Jump to content


Photo

Waves Truberb and Renoise


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 12 January 2016 - 12:11

Did anyone else get the free Truverb on Black Friday?

 

I can't get it to work with 32 Bit Renoise on Win 7

 

It keeps saying cannot connect to server or something..?

 

:C

 

 


Truberb :D



#2 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:macOS fanboying

Posted 12 January 2016 - 13:09

I read that the new Waves version (9.3?) causing problems. The version before works flawlessly, maybe you can install the prior version? Or using non-brigded, so 64bit Renoise?


MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#3 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 12 January 2016 - 13:17

I quickly grabbed a code for it, but was immediately saddened to learn that it requires iLok (is this still true?). Bunch of arse! That cack, plus the frequent posts from people having stupid problems with Waves shell (not just in Renoise, either), and some other people mentioning TrueVerb's somewhat outdated and metallic sound (not sure how much truth there is to that?), I just thought, ehh... fuck it, I don't need the hassle.

Probably gonna throw a few dollarpounds at ValhallaDSP instead, once I figure out which one of his lovely reverbs I enjoy the most.

Useless post, sorry. Just chiming in ;)
  • RANSOM, TheBellows and ffx like this

#4 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 971 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 January 2016 - 13:50

I quickly grabbed a code for it, but was immediately saddened to learn that it requires iLok. Bunch of arse! That cack, plus the frequent posts from people having stupid problems with Waves shell (not just in Renoise, either), and some other people mentioning TrueVerb's somewhat outdated and metallic sound (not sure how much truth there is to that?), I just thought, ehh... fuck it, I don't need the hassle.

Probably gonna throw a few dollarpounds at ValhallaDSP instead, once I figure out which one of his lovely reverbs I enjoy the most.

Useless post, sorry. Just chiming in ;)

I dont agree here! I downloaded Trueverb. It worked once than it said that it i licensed it on another computer(not truth) and it couldnt be used anymore. But Waves has amazing customer support so i got it right thanks to one of their employees. But I still hate Waves central - too much hassle :-).

True Verb is amazing mixing tool, dont think about it as a "fx reverb". There is just one free alternative i know - it is space 360 but it doesnt have good options about early reflections. Than there is Sanford Reverb that has some nice early reflections but it lacks everything else (but it sounds much better as a FX reverb than Trueverb).

I cant explain it scientificaly but there are situations where i dont use EQ but true verb straightaway and it makes my instruments much more isolated - I dont use it for "reverb tails". Very specific tool but i find it truly amazing, it makes my mixes much more natural.


Edited by Akiz, 12 January 2016 - 13:52.


#5 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 12 January 2016 - 15:17

Hmm I really need a decent reverb...I've gone to Repilka from NI for the moment :S

 

I'm not sure about the ilok thing, cos I had it running in Cubase at the weekend....

 

Waves support is pretty good - I had soem issues installing on my home PC (no internet) and they were very helpful. I'm downloading Waves Central 8...at a.....mere......1.2gb......yeah. 



#6 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 January 2016 - 16:32

Always had trouble with Waves here otherwise they would have got at least some cash from me over time. Like dblue I have`nt bothered installing/ registering my free Trueverb serial yet, when I contacted them before about usage of other plugs in renoise they just said `sorry we don`t support it`.  Maybe I`ll try after Mobo/CPU upgrade this week..

 

Over the last year bought and sold Phoenixverb and Lexicon LXP but finally ended up with the N.I. RC reverbs.  Also sold Valhalla room as could never get on with it, Phoenix was impressive in its natural sound but didn`t add much to a mix for me.  Lexicon LXPs I preferred though seemed a bit `glassy` , could have kept them but try to manage what I have tied up in VSTs.  I picked up the  RCs second hand on KvR and these are my favourite of the bunch.  Apparently based on higher end Lexicon verbs than the LXP, lush sounding and really add to the source sound.

 

 

+ oh yeah, thinking of that 1.2gb download I may give Trueverb a miss, though what Akiz said keeps me interested :) ..sorry TrueBerb :D


Edited by Ledger, 12 January 2016 - 16:38.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#7 Garf

Garf

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 12 January 2016 - 16:54

I don't think you need iLok for it anymore!?

Anyway Waves can be quite the headache none the less, but TrueVerb is a very good reverb and by far my best reverb.

 

Don't forget the native effect Convolver.



