Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.1): Mouse Warrior - New note editor


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 20 January 2016 - 22:40

Here's a different way of representing notes. On the left each row of value boxes contains one note  (octave, note -12 to 12 half tones, start line, note off position from the start line, velocity ).  On the right you have a piano roll (sort of). I'll get a manual going in the next few days (or weeks). 

 

Attached Images

  • mw.jpg

Attached Files

  • Attached File  mw.xrnx   16.37KB   12 downloads

Edited by fiasko, 28 March 2018 - 17:11.

  • Conner_Bw, Djeroek, ffx and 5 others like this

#2 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3260 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 21 January 2016 - 03:45

So funny name :)
  • Ledger likes this

#3 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3533 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 January 2016 - 04:46

Looks great!

 

Unfortunately getting this error when trying to open from menu, win7 64, rns 3.1 64bit

'C:\Users\P\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.1.0\Scripts\Tools\com.renoise.mousewarrior.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its menu entry functions.

Please contact the author (MW) for assistance...

main.lua:407: attempt to query a non existing directory
stack traceback:
  [C]: in function 'filenames'
  main.lua:407: in function 'get_files'
  main.lua:2187: in function <main.lua:2177>

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#4 The_Traveler

The_Traveler

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Exploring timbrality ...

Posted 21 January 2016 - 05:02

Looks like a very interesting tool! Reminiscent of Chahur's Pattern XP replacement for Buzz in a way. (Which is a very helpful tool as well I might add). 

 

However, I'm getting the same error as Ledger, Same OS specs but running 32 bit Renoise.

 

Cheers.


Edited by The_Traveler, 21 January 2016 - 05:09.


#5 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 21 January 2016 - 15:03

Try the new version. On the first run, select preset folder and run again.


  • Ledger likes this

#6 The_Traveler

The_Traveler

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Exploring timbrality ...

Posted 21 January 2016 - 15:27

Hmm, a question. "Preset folder". I'm assuming this needs to be created somewhere previously to hold output from Mouse Warrior?

 

So, I did and it opened fine. Now ... all I have to do is figure out how to use it. :)

 

Cheers and thanks again!



#7 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 21 January 2016 - 15:32

Hmm, a question. "Preset folder". I'm assuming this needs to be created somewhere previously to hold output from Mouse Warrior?

 

 

Correct. You can save captured notes (either a single column or all of track's columns)  to disk.



#8 The_Traveler

The_Traveler

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Exploring timbrality ...

Posted 23 January 2016 - 01:50

MW needs to be told the Presets directory each time I start Renoise. Anyway to save it from session to session?

 

Otherwise, I can just edit the source as I'll probably only use a single directory for now.

 

Cheers.


Edited by The_Traveler, 23 January 2016 - 02:59.


#9 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 23 January 2016 - 04:23

MW needs to be told the Presets directory each time I start Renoise. Anyway to save it from session to session?

 

Otherwise, I can just edit the source as I'll probably only use a single directory for now.

 

Cheers.

 

Fixed. Preferences should be stored now. 

 

Cheers.



#10 The_Traveler

The_Traveler

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Exploring timbrality ...

Posted 23 January 2016 - 04:36

Thank you! :)



#11 hazeltine

hazeltine

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 January 2016 - 22:31

Thank you!



#12 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 January 2016 - 17:47

Very nice. Is there any way how to insert chords?
Waiting for the manual still :-)



#13 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 26 January 2016 - 22:25

Very nice. Is there any way how to insert chords?
Waiting for the manual still :-)

 

Yes, turn on 'Poly' and 'Pat', select track and instrument you want to work with and click on 'Grab' (only necessary for multi-note editing). 

 

 

I was hoping the manual won't be necessary :)



#14 teis

teis

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts

Posted 27 January 2016 - 14:27

fruitlyloooooooooooooops :panic: :w00t: :badteethslayer:

 

oh wait ..

 

it's more than only one note ..

 

multi fruityloops stepsequencer :panic: :w00t: :badteethslayer:


Edited by teis, 27 January 2016 - 14:28.



there's 3 types of people in the world
.. those who don't know what happen
.. those who wonder what happen
.. and people like US that make things happen !

 


#15 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 January 2016 - 19:05

thanks

btw

You cant edit the row where the play bar is



#16 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 27 January 2016 - 19:15

thanks

btw

You cant edit the row where the play bar is

 

Try the new version.



#17 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 12 February 2016 - 23:29

Here's a little visual demo: http://www.dailymoti...m/video/x3rszsn



#18 xbitz

xbitz

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 08 October 2016 - 12:38

hi, new user here, thx for this tool, ( I'm not a hexa type guy otherwise or who knows :D )

anyway here is the version which not steal the keyboard focus from Renoise (route them back)

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  main.lua   95.7KB   59 downloads

Edited by xbitz, 08 October 2016 - 12:39.

  • ghostwerk likes this

#19 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 28 March 2018 - 02:05

Small bug fixes and improvements (transpose bugs fixed, selections menu works, save expended with scale, key and lpb, internal scales and renoise scales match, repeat check box was redundant and got removed, transpose of repeated rows takes into account scale and key, hotkey to show the tool added)
 


Edited by fiasko, 28 March 2018 - 14:53.

  • Raul (ulneiz) likes this

#20 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 28 March 2018 - 11:20

Small bug fixes and improvements (transpose bugs fixed, selections menu works, save expended with scale, key and lpb, internal scales and renoise scales match, repeat check box was redundant and got removed, transpose of repeated rows takes into account scale and key, hotkey to show the tool added)
 

 

Hi fiasko

 

Is it necessary to choose a folder when starting the tool? In the previous version (other error) and in the current version, it returns error: line 2489 of the main.lua (No matching overload found, candidates...)  I simply install the tool, the Setup window appears, without changing anything, I press OK and this error appears... The route that appears initially does not exist (c:\audio\Seqs\), in case something helps (they are two non-existent folders). 

 

Personally, I would avoid having to ask the user to choose a folder. It may be convenient to always use a folder inside the tool, if necessary. What do you keep in that folder? The mess of using folders is that it has to be compatible with the 3 types of OS (Windows, Mac, Linux). I use Windows 10.

 

Congratulations for this tool. Looks great!!!


:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#21 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 28 March 2018 - 14:52

Hey, yes selecting a folder is necessary. Folder is used to store presets that capture notes. It's something I use. Supporting 3 platforms is out of my hands. I'm on windblows only. I added path verification to avoid the nasty error, and another note transpose fix.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  mw.xrnx   16.37KB   23 downloads

Edited by fiasko, 29 March 2018 - 15:29.

  • Raul (ulneiz) likes this

#22 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2670 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 01 April 2018 - 00:00

d'you have any videos of this made in 2018?


http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266

#23 fiasko

fiasko

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 04 April 2018 - 16:24

d'you have any videos of this made in 2018?

 

No, but maybe I'll make some :)



#24 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 04 April 2018 - 20:13

Hey, yes selecting a folder is necessary. Folder is used to store presets that capture notes. It's something I use. Supporting 3 platforms is out of my hands. I'm on windblows only. I added path verification to avoid the nasty error, and another note transpose fix.

 

Thanks fiasko! Maybe if you use "tooltips" to explain the more complicated controls to understand, it would be great. I'm glad you're reviewing the tool and it's up to date. I would also like to see a video of recent use ^_^. I am aware that making videos is also hard work...


:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler