Jump to content


Photo

Anyone use Renoise on Twitch: Creative?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 McLovin'

McLovin'

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 16:24

Any users using making music on Renoise and stream on Twitch? Or any other good streamers to follow? I know Deadmau5 streams sometimes, but that's about the only one I know of.


  • Land of Bits likes this

#2 Skolskoly

Skolskoly

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:probably not behind you.
  • Interests:Music, Video games, computers, coding

Posted 07 February 2016 - 16:58

This guy uses renoise on twitch. Most of the time he plays around with old tracks or makes electronic music.

http://www.twitch.tv/shemusic


  • Rashinamu, MattD and Land of Bits like this

#3 McLovin'

McLovin'

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 17:36

Brilliant, thanks!



#4 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 08 February 2016 - 08:35

I used to stream my Renoise-sessions on Twitch when I had a proper internet-connection. Since then I've moved and only have a crappy 4G with limited Gb/month now. :( However, as soon as I get landline internet again I'll be back on the streaming wagon again.

 

twitch.com/ttors if you want to be the first one to know when I start again.  :P


Edited by Robbie S, 08 February 2016 - 12:53.


#5 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 08 February 2016 - 09:24

Could investigate through internets, but does anyone know how twitch works with a dual monitor setup, can you stream both, next to each other at the same time?



#6 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 08 February 2016 - 12:52

Could investigate through internets, but does anyone know how twitch works with a dual monitor setup, can you stream both, next to each other at the same time?

 

Depends on what program you use to stream. With OBS, for example, I guess you could just define both screens as one window each and then put them in the same output. Just like a webcam P.I.P. the main window. But you'd need a pretty powerful 'puter to be able to stream both screens and Renoise at the same time.


Edited by Robbie S, 15 March 2016 - 10:13.


#7 A220

A220

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Jersey

Posted 28 February 2016 - 13:24

there's a dude that chats in #renoise sometimes that's done some live twitch in the past. I've watched a couple times and he's incredible. http://www.twitch.tv/kimryd/mobile

#8 Rashinamu

Rashinamu

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Gl14ch, Chiptune extravaganza, House, Dubstep, shemusi(wait that's not supposed to be there), aaaaand maybe psytrance/drum & baste.

Posted 28 February 2016 - 19:13

I've actually been starting to live-stream my Renoise sessions when I feel comfortable broadcasting publicly, (i.e. not sound engineering on the spot)


https://www.twitch.tv/linkwaker10



@Djoerek it's definitely possible to do with OBS, but you get weird proportions when a viewer sees 2 screens on 1 broadcast. Though totally doable. You'll just need a decent Desktop CPU or a high end laptop CPU to handle that.
....

Wait Deadmau5 uses Renoise?


  • SynthisterNation likes this

Proficient in Colemak and Qwerty..... oh wait this is Renoise. (o.o)


#9 Crackdown

Crackdown

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 23 March 2016 - 19:19

I actually stopped streaming on Twitch a while back when they got wound up in actively pursuing and punishing people not streaming games and a few other policy changes.

I have however recently started a completely fresh channel on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/MrTrippyIces) and have today just got my production PC back up and running after some serious problems. Looking forward to doing some live Renoise again, will probably be tomorrow or the weekend at latest now as I don't have OBS and similar software installed just yet but hope that's of some use to you.

Wait Deadmau5 uses Renoise?

Nah, unless he's stopped using Ableton Live. Definitely recall him using it years ago whilst prank calling Skrillex! :-o

#10 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1078 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2016 - 00:26

I've done some streaming but I haven't yet arrived at a reliable solution to get the audio out to the streaming application without it being way behind the video.  I've tried a ton of different methods, but at the end of the day I think I would really just need an audio interface with more ins and outs to do it right.



#11 Crackdown

Crackdown

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 24 March 2016 - 07:52

Where do you stream and which encoder at what fidelity? YouTube has different ingestion settings than they did a while back for example, including a checkbox for 'optimize stream for interactions' and whilst still not perfect it's definitely better than it was.

I've only really used OBS (and the Playstation 4 itself) as an encoder, hopefully I still have my settings backed up. I don't mind sharing them if indeed they turn up? That was for 720p/1080p with decent (for YouTube) audio @320kbps IIRC. I just followed the recommended YouTube settings from their help pages as a base and adjusted from there. I guess it depends on your setup also, including Internet.

