Barbaria Dub Like Ice Cream For Barbarisa

Good day! I would like to present the track on which I have been working for 4 months. I would be glad to receive any feedback. I hope you will enjoy it.

http://soundcloud.com/redpanda13/barbaria-dub-like-ice-cream-for-barbarisa

It sounded beautiful all the way through, only things which bothered me were the sharp, high tones as in 01:36 and at some places later, they seemed too sharp for me (although that may only be a problem due to soundcloud compression). Overall, it was very enjoyable. The effort put into this must’ve been really insane! :slight_smile:

Thanks for feedback, Nor Tamena. Glad you enjoyed. A lot of work has been done; there were also many features I’ve tried for the first time. I wanted to express wide range of feelings and, while working on it, I eventually felt that the track began to breathe and finally came to life.

Yeah I agree - great stuff making a bridge between dub and psy genres. But the high pitch sweeps I found much too hard on the ears, also! With headphones they really hurt my ears through the whole range, though overall volume was rather very moderate than earsmoking. Keep in mind with high frequencies, expecially sinewaves or similliar, that they will at same amplidude have much more percieved (i.e. also piercing!) energy than bass freqs would have. You can make a sinewave boom at -0db digital at 60hz without hurting at all, at 4000hz or 10000hz your ears might start to bleed… Bind those sweep’s volume to the pitch, i.e. the higher the pitch the lower the volume, and fiddle until hitting a sweet spot.

For me, the falling ting sound at 0:37 and 1:00 has a strong association with slapstick comedy, probably from cartoons. I still enjoyed it, but that sound could evoke a tone that might not have been intended.

I’m going to go crazy trying to think of a specific cartoon that used that sound effect. I feel like it was really common, but I can’t call any specific examples.