#8 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2430 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 12 January 2016 - 17:26

The world does not need iLok.

 

Here are some nice impulse response reverbs for free:  http://www.housecall...al-lexicon-480l


Edited by TheBellows, 12 January 2016 - 17:29.

 

Join the Mutant Breaks #10 competition: http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/50588-mutant-breaks-10/

 

Deadline: Sunday, December 10th, 2017.   :badteethslayer: 


#9 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 13 January 2016 - 17:39

Thanks for the info - I just realised I have some outboard reverb/delays - hopefully they dont need an ilock!



#10 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 30 January 2016 - 13:04

Truverb works without ilok in Cubase. Really wish I could get this working in Renoise...

 

Will ask waves and get back here if i  find anything



#11 Haqq

Haqq

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge

Posted 30 January 2016 - 13:19

Don't waste your time to ask to Waves. I contacted the support and they told me: Renoise is not supported by Waves, please use a supported DAW (lol)

 

Luckily, my Waves plugin are working well. I just installed the 9.3 version and not the last one. I have both VST and AU plugins.



#12 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 971 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 January 2016 - 15:28

Haqq: Weird, ive got amazing support from waves. they offered me do it by teamviewer, i refused so we solved it by email. And i reported that i use renoise. 
Because ive got problem with wave central not with renoise specifically



#13 RANSOM

RANSOM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 January 2016 - 19:52

still dont get why ppl still using waves, so many awesome replacements for their overloaded cr*p.



#14 Garf

Garf

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 31 January 2016 - 07:16

Like me people are stuck with what they've bought until they upgrade.
But I am not buying waves stuff anymore even though they are okay plugins, they've simply been left behind in the dust. It kinda feels like they have fired all their development staff and just use old tech.



#15 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 971 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 January 2016 - 09:40

still dont get why ppl still using waves, so many awesome replacements for their overloaded cr*p.

you know any simillar plugin to trueverb? Just asking because i dont know any (free) simillar plugin.
And Element2 is already classic what i read



#16 RANSOM

RANSOM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 January 2016 - 19:16

you know any simillar plugin to trueverb? Just asking because i dont know any (free) simillar plugin.
And Element2 is already classic what i read

http://www.smartelec...agnus/#Ambience

 

https://varietyofsou...01/01/epicverb/

 

http://www.kresearch...ex.php?p=KRFree

 

p.s.

Also TC Reverb M30/M40 plugins + their another very old Reverb plugin (it was in their Native Bundle) is pure bliss - all of them are abandonware now, so search the web.



#17 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 971 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2016 - 18:27

Eh, these plugins dont have very good control of early reflection. Epic verb looks good but for me it is the weakest plugin Bootsy have made. 
Much better than your tips are: Sanford Reverb (Basically the best free reverb right now) and Space 360, these reverbs try to simulate true space.But they doesnt sound like Trueverb. They are more about tails :-D.
Btw i will try these RC reverbs. Thank you



#18 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 02 February 2016 - 13:45

Just got this from Waves:

 

Please note that Renoise is not an officially supported host for Waves V9 products.
This does not mean the plug-ins will not work - it means we have not officially tested and qualified it yet, and cannot anticipate the behavior of the plug-ins.
 
You can try the following:
 
Please ensure Renoise is scanning the correct plug-in path - 
If you are running Renoise in 32-bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\VSTPlugins
If you are running Renoise in 64-bit: C:\Program Files\VSTPlugins
 
 
 
I hope this helps,

I seriously hadnt tried that one ------------------------  (massive sarchasm detected)


  • Haqq likes this

#19 roljui

roljui

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 129 posts

Posted 01 October 2017 - 18:28

Seems like there's been a few threads on this topic - basically, all my old songs use Waves AUs. When I upgraded to the new version of Waves, none of the AUs show up in Renoise. Sounds like there's some sort of non-standard business with Waves plugins, but these things are so commonly used - has anyone heard of any plans to support them in Renoise? 

 

Otherwise, anyone know a way I could replace the plugins in my songs without losing parameters? Man it would be great if Renoise kinda worked like Buzz used to and if a plugin was missing you could point it at the 'replacement' and if the parameters were compatible it would use them. Maybe I'm dreaming.

 

Would be sure great to have the current version of Waves plugins working properly in Renoise at any rate - I could easily replace Waves in future songs but it has rendered my old songs unusable unless I revert to an older version.