Jump to content


Photo

Good USB-2-Midi Interface for Windows 10?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 toimp

toimp

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 16 December 2015 - 18:50

Roland's driver support sucks, because there is no windows 10 driver my sh-201. So i cant use it via usb.

Can someone recommend a good usb-2-midi interface for Windows 10?


Edited by toimp, 16 December 2015 - 19:04.


#2 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1071 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 December 2015 - 19:12

I bought some random one off amazon, worked like a charm.

 

http://www.amazon.co...ailpage_o02_s00



#3 organic io

organic io

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1712 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 December 2015 - 19:14

I bought some random one off amazon, worked like a charm.

 

http://www.amazon.co...ailpage_o02_s00

 

I have one that looks just like that, never used it in Windows 10 but I had good experience with it too.



#4 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2475 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 16 December 2015 - 20:43

my brother recently bought a focusrite scarlet ...and he's happy 


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#5 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1071 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 December 2015 - 22:05

^ If it's a 2i2 it doesn't have midi



#6 mooshka

mooshka

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 December 2015 - 08:33

This might be one of the most helpful threads on the internet right now.

 

There is a serious lack of supported midi converters for Windows 10! I need one for my V-Drums and Roland doesn't seem to have been able to update their UM-ONE MK2 yet.

 

Looks like these will work too (though much more expensive than the VicTsing)

 

http://www.amazon.co..._1_287&sr=8-287

http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/B000JLU26W

 

 

I bought some random one off amazon, worked like a charm.

 

http://www.amazon.co...ailpage_o02_s00


Edited by mooshka, 20 December 2015 - 08:53.


#7 Dysnomia

Dysnomia

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Midlands, England
  • Interests:Techno, Synths, Vinyl, Classical, Noir.

Posted 20 December 2015 - 08:53

M-Audio midisport range have drivers now for Windows 10
The point is not to take the world's opinion as a guiding star but to go one's way in life and working unerringly, neither depressed by failure nor seduced by applause.
--- Gustav Mahler

#8 toimp

toimp

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 20 December 2015 - 11:07

Thanks for your tips. I purchased the Roland UM-ONE mk2 which have a windows 10 driver:

https://www.rolandmu..._drivers/350806

 

I hope it works without issues.



#9 Dysnomia

Dysnomia

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Midlands, England
  • Interests:Techno, Synths, Vinyl, Classical, Noir.

Posted 20 December 2015 - 12:12

Thanks for your tips. I purchased the Roland UM-ONE mk2 which have a windows 10 driver:
https://www.rolandmu..._drivers/350806
 
I hope it works without issues.


I have that also, it's always worked perfect for me on windows and mac too
The point is not to take the world's opinion as a guiding star but to go one's way in life and working unerringly, neither depressed by failure nor seduced by applause.
--- Gustav Mahler

#10 Abissus

Abissus

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terror Australis

Posted 20 December 2015 - 16:50

my brother recently bought a focusrite scarlet ...and he's happy 

I have had a Focusrite scarlet 6i6 for a few months now and am very happy with it.

 

Thanks for your tips. I purchased the Roland UM-ONE mk2 which have a windows 10 driver:

https://www.rolandmu..._drivers/350806

 

I hope it works without issues.

Good luck with your new addition!


"Music in the soul can be heard by the universe."


#11 Abissus

Abissus

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terror Australis

Posted 20 December 2015 - 16:57

^ If it's a 2i2 it doesn't have midi

Indeed. However, the 2i4 and up do.


Edited by Abissus, 20 December 2015 - 16:57.

"Music in the soul can be heard by the universe."


#12 mooshka

mooshka

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 December 2015 - 20:31

M-Audio midisport range have drivers now for Windows 10

 

Is there an advantage to buying a box over a cable inteface?


Thanks for your tips. I purchased the Roland UM-ONE mk2 which have a windows 10 driver:

https://www.rolandmu..._drivers/350806

 

I hope it works without issues.

 

Windows 10 specifically is the question here. Let me know if it works for you and I will purchase it too. Thank you :).



#13 Dysnomia

Dysnomia

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Midlands, England
  • Interests:Techno, Synths, Vinyl, Classical, Noir.

Posted 20 December 2015 - 21:03

Is there an advantage to buying a box over a cable inteface?

Windows 10 specifically is the question here. Let me know if it works for you and I will purchase it too. Thank you :).

Not for one synth no, they sometimes have more thru ports etc but usually they are just extra midi ports, 2in2out, 4i4o, 8i8o etc, if you have plenty of gear its usually cheaper to buy a big box than a midi cable for each

Edited by Dysnomia, 20 December 2015 - 21:05.

The point is not to take the world's opinion as a guiding star but to go one's way in life and working unerringly, neither depressed by failure nor seduced by applause.
--- Gustav Mahler

#14 toimp

toimp

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 21 December 2015 - 16:53

Windows 10 specifically is the question here. Let me know if it works for you and I will purchase it too. Thank you :).

 

Got it today. Works great. No driver download needed.