Tool for fast sample slice editing with midi controller

Hey!

I’m a sample-based music producer, so this is my two cents:

Wouldn’t it be great to have a tool to control sample slice start position (end position control would be great too, but it’s not in a sample editor yet, AFAIK) with a midi controllers knob or slider?

Two buttons/pads would let to choose your slices (one button to go one slice-up, another - vice versa) and a slider or knob would adjust a slice marker’s position to the left or right accordingly.

And to go further:

It would be so easy to chop samples if we could assign cursor movement, “zoom in” and “zoom out” to sliders or a knobs and “Add marker” to a button or pad.

What are your thoughts on this, guys?

i dont really know how you benefit if you move cursor with controller instead of mouse.

pc keyboard is most powerfull controller for sampler, if u use shortcuts, everything u need you can remap to a numpad for example, adding slice markers, fade in or out, crossfade loop, reverse, and so on

anyway besides sampler you aso have a lot of manual work with modulation and fx tabs.

anyway idea to move start and end points with macro controlls could be pretty cool in some cases, and more macros please :smashed:

“Add marker” to a button or pad.

• 1000 I used to cut up long samples this way. Just having a keyboard shortcut would be much better than using the mouse!

As for controlling start/end position with a controller, this could be done as a tool. Hmmm…

It sounded like a great idea when I first thought about it but I think being able to select slice start points with a mouse would be far more accurate for myself. Perhaps for someone using a laptop without a mouse because attempting pinpoint accuracy with a touchpad is a nightmare!