4 replies to this topic

#1 spktkpkt

spktkpkt

Super Advanced Member

• Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 24 June 2015 - 11:41

ATM, i'm trying to build a Duplex device template for the Novation Launch Control XL, which will take me some time because it's my first try and i don't have any knowlegde about Duplex or Lua...but I 'm making progress.

After i've done the Launch Control device template, i would like to extend it to also support a Launchpad within this device template...something like a combined template for the Launch Control and a Launchpad. As far as i can see, Duplex only supports one device at a time...is this true? Is it possible at all to build a device template which can handle both devices? Or to start two instances of Duplex with different device templates?

#2 danoise

danoise

Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

• Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6169 posts
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 24 June 2015 - 16:04

As far as i can see, Duplex only supports one device at a time...

Not so. It might seem like it, since the Duplex browser only shows one device configuration at a time. A bit like a web browser showing one tab only. 

But that doesn't mean the other ones are not running (look for the text "running" among the list of devices to see which ones are active at any given time). 

So, if you had connected your Launchpad, you would be able to use that, and any number of other controllers at the same time.  

It's possible to connect multiple controllers of the same type as well by copying the device configuration and assigning a new device name. 

Or to start two instances of Duplex with different device templates?

This is actually built in. You just select "autostart" for any device configuration, and it will automatically start when Renoise is launched. 

So you would just enable this for any device(s) that you might want to be always running.