Odd Time Signatures?

Hi there guys,

well, first of all: Sorry if my English isn’t perfect; it’s not my mother’s tongue.

I am VERY new to the renoise forums, just signed up, mainly because I have some questions that bothered me for some time now. Maybe you guys can help me out :slight_smile:

I fooled around for quite a while now with renoise (love it :D), but well…as I said I just kinda fooled around with it, and never really finished anything.(Btw: talking about breakcore here).

About a week ago I started a new Track, and from the beginning on I had a feeling that I’m going to like it.
I kept on and on working on it, and now it’s about 2:10 long.

It took me some time, but I realized that a lot of the stuff that sounds good in my opinion just came up randomly… I don’t really have a work flow I can stick to…Mainly I look for samples I want to use, and fool around with them, so the finished product is actually pretty random in the way it sounds…nothing is really clear when I start producing something.

In many interviews and on some Wikipedia pages I read that Aaron Funk (Venetian Snares) uses a lot of odd time signatures, 7/4 being his favorite. So I started wondering how you actually make beats in a desired signature, since my beats are random most of the time.

Now, I know how to count a 7/4 beat for example (-ONE-, two, three, -ONE-, two, three, four), but how does that apply to some of the tracks he made?

Let’s take the song “Find Candace” for example…

at around 0:39 the beat comes in, and according to the Wikipedia Page it’s supposed to be in 7/4…but where would you start counting that? Is it the kicks? The snares? I have no
idea what actually make a time signature in percussion with that complexity…

How do you count odd time signatures in songs that complex, and what tells you that, for example, it’s in 7/4?
Is it the repetition of like…the kick or something like that?