Edited by Crackdown, 24 March 2016 - 07:54.


#12 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1078 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2016 - 13:45

It's not the encoding that's the problem, the problem is I don't use my on board sound card, I use an audio interface.  In order to get that audio to OBS, I have to use a plug in on the master track that will stream the audio to my on board sound.  This is what creates the latency.  If I just stream something "normally" without using my audio interface it's fine.  If I had another set of inputs and outputs on my interface I could just send the audio to OBS as a mic input.



#13 DonStroganotti

DonStroganotti

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2016 - 16:18

When I need to route ASIO from renoise together with other applications I have been using http://www.jackaudio...on_windows.html as ASIO driver and then you can use for example Catia to do the routing http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Catia

Never had issues with video and audio out of sync


Edited by DonStroganotti, 24 March 2016 - 16:22.


#14 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1078 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2016 - 21:10

Do you use this with an audio interface?



#15 Carbonthief

Carbonthief

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1078 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2016 - 20:26

Seriously though, if there's a software method of doing this with an audio interface, I'd really like to know.  The way I understand it though is the DAW is sending audio straight to the interface, and the only way to capture that is to use a plugin on the master track.  The plugin I have been using is voxengo recorder, as it's the only plugin I've found that can stream audio to a selected audio device.  But because I'm streaming it to my on board sound, this creates a huge out of sync issue.  I'm pretty sure Jack can't do this.  But maybe I just don't understand how this works correctly.

 

I did find a system one time where basically you set up external software to use the interface's driver, and you set up a special driver in your DAW that sends the audio to the external software, and in that way you obtain flexibility in routing audio.  But this created latency on my side of things, making live recording no longer a possibility.



#16 MattD

MattD

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2016 - 21:22

 this creates a huge out of sync issue

 

Between the video and the audio in the broadcast? I think that's adjustable, but I'm not sure of the best way to go about finding the right value.


KernUo9.png


#17 Robbie S

Robbie S

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:• You are here
  • Interests:robbieshirts.com

Posted 01 April 2016 - 09:03

Between the video and the audio in the broadcast? I think that's adjustable, but I'm not sure of the best way to go about finding the right value.

 

Trial and error, my friend. I know for Mac there is a program where you can delay video-output. You have fiddle with the settings manually until the sound and picture are in sync.



#18 wrl

wrl

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:berlin

Posted 01 April 2016 - 19:38

I'm pretty sure Jack can't do this.

jack can do that. it's what it's built to do, in fact.

I did find a system one time where basically you set up external software to use the interface's driver, and you set up a special driver in your DAW that sends the audio to the external software, and in that way you obtain flexibility in routing audio.

this is how jack works.

But this created latency on my side of things, making live recording no longer a possibility.

jack does not add latency, though it adds a slight (~1-2%) CPU hit.

#19 SynthisterNation

SynthisterNation

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas
  • Interests:Music, Piano, Synth, Renoise, Guitar, PC. Women

Posted 02 April 2016 - 09:37

Deadmouse using Renoise  :rolleyes:

 

I wonder how many Deadmau5 inspired DJ's/Producers would have stopped before they ever started had Deadmau5 been twitchin' Renoise?


This guy uses renoise on twitch. Most of the time he plays around with old tracks or makes electronic music.

http://www.twitch.tv/shemusic

 

This guy ? Thought it was a chick... I coulda really enjoyed that


I am XyluX

 


#20 LOLFAIL

LOLFAIL

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:outta space

Posted 03 April 2016 - 08:17


jack does not add latency, though it adds a slight (~1-2%) CPU hit.

i configured jack with win 7 i have latency 13ms (512 sample buffer) by default, i cant change it,

my setup pretty simple - maschine standalone running thru renoise line in, signals work but the latency is bit too much. with default drivers im rolling 1.5ms latency, which is super sharp



#21 Land of Bits

Land of Bits

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami, FL
  • Interests:Renoise, ambient glitch texture techno breaks and bass music :)

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:45

I dont stream but i made
Tracks from scratch using Renoise

Im currently working on track from scratch 3

https://m.youtube.co...s&v=jUuQz0loTXw


This is the progress of the song