preview parts in the sample editor using mouse and pressing enter, when I find potentially good sections, I cut these from the sample and paste them in new instruments, make more workable chunks.



#6 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 20 January 2015 - 15:05

@ilski: Its great that you bring up this issue. I totally forgot to report
this. I hope this will be fixed in future releases. Renoise also remove
notes, when you move slice markers over other slice markers, too.

My point is, why add note-events in the pattern at all, previewing,
working with these large samples.

@Djeroek: The answer is simple, experimenting. Just an example: Maybe you
have a long bass sample with alot filter and pitchbend modulations and a
drum track. Now create 5-6 slices on different interesting spots of the bass
sample. Try to progamming a rythmic bass melody, just with the slice notes
in the pattern editor. Play the track and now move the slice markers around
to test some other spots. With this method, you can create very interesting
sound patterns, getting inspired. You can do the same for more melodic
stuff.

Renoise should swap notes instead of removing, when a new slice was add
before the used ones and when i move slice markers to change the order.

#7 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 20 January 2015 - 23:10

Exactly. Right now Im making music for a short movie and sometimes I revisit samples after several days, so pre-slicing is not the way to go. Sometimes I find something at the end of a 10 minute recording and then find out something from the beginning fits as well... and then it start getting difficult when the notes disappear.



#8 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 23 January 2015 - 09:29

Let's say I have one slice marker in a sample. I trigger it in a pattern and everything works. Now I insert a slice marker before the one I am triggering and the triggering note is deleted from all patterns that were using it. That really makes it difficult to work with slice markers, because I can only work "forward" and never "backwards" in the sample and am afraid of inserting new markers in the middle or start because then my patterns are corrupted. Is there any fix or workaround for that?


This was of course not done on purpose. Thanks for reporting. Found the problem and fixed it for the next Renoise update...
  • Denim, danoise, Djeroek and 4 others like this

#9 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 23 January 2015 - 20:49

great, hope the new version will be released soon :)


  • Djeroek and ilski like this

#10 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 26 January 2015 - 22:01

Wow, great news!! Thanks so much. Will happily test the beta when its out, as Im using this day in, day out. Cheers, ilski



#11 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 12 August 2015 - 12:33

hey, is there a chance to get a beta version (mac&windows) of this fix, it disturbs my work a lot every day and I end up having to fix patterns that were perfectly fine already... :(



#12 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 12 August 2015 - 13:47

hey, is there a chance to get a beta version

 

We are just waiting for the mandatory 3.1 speculation thread to happen  :badteethslayer:


  • Akiz and ilski like this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud