My first corrupt Renoise song file... in 10 years! (Rewritten)

Well, I’ve been a Renoise user since 2005, and I’m proud to say I’ve never lost or corrupted a Renoise song file until today.

That said, I don’t even know how this file got corrupted. I don’t remember Renoise crashing or having issues saving the file. It’s been a few weeks since I worked on it, so I may just not be remembering straight.

Here is the file - http://www.brendanbailey.net/chip4.xrns. It is a Super Nintendo style chip song I had grown rather fond of and hope someone can help me recover it. I tried a few zip repair utilities with no luck, but I am a novice at such things.

For anyone searching, the error I get when loading is “File loading error: The file is either not a known song file or is corrupt.”

Appreciate any help I can get!

-Brendan

Update:

Well, a few months went by and I came to terms that this file was lost for good, so I finally decided to rewrite the entire track from scratch. I thought tracking down the SNES patches I had used was going to take a while, but I was able to somehow remember what games I had taken them from.

Anyway, here is the finished re-written track. It sounds almost 100% identical to what I had lost, except I had not written the last section before the file got corrupt:

http://brendanbailey.net/chip4.mp3

Hope the SNES C700 fans out there enjoy…

-Brendan

Unfortunately I’m the one to tell you this, but believe me no zip repair utility (or anything in the known universe for that matter) will bring a renoise song file back from that file you attached sir :frowning:

It isn’t a zip file at all. Quickly analysing the file I see parts of Adobe XMP metadata that possibly some mp3 player used? The contents of the file doesn’t really matter the point is is that there is no Song.xml nor sample data in that file to even begin to try and recover your song.

Sorry about that, real shame because I was looking forward to listening to your chip tune :slight_smile: